We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,973)
Filter reviews
1,973 results
Traveler rating
614
692
410
175
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
614
692
410
175
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspanish stepsvia venetorooftop restaurantamerican embassytop floorpastriesjacuzzi bathtrevi fountainvilla borgheseemailed the hoteldeluxe roombreakfast roomlong weekendbeautiful citysite seeingbreakfast is servedcity break
Filter
Updating list...
824 - 829 of 1,973 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend booked the Romanico palace hotel for a 5 night stay and thought it lovely. the location is certainly the best thing about this hotel as all the major attractions were within walking distance (nothing took more than 30 minutes to walk to so we didn't use public transport all week) but then at night you could come back to a really quiet area away from the hustle and bustle of the centre so we had the best of both worlds. Our room was lovely I read some reviews before we booked about over the top decor but we liked it - it was certainly ostentatious but that was by no means a bad thing. Furthermore, our room had a good space, was always spotlessly clean and we got fresh towels everyday. The chambermaids always said hello to us if we saw them on our way out in the mornings - all the staff were really friendly and spoke good english which was helpful as ashamedly we knew little Italian! Breakfast on the rooftop was definetely a highlight for me, the views were wonderful and although I found the selection quite limited comparable to English standards (only two types of juice and the same three cereals everyday) the food was always fresh and the pastries especially were really yummy. We even had time to use the spa consisting of a sauna, steam room and tropical shower - perfect for rejuvenating after a long day of walking - the only downside was that you had to ask them to use it an hour beforehand which seemed a little excessive and meant a bit of waiting around before heading down. A couple of other niggles was that the wifi didn't work particularly well in our room plus you have to enter your username and password each time you wanted to log on so keep hold of it! Also we had a bath in our room (albeit with a showerhead) but not a shower which would have been a bit more convenient and the bed was quite hard but we were always shattered after a busy day so slept soundly regardless. Overall though we had a wonderful stay at the Romanico palace and would be happy to return if we ever came back to Rome :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alana-x007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Alana,

Thank you for your wonderful review, and valuable feedback about your recent stay here at Romanico Palace!

Our location is indeed ideal in as much as it provides the possibility to walk with pleasure around the major attractions as Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and also to reach in a few minutes Vatican City and the Colosseum, in fact there is also the subway, it is a convenient solution for each type of shift.

In a beautiful but also chaotic city like Rome, it is essential to stay in a safety area, in our case we can feel very satisfied because around every corner there is a police station and 24-hours surveillance addressed to all embassies located neighbor the hotel.

It was very pleasing to learn that you appreciated the friendly and helpful service provided by our staff, in particular the kindness of our chambermaids, as they are a great asset to the Hotel.
On the top floor the Roof Garden, a large terrace overlooking the city where you can enjoy a splendid 360° panorama of Rome whilst having breakfast.
Our pastries are produced from the best bakery in Rome, it uses only quality products following the best recipes of Italian cuisine, we believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and should be done in a certain way, our way… and as I read .. you have appreciated :-)

We offer to our guests the unlimited wifi internet connection, available in all rooms and hotel's public areas.
Also an internet point is available in the lobby, here you can find a printer available.
We are proud because Romanico Palace was the first hotel in Rome to provide free wifi service.

Please contact directly me for your next holiday in Rome , my email address is: alessandro.sforza@hotelromanico.com, I will be glad to offer you a complimentary upgrade , I’m looking forward to welcoming you back and to provide you with an even more spectacular stay than before!

Kind regards
Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location: 10 minute walk to Spanish steps, 15 minutes to Trevvi fountain, 10 minute to nearest tube. All in all, not too bad.

The room: Below expectations. Despite booking a double room, the bed was actually two singles pushed together, the decor was okay but there were wires hanging down from the tv and the shower was a bit dark. Aircon was okay but not fantastic.

Service: Polite and helpful although they told us the wrong place to get the buses to the airport and said they were sending someone to fix the aircon in the room who then didn't turn up.

Breakfast: Wildly overpriced at 15 euros each - few pastries, cereal, ham & cheese, yogurt and a few bits of fruit. Okay but should be half the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danrzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Dan,
Your feedback is very valuable and I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review.

There are really few hotels in Rome that offer our same position, because we are near the major monuments and above all we are surrounded by a security and a serenity that allows you to walk without thoughts during day and night.

Regarding the room I'm surprised that your accommodation has not fulfilled your expectations: separated beds pushed together are commons standard adopted in the main luxury hotel situated in Rome.

This factory concerns only the standard room, although when after check-in reception staff contacted you to know if the room was ok, you did not show any complaint about the room and in particularly regarding the bed.

If we were advised of this issue, we would certainly satisfied your request as we always try to do our best.

I do apologize to contradict you but according to all the breakfast is our best service: only the location worth the agreed price, every day we receive requests of the most famous photographers who want to use our roof garden to make their shots.

Our buffet breakfast offers a wide variety of products: croissants (directly from the best roman pastry), bakery products, freshly baked bread, yogurt, cereals and fruits, biologic jam.
Quality food is wisely selected from our renowned chef Sergio Napoli who takes care not only of the traditional Italian cuisine but with passion and skill he is great to mix the Italian culinary tradition with the international tastes.

Last but not least, I am delighted that you found our staff to be nice and friendly and be assured that our entire team would love to welcome you again and turn around your experience at Romanico Palace hotel!

Best regards
Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although we had initially booked a room in a different area of Rome, our travel agent assured us that this hotel was better value for money so we spent five days in Romanico Palace. We did not regret it although we made a bad start. The first room we were given was quite shabby with no view. We were a bit shocked as it bore no resemblance to the photos in the hotel site. We asked to change rooms and I have to admit that they caused us no problems. The room we were given the next day was spacious, tastefully decorated and had a really nice bath. We much enjoyed our stay there. Breakfast was just fine with simple, tasty food. The hotel staff was polite and eager to provide information whenever asked. We loved the location. The neighborhood is quiet and safe at night and the bus stop is almost outside the hotel. The city centre is within walking distance ( if you are not tired at the end of the day). All in all, if I had to choose, I would definitely come back to Romanico Palace on my next visit to Rome...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Mary,

thank you for choosing Hotel Romanico Palace and for your kind words.

In all rooms, amenities are guaranteed up until a certain height. Depending on the category’s room chosen, there are details that can change, one of these could be the view: internal for the standard ( more quiet but certainly with a view of the courtyard) external for others categories.

Our professional staff allow us to give you the undivided attention that you deserve. We pride ourselves on ensuring only the most comfortable and enjoyable stay for our hotel guests. Our friendly staff will always try to accommodate all your specials requests to customize your stay.

Recognition is very important to us and I am delighted to see that at the end we exceeded your expectation on that manner.

In a big city like Rome before to choose an hotel is appropriate to inquire about the safety of the area, in our case we can feel very satisfied because around every corner there is a police station and 24-hours surveillance addressed to all embassies located neighbor the hotel.

I invite you to visit the Romanico Palace’s page on Facebook or to click on the magazine in our web site to be kept up dated on latest news.

Please, be so kind to contact me if you are planning to spend your next holiday in Rome, I'll be happy to offer a special treatment!

Kind regards
Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Located centrally in the old Roma city this hotel is close to major tourist attractions and restaurants. Staff were great and the breakfast was a good start to the morning. Rooms are quite small but this is common throughout Rome however the aircon makes up for that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Jeff,

What a pleasure to read these wonderful comments on TripAdvisor!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our services were to your entire satisfaction.

The fact that rooms are not so large, is because the hotel occupies an historical building of the eighteen century in the center of Rome, our geographic localization nearby Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain is one of the most important things that make our guests feel like making a stay at our hotel.

In addition to the classic room which has been booked, we have also different categories characterized by luxury details: hand painted ceilings, ornate frescoes for the headboards, precious seats and sofas, antique lamps and sumptuous fabrics.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast too. We consider it a most important meal which you should enjoy just as if you were home, from our roof garden, the sun warms you and gives you its good morning, lighting up the breathtaking view of Rome!

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back, maybe you will have the possibility to stay with us on a future occasion.

We would like to assign you our jewel room, facing the “Altare della Patria”, a massive mountain of white marble towers over Piazza Venezia.

Our loyal customers always deserve a special treatment!

GRAZIE
Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel outdoes it's self! I stayed there at the begging of my trip, then again at the end of my trip. They remembered my name when I walked in the door, treated me like family, and made my experience in Rome all the better. They have a great breakfast, comfortable beds and are helpful with directions. I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Theresa,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at the Romanico Palace Hotel.

Our warm, inviting, and unique feel allows us to interact closely with our guests. We are extremely proud of the entire hotel team. Guests tell us that one of the main reasons they return is for our careful Staff. We see everyone who works here as a family united, happy team, working to make your holiday as enjoyable as possible.

We love it when we hear we’ve got it right!

In each of our beautiful rooms, the exclusive mattress is custom designed to create the perfect foundation for deep, calming sleep, while plush pillows, crisp sheets and a fluffy duvet wrap you in comfort.

When you stay at the Romanico Palace, the breakfast really gets the most important meal of the day: a delicious buffet tempting you with sweet and savory courses. You will find an assortment of croissants (directly from the best roman pastry), bakery products, freshly baked bread, yogurt, cereals and fruit…

The location is fantastic: a terrace that offers 360° panoramic views on the majesty of Rome, unbelievable way to start the day literally looking over a paradise.

I really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again and please do not hesitate to contact directly myself for any assistance with your future bookings.

Kind regards
Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews