We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,982)
Filter reviews
1,982 results
Traveler rating
614
695
411
177
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
614
695
411
177
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspanish stepsvia venetorooftop restaurantamerican embassytop floorpastriesjacuzzi bathtrevi fountainvilla borgheseemailed the hoteldeluxe roombreakfast roomlong weekendbeautiful citysite seeingbreakfast is servedcity break
Filter
Updating list...
810 - 815 of 1,982 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights as part of a tour. Tiny room but not unexpected. Great location - walking distance to a bunch of places. The staff was helpful & friendly. AC was a problem - they control the temperature centrally & as a result we couldn't get the room cool enough to sleep comfortably (we found this to be the case in the hotels we stayed in throughout Italy).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABCD96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review on our Hotel. We are glad to understand that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have so many positive notes to underline!

Our property is a boutique hotel which is set in a historical building dating back to the beginning of the 1800. The advantage of being located in a strategic and safe area gives our Guests the possibility to find a comfortable and quiet accommodation even in the heart of buzzing Rome.

It is just a few steps away from Via Veneto, the famous avenue of Federico Fellini’s 'La Dolce Vita', that rendered it the symbol of an entire age and one of the favorite areas of many Hollywood Stars and Producers in the Fifties; this marvelous road is attended by many artists, intellectuals, diplomats and aristocrats for its restaurants, clubs, cafes and exclusive shops that continuously attract visitors from all over the world.

The Hotel offers a different variety of rooms, each one with a unique layout and design that recalls the Imperial Style, spacious bathrooms with marble and hydro massage Shower or Bathtub. All finished with a particular attention to every details.

In terms of the room size I can assure you that with 5 different room categories, we do have a room that will tick every box and not only meet but exceed your expectations. It is incredibly important for me that you do return and I hope you will give me the opportunity to show you what we do have to offer.

To this end I would be very appreciative if you would contact directly us on info@hotelromanico.com prior to your next Rome trip so I can talk through all the various options, ensure you get the very best rate available and also personally take care of every aspect of your stay.

The Night mode of 'Daikin system - easily manageable by functional infrared remote controls - sets the extraction of moisture from the environment during the night ventilation (ie without delivering additional cold air).

It is a targeted solution to the optimal comfort during the night, but also to ensure the health of users or heart disease and children.

From the central control system we put the ideal temperature recommended by the experts, but in case you don’t considers appropriate ventilation, you can easily change it from the room.

To read that you felt “helpful & friendly staff” is absolute music to my ears. We take great pride in delivering highly bespoke service experiences, delivered by passionate and genuinely enthusiastic people’s people. Your kind words are very motivating for us as a team and greatly appreciated.

Thank you again for choosing the Romanico Palace Hotel and I hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards
Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great hotel, helpful stuff, free we-fi. Great location. Our room was outstanding in size and amenities, although, as we found out later, the quarters other members of our tour group had got, were not as great as ours. The rooms are not uniform, each has its unique features. I guess we were lucky. The hotel is a short walking distance from the Spanish steps and close to many other attractions. Abundant breakfast in a cafe with a great view and ambiance. You can also order espresso or cappuccino at the counter at no extra charge when having your breakfast. Also great and sufficient bathroom amenities. We opened our balcony door and turned off air conditioner despite some street noise. This hotel was an important factor that our visit to Rome was satisfactory.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 19Marsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Marsha,

A wonderful pleasure to read you review, I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us!!

Our neighborhood - Ludovisi - is an absolute gem, it has all the quaintness, ambience and vibrancy of a true Italian area and at the same time offers an array of independent boutique shops, lovely little café’s and a brilliant selection of restaurants and bars. It also happens to be just 15 minutes walk from Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, as you mentioned, which makes it the perfect base from which to explore Rome.

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, the décor and aesthetics is a very important part of who we are and we have a wonderful Design Team who works closely with our owners to create a chic and sophisticated feel throughout and yet retain the warmth of welcome we pride ourselves upon.

We know that details make all the difference, and it is for this reason that we are meticulous about order, cleanliness and hygiene in the bedrooms and throughout the hotel. In our experience these are the details that count the most.

The quality of a hotel is also measured by how well you sleep and thus, by the quality of your bed: the place where you will spend most of your time during your stay in our hotel. We pay particular attention to the quality of the mattresses, the types of pillows available.

We always encourage our guests to see our room types on the Romanico website, prior to booking with us as well as contacting us via e-mail, this will ensure they receive their preferred room type and view.

We have different room categories which vary significantly in size and layout and I am very confident we have a room that will tick both the space and value box for all of our guests.
Our new website is coming soon!

I am most pleased that our staff, we have an incredibly passionate team who genuinely cares and want to be part of our guest experiences and it is always incredibly motivating when their passion for service delivery is so beautifully reflected in one of our guests’ stays.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Romanico Palace and that you had the time to visit our roof garden. Our executive chef Sergio Napoli loves to pamper our guests with mediterranean food and typical Italian delicacies. It is nice to know that you had a great start in the day with our breakfast buffet.

Dear guest, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to the Romanico Palace soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.

The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable!

Best wishes,
Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were with a group just finishing a Med. cruise and stayed at the Romanico Palace for 3 nights, Oct. 22nd, 23rd and 24th, 2013. We were not expecting much but were pleasantly surprised with a very large, ornate, comfortable room. The rooms were not smelly at all. There was no musty or perfume odours which I really appreciated. Even though this is an old hotel, there are many modern upgrades such as a state of the art shower and bath system and free Wifi throughout the hotel. The rooms include a mini bar, TV with English movies and old TV shows, a modern safe and A/C as well as a window that opens. The rooms are kept spotless and clean towels are replenished daily.
Giulio at the front desk was very helpful recommending restaurants within walking distance and with the internet etc. The staff did whatever they could to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast in the roof top restaurant was quite adequate and the views are amazing. The only thing missing from breakfast was eggs. Hard boiled eggs would have been a nice touch.
As this is an old building. the elevators are small so I would recommend the stairs whenever possible. This hotel is well located and within walking distance of many sights.
The only fault we found was that the carpets in the hallways (red carpets) are quite stained and give the hotel a dirty appearance when it is really very clean. It can be noisy at night as the building is old and sound carries, but we were quite lucky with that.
I don't know if I will ever go back to Rome but I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giffy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Giffy,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to the Romanico Palace Hotel!

The Romanico Palace is very well located. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Rome and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Borghese gardens. The famous “Via Veneto” is by walking distance as well.

Our rooms are refined secrets that reveal themselves each time a visitor crosses the threshold, revealing a precious interior, where every detail makes sense and gains value in relation to the other elements of the décor. Each different from the other they are the result of a skillful combination of love for past and maximum attention to the comfort of modernity.

Considering the standard of our customers ( educated and refined people), for the frescoes we used a technique that gives the wall a background color veiled and shaded, that a person has mistakenly defined mold.

We know that details make all the difference, and it is for this reason that we are meticulous about order, cleanliness and hygiene in the bedrooms and throughout the hotel. In our experience these are the details that count the most.

The fresh, clean fragrance is due not only to our meticulous cleaning, but also to the decision, endorsed by our clients, to make this a NO SMOKING hotel. A small sacrifice for the most hardened smokers, but a blessing in terms of health and the pleasure of staying in an altogether healthy, scented environment.

It’s very important to remember that the hotel occupies an ancient palace of 1887, we have 2 elevators for guest use, which is normally sufficient for guest traffic and I can only deduct that we must have had an elevator out for a short period of time or that there was an unusually high guest demand.

Fulvius Roof Garden welcomes guests in an elegant and refined atmosphere. From the large terrace overlooking the city you can enjoy a splendid 360° panorama of Rome, tasting the flavours of the best culinary tradition.

As far as eggs are concerned, getting our guests used to Italian tradition just for a few days is what we would like to do during your stay. Nevertheless if you are not going to break your local tradition, scrambled eggs and tasty omelet filled with various and fresh ingredients can be ordered paying an extra charge.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Especially our employees are taking care of making our guests feel home, far away from home and it is nice to hear that they made your stay special and unforgettable.

I am incredibly happy that you were so impressed with Giulio in particular. He is an amazing member of our Front Desk team who will simply always go the extra mile to make all our guests feel genuinely welcome.

Dear guest, we are more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

With best wishes,
Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and after reading reviews were a bit worried, but we had a lovely time. The hotel is within easy walking distance of all the attractions ( we never used any form of transport ). The room was very good- comfortable beds and pillows and the staff were first class . The only niggle may be the breakfast - it is continental ( which was fine for me ) so if you require a full english you will have to pay extra

Room Tip: We stayed in room 214- two double beds in a nice room, a bit of noise from air conditioning
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 148DJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

We are pleased to see that you found our location really good and convenient -this is a re-occurring theme among all our reviews and it is one of the major benefit of our hotel and we are very glad that you spent a really lovely time in the eternal city.

Hotel Romanico Palace is located in a safe and quiet central area which has a lot of amenities and attractions, indeed without using any form of transportation you can reach in 10 minutes by walking Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain, Villa Borghese with the gardens and much more to see around.

Regarding the type of the room you that has been you assigned it was a comfortable Double Deluxe Room with comfortable beds with Jacuzzi amenities. We are happy to read that your room was suited to your needs and we are sure to share your comments about how clean you found your room with our housekeeping team – they do work very hard indeed to provide all our guests with the cleanest of hotels.

You may also be interested to learn that just this week we have started a full refurbishment of our guest rooms, especially the air conditioning system with new and powerful conditioning systems, very quiet, centralized with intelligent power ON and OFF. Included in this refurbishment is brand new guest room carpet and a much thicker underlay which we believe will soften any noise coming into your room via any doorways.

Furthermore we will be sure to pass your comments regarding our First Class Staff, very helpful and professional during all your stay as well you’re the others concerning the breakfast will be reported to our Chefs and Restaurant Staff – they always try to improve the service with the goal to obtain a sense of satisfaction from our guests. By the way our traditional Italian breakfast consist of Cappuccino and fresh croissants prepared with passion and dedication from our Chef even if we have as well a variety of mixed sandwiches and also scrambled eggs.

We would take pleasure in welcoming you back in the future so that you could experience again the lovely moments that you spent at Hotel Romanico Palace and in the Eternal city.

Best Regards
Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I could not disagree more with the previous reviews and would urge anybody looking for a luxury experience in Rome to reconsider this dilapidated property.

First, the premise of my review: a 4 star hotel should bring with it the service of a five star with differences based on amenities offered only. Maybe that standard is too high, but for $200/ night I think that it is reasonable.

Upon check-in, the desk agent tried to ascertain if our breakfast was actually included. He needn't have bothered. Although the view from the 7th floor was notable, the quality of the breakfast was lacking. No hot food/ eggs were available. The croissants tasted store bought. At the bar in the lobby, the bartender actually charged two guests for hot water for their tea.

Carpets and dry wall greatly show signs of age: the emblems on the carpets, probably originally in white, are grayed with dirt. One elevator was out of service for our entire stay. Throughout our room, the walls were dirty. Lighting in the bathrooms is extremely poor. Tiny television, and extremely lacking dresser space for those looking to unpack. Air conditioner was so old that the coolant murmured like a running toilet all night long.

After our first night, the maid did not make the bed. No idea why--towels were changed. Again, just a very slipshod job.

The quality of the Internet connection was absolutely horrendous. We were repeatedly kicked off of the Internet while using it, and I was unable to download an app that was meant to be an audioguide for the Vatican due to the connection repeatedly timing out. Not surprisingly, the front desk offered no help to bolster the connection.

Last straw: I stayed in the room, to do some work while my significant other went to use the gym. The front desk refused to give us a second key (needed to keep lights on in room and access the gym) without paying five euros. When I decided to instead go workout, the hotel staff promptly proceeded to kick us out of the gym, which was in the basement of the hotel away from any guests (it's not like there were dumbells that I could even drop), because it was past the posted closing time.

Positives: nice beds, soft pillows, excellent water pressure in the shower.

BOTTOM LINE: Borderline rude/ incompetent service from a property well past it's prime-- the attitude of the hotel staff reflects the care with which they have maintained their property: outdated. I sincerely hope that this review will spur the hotel to carefully consider their management policies and be more courteous/ polite as well as improve their overall competence.

I have gone out of my way to be constructive and not rant about this terrible hotel experience. I will end with this: after that long day touring the Vatican museums (we actually walked through a second time so that we could see the Sistine Chapel again), we sat in a restaurant for two hours when we weren't even hungry. That's how much we wanted to avoid returning to our "four star" hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SanjaySays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareDept, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear DTW,

Thank you for taking your time to share a review with us!

Not only positive comments but also negative ones are necessary for us in order to improve our daily service whose priority is always looking after our guests’ needs.

As you strongly asserted, the only difference between a 4 star and a 5 star hotel should be only based on amenities offered. Starting from our SPA "ROMAMOR" , an oasis for mind and body relax, with sauna, Turkish bath, multi-sensory shower and heated sunbeds and our gym with all the latest equipment proceeding with our Roof Garden on the 7th floor , at your disposal not only for breakfast but also for your business meeting and wedding ceremony, it is allowed to define our service as one of the best ones you’ve ever seen in Rome. In addition, our Customer Care Department looks after you whenever you need some suggestions about good Italian restaurants, shopping, guided tours and much more.

We never compromise on the things that matter. Our hotel carpets are tested and classified in accordance with the European standard EN 1307 for testing and classification of textile floor covering.

Our elegant carpets are made from an old company in Florence, which it has received numerous accolades for the ancient art manufacturing, the gray of our coat of arms blends in a sublime way with the Pompeian red, criticize the elegaza mean just want to defame and enough.

Of course, the quality of a hotel is also measured by how well you sleep and thus, by the quality of your bed: the place where you will spend most of your time during your stay in our hotel. We pay particular attention to the quality of the mattresses, the types of pillows available, and the different ways in which the beds can be made: either with traditional sheets or with a duvet in accordance with the north European custom.

My sincere apologies for the Wifi but unfortunately we were changing the telephone operator so the connection was pretty poor in the lobby, we decided to switch carriers because we want to offer the best services to our customers.

At today’s date, I am happy to say that speed and quality of wired and wireless Internet is in line to the high requirements that our business clientele would usually expect.

The fact that we give you only one key card is for the restriction of our key machine, if we create a double key, the first doesn’t work , however there is a porter 24h that is at your complete disposal for escort to your room. It’s not true that for the second key we ask 5 Euros, as explained is technically impossible.

Regarding our Continental breakfast, each detail is important for us. Fresh fruit, homemade buttery croissants and cakes freshly baked , a different selection of teas and infuses, hot American coffee and hot milk are continuously available in our buffet. For vegetarians, some delicious salads with tomatoes, mushrooms, mozzarella cheese, corns, carrots are prepared by our FB Sergio Napoli with all his staff. Our Italian CAPPUCCINO/ESPRESSO can be offered you at any time without paying any extra fee.

As far as eggs are concerned, getting our guests used to Italian tradition just for a few days is what we would like to do during your stay. Nevertheless if you are not going to break your local tradition, scrambled eggs and tasty omelet filled with various and fresh ingredients can be ordered paying an extra charge.

We receive so many positive comments about the breakfast : only the location worth the agreed price, every day we receive requests of the most famous photographers who want to use our roof garden to make their shots, we are one of the few hotels in Rome with a large terrace overlooking the city where you can enjoy a splendid 360° landscape.

Talking of all kinds of problems you may face during your stay, it is advisable to contact directly our reception which is at your service h24 and assist you without hesitation. Competent technicians rush over to solve the inconvenient immediately.

As you can read from the previous reviews, the quality ,the competence and the courtesy of our staff is one of the most appreciated things : a dazzling smile is what we are going to guarantee our customer whenever he crosses the threshold of our hotel.

Most likely some of the positive aspects of our hotel got away from you so it will be an honor to have you as our guest in the future once again hoping with more tranquility to be able to appreciate also the positive aspects which are many of our beautiful Boutique Hotel.

Yours faithfully,
Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews