We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like visiting a favorite aunt's home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Home in Rome Kosher Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #165 of 3,710 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The place is tastefully decorated, well located with comfortable rooms. Most importantly, however, you are completely taken care of by the generous and kind people who run the place. It is less a bed and breakfast and more like visiting a generous relative's home. A sitting room fridge is always stocked with cold drinks. Hot tea, coffee and pastry are available all day long. Jada and Delia take the time to explain and help you with anything you need. Whether you are non-kosher or non-Jewish or kosher Sabbath observers, this B&B offers warm, generous hospitality to all. It is especially a gem for travellers who keep kosher and observe Sabbath because it is so difficult to find anything like this anywhere else.

Room Tip: I aways prefer to take a room with an en suite bathroom. This B&B has both.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mattelle777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehomeinrome, Public Relations Manager at The Home in Rome Kosher Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear mattelle7,

really thank you for your warm review!

A big Hug from Rome

Jade and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for The Home in Rome Kosher Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 352 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

We really thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay. The position was slightly away from the centre so it was quieter but it very good links with the metro/ subway system so only 20 mins away. Parking was no problem (residential road about 10mins away). The owner was friendlly and we could help ourselves to cake and other goodies in the dining room area with tea/ coffee / mild readily available.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms. We had a large one with three single beds which we had requested in adva...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehomeinrome, Public Relations Manager at The Home in Rome Kosher Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Michael C,

we appreciate your kind review!

Hope to see u soon again

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

American Perspective on Staying at this hotel

The Good
1) Jade (owner) and Delia are very helpful with suggestions on getting around and where to eat. Upon arrival you get a local map and some guidance on the layout of the city.
2) You can't beat the price. It's affordable.
3) Neighborhood is very safe and you are right next to the Bologna Metro Stop which is a big help
4) There is a taxi stop right next to the Metro Station as well.

The Bad
1) We booked several months earlier and we only got a room with a shared bathroom. This became an issue for us as other people in the world don't have the same cleanliness standards as we do. When you share a bathroom, you should clean up after yourself, including hair left in the tub and sink. Definately book a room with a bathroom that is not shared unless you are used to living in a dorm.
2) The breakfast is included but is kind of weak. We have the same thing everyday, a cappucino (made by Delia....these were good), and a crossiant. They had cut up cucumbers, carrots, and other stuff as well which was kind of different. They had fruit juice, milk, and water as well.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Srh1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehomeinrome, Public Relations Manager at The Home in Rome Kosher Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Srh1996,

It was a pleasure to meet you!

We hope that next time you will book in time to have your favorite room!

A hug from Rome

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

On this first trip to Italy, I was traveling with my sister and 25 year old niece. We stayed at the Home in Rome Kosher B & B for 3 nights in mid-April, during Easter week and Passover.
The Home in Rome is located on a quiet street. Several good restaurants and bakeries were a short walk away.

When we arrived at the B & B after a very long flight, the father introduced himself, sat down with us, asked what we wanted to see in Rome. He took out a map and spent at least 30 minutes explaining how to get to these places, other things we could see nearby, and areas to avoid, making notes on the map. His advice was invaluable to 3 tired travelers.

Our room was very spacious. The common room is large and comfortable with snacks available 24/7. Off the common room is a balcony where you can watch the foot traffic, read, or talk.

The Home in Rome Kosher B & B really is like a home - comfortable, peaceful, helpful.

I'm looking forward to the next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam_chesbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehomeinrome, Public Relations Manager at The Home in Rome Kosher Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear pam_chesb,

I really hope to see you all soon. It was so short your vacation.

a big kiss


Jade, Avraham and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I just stayed at the Home in Rome for several days. We were so thankful to find a comfortable, quiet, clean, convenient place to stay for such a reasonable rate. The staff was wonderful, warm and knowledgeable, especially Dahlia, who went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. At one point, the internet was down, and Jade did everything in her power to make sure we were back on-line as quickly as possible. It's clear that the guest's comfort comes first. Breakfast was just right, and there is something for everyone (children to adults). The hotel is also conveniently located to kosher markets, restaurants and synagogues, if that is important to you. Public transportation was right outside the door and Dahlia was able to tell us routes that we needed. A couple of the rooms share a bathroom. While this was a very off putting thought initially, it ended up working out just fine and I would do it again if it was our only option.

The only bad thing about The Home in Rome was leaving it! We had booked late and they were only available for part of our time in Rome. We moved to a much more expensive, "fancier" hotel that paled in comparison. It may have been more modern, but modernity has nothing on the comfort and service that we found at the Home in Rome.

Room Tip: Make sure to specify that you would prefer a room with a private bathroom if that is indeed the case...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samantha r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehomeinrome, Public Relations Manager at The Home in Rome Kosher Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Samantha,

Your warm words made us the day!

Reading that you appreciate our work is marvelous.

A big kiss to you and your husband and hope to see you soon again with all your family.

Baci

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Home in Rome. The staff was very helpful on the phone beforehand, and during our stay. Different family members came by during our stay, as well as Dalia who was there everyday. They each provided useful information and answered all of our questions. This was especially important when it comes to the Jewish sites to see, the Kosher establishments to get to, etc. We also got to meet other Jewish guest from around the world. (Israel, Belgium, Holland).

It was easy to find, and conveniently located for using public transportation. From the airport, we took an 8-Euro commuter train to Roma Tiburtina (50 minutes) and walked 15 minutes from there (though we could have taken a one-stop metro ride from Tiburtina to Bologna). An alternative would have been to take a 30-minute train to Roma Termini for 14 Euro, but then we would have had to take 3 metro stops to Bologna.

Breakfast included cereal, sliced up vegetables, hard-boiled eggs, rolls, jams, pastries, pies, coffee, tea and juices,.There is also cereal, coffee, tea, pies and water available throughout the day and night.

The rooms were clean and well-kept. Shampoo and soaps were all provided.

We are definitely going back there on our next trip to Rome!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geo2982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehomeinrome, Public Relations Manager at The Home in Rome Kosher Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear geo2982,

You kind review will surely be useful for other guests coming to visit us!

Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

clean, helpful, friendly, quiet. highly recommended. ggood food although the same every morning/ Cake tea and coffee availablev 24/7. Kosher pizza down the street. Tour books available for browsing as ell as computer and printer.

Room Tip: we avoided the rooms with the shared bathroom, but we saw them and they were also excellent and chea...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baruchng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehomeinrome, Public Relations Manager at The Home in Rome Kosher Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Thank you dear baruchng,

Hope to see you soon again in Rome!

Kisses

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
San Lorenzo
Kosher Bed & Breakfast La Casa di Eva
Trieste
Villa Paganini B&B
Villa Paganini B&B
#73 of 3,710 in Rome
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Residenza Il Magnifico
#451 of 3,710 in Rome
169 reviews
Jadore Monic
#483 of 3,710 in Rome
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Home in Rome Kosher Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Home in Rome Kosher Bed and Breakfast

Address: Via Ravenna 34 | Zona Piazza Bologna, 00161 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 3,710 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $83 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Home in Rome Kosher Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are equipped with air-condition, Color TV, hair dryer and WI-FI internet connection. Prices include good Kosher breakfast, hotel facilities such as daily cleaning of the rooms, TV, frigo bar, open living room with complimentary tea, coffee, fresh drinks and use of the computer with 24hrs internet connection . The apartment is elegant and quiet, located in the very central Jewish area called Piazza Bologna. There is an underground station and many bus lines which take in a few minutes everywhere. Four stops from Coliseum, Capitoline Hills and historical centre, three stops from Terminal main train station, and 1 stop from Tiburtina Station. It is also very easy to go to the Vatican museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Home in Rome Kosher Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Home In Rome Kosher Hotel Rome
The Home In Rome Kosher b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing