We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jewish Roma Private Walking Tours
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent Jewish Rome Walking Tour

We took a tour of the Rome synagogue and the Jewish quarters with Micaela on 25 October 2018 after... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jacob G
Terrific tour of Jewish Rome.

We were in Rome in October and booked a walking tour with Jewish Roma. Yael was an enthusiastic... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Journey648608
Read all 904 reviews
  
Reviews (904)
Filter reviews
888 results
Traveler rating
847
20
11
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
847
20
11
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great synagogue ghetto tour micaela pavoncello ghetto area personal stories family history highlight of our trip past and present wonderful tour highly recommend this tour learned a great deal three hours trip to rome come alive hour tour ancient rome informative tour
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 888 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our tour guide, Sylvia Ferrari, was wonderful. Micaela, however, can be frazzled, disorganized and unpleasant. Better to go directly to a licensed tour guide and save the agency fee.

Thank allisonn298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took a tour of the Rome synagogue and the Jewish quarters with Micaela on 25 October 2018 after hearing about her guided tours from people we met in our hotel. To visit the magnificent Rome synagogue and to walk through the Jewish quarters with Micaela Pavoncello as a guide was so memorable for us ( and our friends who travel with us) that we spoke about it long after that. Micaela is a wonderful guide, she is not only knowledgable about the Roman Jewish history, she is passionate about the subject and is a great source of details. She gave us the most enjoyable 3 hours. We highly recommend this tour. Thank you Micaela!

Thank Jacob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in Rome in October and booked a walking tour with Jewish Roma. Yael was an enthusiastic guide with a broad knowledge of Jewish and Christian history in Rome. She took us through the area that used to be the ghetto and was full of interesting information both about its past and present. She pointed out highlights in the museum that we probably would have missed on our own. We were visiting at the busiest time of year so there were crowds and large groups everywhere. Yael reworked our itinerary on the spot so that we were able to make the most efficient use of our time without missing anything. In short, this was a terrific tour.

Thank Journey648608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

These tours were the highlights of our first visit to Rome. We took a Walking Tour of the Jewish Ghetto with Micaela that included the Synagogue and the Museum, and a tour of the Vatican with Patrick. Micaela is very passionate and funny. We learned a lot of history while walking through the neighborhood. In the afternoon, we met Patrick at the Vatican, where he showed it to us from a Jewish perspective. He brought close-up illustrations from the sistine chapel that he explained to us, so that when we entered, we knew exactly what to look for. Also, very enjoyable. Highly recommend.

Thank LucyCleo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful tour and wonderful guide! We enjoyed every minute. Definitely recommend to everyone who visits Rome.

Thank Miri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile



If you have a serious interest in learning about the history of the Jewish Ghetto and of the history of the Jewish community of Rome up through the present, this is the tour for you! It is somewhat pricey, but worth every Euro and then some. Unlike many tours which end up shortchanging you in time and wasting time, this one was scheduled for 3 hours, actually went 3-1/2 hours and wasted no time. Our guide was Yael, who is a member of the Jewish community since birth and knows everything there is to know about Jewish Rome. She obviously loves to tell people about Jewish Rome, speaks excellent English, and is full of personality, energy and enthusiasm. She also has a degree in history, which certainly adds to her presentation. As far as I can tell, we covered pretty much everything of interest in the area and the major points of Roman Jewish existence. We could not recommend this tour more highly!

1  Thank Passenger792882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I took this tour in early October, 2018, and we extremely happy that we did. Our tour guide, Sara, was charming, knowledgeable and instinctively knew what all of us were interested in. Don't worry if your leader isn't Sara, (who will soon have a child), because Micaela designed the tour and is also wonderful. We learned so many new things about the history and rich culture of Roman Jewery.

Thank Zaide7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

Sara was our excellent guide for this tour through the Colosseum, Roman Forum & the Jewish Ghetto including the Jewish Museum and nearby synagogue. There were 10 of us, four American couples and two Israeli students. The tour lasted four hours and was wonderful. Sara was very knowledgeable and provided history that we did not know and would not have received on other more general tours. She answered many questions and added humorous anecdotes. She was interested in all of us personally and gave us information about her family which is 7th generation Jewish Italian.
I highly recommend the tour which can and should be arranged ahead of time by email.
Tours are paid in cash at the end of the tour.

1  Thank 234lax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Three of us did this tour )along with another family) and we absolutely loved it. Our guide was super smart, very funny and absolutely adorable. She was a local whose English was perfect. She took us on an abridged version of the tour (synagogue and museum were closed for holidays) but it was perfect. Loved!!

Thank carolyndrebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

We went on three tours with Jewish Roma to get the Jewish slant of Rome. They included the Coliseum, Vatican and of course the Ghetto and synagogue. We enjoyed all and especially Micaela who shared her energy, passion , knowledge and personal side of her Rome ! Highly recommend this tour !

1  Thank Tourist181717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews