We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Saint John Hotel
Ranked #394 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a three night stay at this hotel. The location is very good once you get your bearings. The hotel is in the district of Manzoni which is two stops away from the main train/metro/bus station called Termini. The hotel is quite contemporary inside and welcoming. The receptionist was very helpful giving us a map of Rome (I had one already but this map was much more useful). We also called upon the receptionist to help us with printing boarding passes which they did happily. Our room was adequate, we did ask for a twin but given a very large double. The bed itself was comfortable. The facilities in the room were good (mini bar, Tv, safe). My only grumble about this is that there is really no English speaking channels except for Sky news. I appreciate you do not come away to watch TV, however, to have the option nowadays is a must. The breakfast was adequate and covered every option. The staff who ran breakfast were always very happy and very friendly. I did not during my stay here any noise from other guests or outside. The hotel staff recommend a restaurant called Minerva which is about ten minutes away on foot - you must go it is a great eating place and full of atmosphere in the evening. The hotel arranged a free shuttle bus for you there and back. This is run by the restaurant which is a nice little touch. Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronron07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    357
    167
    74
    43
See reviews for
147
369
28
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just returned for a week long holiday in Rome and we spent the 7 nights staying at the Eurostars Saint John. From the minute we arrived we were very pleased we'd booked in here! The decor is modern & clean. We received a warm welcome at Reception and were given lots of info, maps and advice about where to eat (or not eat!) and what transport to take etc. (Thank you especially to Mirta!)
The hotel is in a great location with Metro/buses/tram stops all close by, and only a 10 minute walk to the impressive Colosseum!
The room we were given was absolutely perfect, spotlessly clean, bathroom with all mod cons and all working perfectly, nice flat screen tv in room, mini bar, temperature control....really, what more could anyone ask for??!
We were never once bothered by noise either inside or outside the hotel. And I fail to understand why anyone would expect complete peace & quiet when staying in a hotel in a major city!
Breakfast was plentiful with great choice/variety, and the staff were all friendly.
Housekeeping were never intrusive yet every day they attended to our room and replenished used items, made bed, cleaned bathroom etc.
All in all, we really enjoyed our stay here! And we wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend the hotel to friends/family!
Massive thank you to the staff for helping make our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I spent three nights in this hotel, and only during one of them did I get a full night's sleep. The walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbor's conversation quite clearly. On top of that, the hotel was hosting at least a few travel groups so from 1am until 4am there were people running on the hallway laughing and yelling (yes, I did ask them to be quiet; no, it didn't work).
However, the location is very convenient (just 2min away from a subway stop) and price reasonable. The breakfast had a fair selection.
That being said, I would never guess it's a 4-star hotel. It's a no frills 3-star at best. Will definitely not be coming back here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anyaandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Spent 7 days in early March 2012 found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly excellent breakfast buffet, clean rooms and well situated to either walk or pick up a bus to take you anywhere you might want to go. It's just a short 10 min walk from the station and many good restaurants.. Would recommend and go back when we next visit Rome.

Room Tip: My take is all rooms are good in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was in rome for an academic conference, and stayed at saint john for 6 days.
The staff was always nice and attentive.

HOWEVER, the hot water stream was oscillating between hot and cold (the handle was constant).
The receptionist tried to convince me this is how it should be.
When I asked to move my request was declined.
I had to lower to stream very low to make the temperature average out.

Bottom line:
I would expect a lot more at this price, and would stay in a different hotel next time in rome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liran1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced given its location. We walked to the Colosseum, and there is the metro only 3 minutes walk away to connect us to the rest of Rome and beyond. The breakfast was good: eggs, little sausages, bacon, cold meat, cheese, yoghurts, cereals, juice, tea, coffee, toast, fruit and loads of little pastries. The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English, which is great because we spoke almost no Italian. We stayed there for a total of 5 nights. The staff arranged airport transfers, collected a package for us, gave advice on what to see in Rome and took care of our left luggage on our last day. We would definitely stay here again when we're next in Rome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stourton1582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2days with my boyfriend in January 2013

The hotel was not much to look from the outside. A square, boring building in a small street. I was worried that we chose a wrong hotel for our stay in Rome

The inside is live, warmer and friendly

The rooms are small but very warm, didnt mind to stay in for a couple of hours
Breakfast was above average, colorful and fresh
You can walk to the colloseum , about 15min , or take the metro , 3 min away

Helpful?
2 Thank Dindin D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Eurostars International Palace
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Eurostars Roma Aeterna
#287 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN Hotel President
Esquilino
Hotel Alpi
Hotel Alpi
#123 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Esquilino
Exe Domus Aurea
Exe Domus Aurea
#221 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Saint John Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Saint John Hotel

Property: Eurostars Saint John Hotel
Address: Via Matteo Boiardo 30, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Prime Hotel Saint John)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#210 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Saint John Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Saint John has a great location in the center of Rome, between the Coliseum and San Giovanni Laterano. Among a wide range of great services, the client can enjoy Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, complimentary newspapers and a bar service, plus a covered pay parking. The 4 star hotel Eurostars Saint John is also the perfect place for business events in the centre of Rome, as it offers a large conference room that accommodates 100 people and a small meeting room for 10 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eurostars Saint John Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Saint John Rome Hotel Rome
Prime Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing