We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy small hotel in the only neighbourhood you really need in Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Ranked #28 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cosy small hotel in the only neighbourhood you really need in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is a gem! Small, personal hotel. Nice breakfast, great cappuccinis! Big enough rooms, beams and stone walls. Not many english speaking tv-channels, but you would have much else to do in Trastevere:)
Apart from all sights and high end shopping, Trastevere offers all you need for a weekend in Rome. And by choosing this hotel you are close by just about everything.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamiljenGalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    195
    20
    3
    6
See reviews for
199
392
42
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here in early Feb during the snow! Place was clean and warm. the location was unbearable being in the centre of the restaurants. stay were great and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russellwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

I was worried about travelling to Rome as a single. Santa Maria Residence was the perfect place and great location. Staff very friendly and very professional. Got great tips and lots of advice as to where to go and what to see.
Breakfast was great, good cappucino and lots of things to choose from.
I would advise this residence to people travelling and even if you are on your own.

Ann

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Location: It is located in a lively, touristic area. There're lots of cafe's and restaurants close by catering to tourists.

Room: There're 6 rooms all on the ground floor. There is no direct sunlight into the rooms thus a bit damp and cold. It is clean and neat. Decoration is classical modern with a country flair. Size of the room is not big but comfortable.

Our room has a small problem with dripping water of the toilet bowl continuing all night and day. It's wasteful of water and annoying to hear the water dripping noise. Although the room is clean, the extra blanket in the closet is very dirty and dusty. We had to use it anyway because of the cold weather.

Breakfast: We're not impressed by the breakfast. The breakfast room is small & cozy situated in the basement with 6 tables, a buffet table and coffee bar. It's a simple buffet with a varieties of dry cakes, 1 kind of bread (very dry), some scramble eggs, 1 kind of cheese, salami and ham, juices are not fresh, yogurt and some fruit. Our cappucino was a bit cold.

Internet: Poor WIFI connection in the room.

Staff: Friendly and helpful.

Comment: We booked online directly from the hotel website. The hotel offered us a discounted room rate on an advance payment and no cancellation. The hotel website stated the payment would be charged within 24 hours of the online booking.

When we checked out, the reception asked us to pay cash because they said the hotel didn't charge our credit card. Anyway we let them charge again the same credit card and hope this is not a double payment. We were confused by this.

Caution: From Fiumicino airport we encountered many taxi scams. Please note the flat rate taxi from airport to city center is 40 euro. Please don't let them scam you!

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar. I would ask for a room with more sunlight because they're all dark a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

We loved everything about this hotel. From the moment we arrived the service was outstanding. We arrived early but werestill able to check in to our room. The room 5 was lovely, very cost, quiet and everything we needed. Breakfast was lovely and especially the cappuccinos which were made by such a friendly lady. The location of the hotel is just perfect to see all of the sights and close to some of the best restaurants around. We can highly recommend this hotel to everyone, perfect! Thank you so much Residenza Santa Maria.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNSEY A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed at the Residenza Santa Maria on our first holiday as a family. Our room was spacious, it was a room facing the street but it was a quiet street. Only on Saturday night some noise from a nearby disco (each time they opened the door we could hear the music). Not very loud though. It is a lively neighborhood and that`s also why we wanted to stay here. It`s so convenient to stay in this neighborhood and be close to so many nice restaurants, galleries and shops. Small minus points: shower drain a bit clogged, no central heating so air conditioning system is used for heating, and found long black hair in bed that definitely did not belong to us. Would stay again though, everything else was great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

The location in the bustling part of Trestevere is ideal. Its still walkable to get to the ruins, Campo de Fiori, the Pantheon, Jewish Ghetto, etc. Decent restaurants are nearby and the staff is very friendly and helpful. A full buffet helps you get going in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Golden
Hotel Golden
#19 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#30 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residenza San Calisto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residenza San Calisto

Property: Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Address: Via Dell'Arco di San Calisto 19/20, 00153 Rome, Italy (Formerly Residenza Santa Maria)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Rome
#61 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#173 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residenza San Calisto 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residenza San Calisto ( previously know Residenza Santa Maria), is a small exclusive Hotel de charme, located I the heart of Rome, just a stone's from the magnificent and picturesque square of Santa Maria in Trastevere. This boutique Hotel is the result of the skilful restoration of a 17th century building. The whole house is dominated by brick arches, wooden ceilings, artistic hand painted frescos and wall decorations which give to the Residenza Santa Maria an atmosphere of refined elegance. With only 6 rooms, the Residenza Santa Maria is somewhat smaller than its namesake which allows for even greater atmosphere, notwithstanding the fact that having only recently opened it is also equipped with high tech environment. The large and quite, no smoking, rooms, some of which family rooms, are fully equipped with private bathroom with tub and shower, A/C, telephone, mini-bar, safe, satellite flat panel TVs, free internet connection, boiler for tea/coffee and other amenities. In the breakfast room, once a Roman cistern of the II cen. BC, decorated by original ancient Roman artifacts found on site during restoration of the building, guests can enjoy a rich and delicious buffet breakfast, (scramble or boiled eggs, ham, cheese, salami, fresh bread, assortment of biscuits, cakes, fresh fruits, yogurt, fresh croissants, selection of fruit juices etc.). Thanks to great location, from the Residenza Santa Maria, guests can easily reach the main tourist sites like Campo de' Fiori, Navona Square, the Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Trevi's fountain, the Roman Forum and Coliseum with just a relaxing stroll through a maze of fascinating medieval streets. The Vatican Museum/Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Square are a few minutes away. Furthermore Trastevere, apart from the beauty of its mediaeval narrow little streets, is filled with typical restaurants, markets, pubs and cafes.The Residenza Santa Maria also offers services like transfer to and from the airport, private guided tours, laundry service, shiatsu massage, beauty centre, baby sitting service and car and scooter hire, as well as offering free use of bikes to its personal guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Residenza San Calisto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Santa Maria Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing