We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roman Splendor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Romanico Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Romanico Palace
Ranked #301 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Roman Splendor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was on a tour of southern Italy in October 2012 and spent several days at the Romanico Palace Hotel. It's a big old fashioned hotel of Italian splendor. Beautiful chandeliers, prompt service, breakfast buffets and a great setting! We walked all over Rome and, using normal common sense, felt very safe.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and received a nice corner room. Ask them to activate the air conditioner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathyincornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very for your nice review. As you know, we really appreciate when our guests are satisfied of our Hotel and Services. We hope Rome and Hotel Romanico Palace left you with sweet memories and that one day we'll see you again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    566
    325
    152
    67
See reviews for
221
916
34
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

On our first trip to Rome to celebrate our wedding anniversary, we stayed at the Romanico Palace. The service was excellent and the rooms offered everything we could ask for.
The staff could not have been more accomodating in helping us with tour bookings and restaurant reservations. Particularly Giulio, Nicolo and Sergio. Breakfast on the rooftop each morning made the hotel that much more convenient and affordable. The quiet lobby bar was a wonderful place to unwind before dinner or bed.
The location allowed us to walk to virtually any tourist destination.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LMDChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelromanicopalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much from all our Staff, we hope to see you again one day in the future. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Romanico during the summer, and have to say i was not overlly impressed! It is classed as four star but was well under my expectations. We checked in and were taken outside into a different building which they said was a new area of the hotel. The room was small and the decoration was quite tacky! We had an aweful view of other peoples rooms and could here the kitchens below, very noisy!! I was expecting a nice view at the least especially when you travel to Rome! The hotel offered little in amenities, there was no room service, the breakfast room had a great view but could only be accessed in the morning so the hotel didnt offer lunch or dinner, you had to pay extra to use the spa facilities, wifi was not free and there was a small bar which only seemed to serve drinks and pastries. Furthermore the staff seemed very uninterested to talk and were not very helpful or friendly.
The location of the hotel was ok slightly out from the main sights but close to the Villa Borguese which was nice to walk around the park. Unfortunatley it didnt give a great start to our holiday when we paid for four star and i feel barely recieved two!
I will not be returning to this hotel and wont be reccommending it either!! Dissapointing

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Rome is very difficult to find a good hotel for less than 200 euros per night. After I get a recommendation from friends who were here I ordered three nights at Rumnico Palace and I would like to note my wife and I very much loved this hotel. It's a great location in the city center near all important place to travel. This room is very special as antique furniture collection and very clean. We liked to eat on the roof of the hotel and there is a great atmosphere with a view of the entire city. Breakfast not great but has everything you need. The staff is always helpful any request and always smiling. I definitely think we go back to this hotel very soon if we are in Rome

Room Tip: High-floor room is fine but asked for a room with a Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Cirrus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio F, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We thank you very much! We really hope to be at your service again on your next trip to Rome.

As I always say...... GRAZIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I'm writing this comment in English, though I'm Italian, for I take in this instance foreigners need more my piece of advice, which is: beware!
I'm often in Rome on business and, alas, in this specific venue: unfortunately, the choice of the hotel is not up to me. Personally I would avoid what boils down to a tourist trap.
In brief: you don't get value for your money here. The only praise I can share is that rooms are generally clean (even if sometimes musty). On the other hand, service is poor, breakfast is embarrassing, rooms are next to a monk's cell, but pretentious (awkward mix), the choice of tv channels (if the tv set works) is third rate, pay tv is an unknown item, don't even think of internet connection in your room (it will cost you a fortune) and be really patient when you wait for the elevator.
Finally the bill is far from cheap. You can get more in the same neighbourhood for the same price (or less).
To sum up: avoid it, if just you can.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Rap2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leira, Leiria, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Excellent location, service and cleanliness! The service is very good and friendly, the rooms are nicely decorated and clean! The online purchase went very well and check-in/check-out were very fast. It was possible to store luggage after checkout at no extra cost.
Thank you and see you soon

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tiag0_Ribeir0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was my second lengthy stay at the Romanico Palace. Nearly 8 weeks this time and it was even better than my previous stint of 6 weeks. The staff is wonderful, providing anything anyone could need. Staying for 8 weeks, I developed a good rapport with many of the fine employees and they always made me feel welcome, as part of a large, warm and closely-knit Italian family. The corner room was spacious and always clean. Breakfast on the top floor was absolutely my favorite time of each day. I'll stop now before I resort to what may seem like hyperbole even though I would be absolutely sincere about my satisfaction with the Romanico Palace.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giulio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Romanico Palace, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Todd,
It is us that have to thank you! We truly appreciate your custom and look forward to be at your service on your next trip to Rome

GRAZIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Marcella Royal Hotel
Marcella Royal Hotel
#98 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Parioli
River Palace Hotel
River Palace Hotel
#50 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#169 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,374 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#105 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Veneto Palace Hotel
Veneto Palace Hotel
#307 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romanico Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romanico Palace

Property: Hotel Romanico Palace
Address: Via Boncompagni 37, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Rome
#163 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#334 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romanico Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romanico Palace Hotel, situated in the heart of the Eternal City, is the ideal starting point for discovering the historic, artistic, cultural and gastronomic wonders of Rome. A few steps from Via Veneto, Galleria Borghese, Via Condotti and Piazza di Spagna. Walking around you can enjoy the most important monuments: the Coliseum, Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon.Each room is different and stands out due to its unique personality. The sense of beauty, the frescoes and attention to detail are testified by the Italian furniture made with an elegant combination of designs and colours. All the marble bathrooms have been renovated to be modern and functional.Entering the Roof Garden, you are greeted by a magnificent 360° view of Rome. We also offer a wellness area, an oasis where you can find harmony between body and soul, dedicated to all those who wish to have a wellbeing experience. The Fitness Centre offers various equipment for daily training, from the latest Technogym cardio machines to weights.The Romanico Palace Hotel is perfect for those seeking an exclusive atmosphere, and values its ability to combine warmth and discretion, courtesy and the utmost respect for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Romanico Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romanico Palace Rome
Romanico Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing