We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic and elegant apartment”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Aurora al Colosseo

Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Living room
main Bathroom
Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Gail R
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic and elegant apartment”
Reviewed January 23, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is an amazing apartment.Elegant,tasteful,spacious and very peaceful.It is in a top location,you can see the Colisseum from the windows,it is very near restaurants, a large grocery store and transport.The flat was spotless and had absolutely everything you could wish for. .Roberta the owner was totally charming.A 5 star self- catering property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen O
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect location in Rome”
Reviewed November 10, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful apartment is in the perfect location. The coliseum is in view from the front windows! The apartment is beautifully decorated and has everything one might need. A nice market is directly across the street. The home is a representation of the fabulous host - Roberta. She met us early and spent time to assure we were oriented to the city. Roberta checked in with us (via text) often during our stay. The city is of course amazing, but this apartment and mostly the host make this one of the best holidays I have enjoyed. I will definitely make sure I stay in this home during my next Roman holiday. Thank you Roberta!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil H
Hassocks
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment in Rome”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

WOW! what a fabulous family apartment in 18century building. Extremely comfortable with aircon throughout. Lovely polished wood floors and restored original tile ceiling. In perfect quiet location 10yrds from Colosseum and 50yrds from Forum. So nice to be able to come back to a cool comfy apartment after a long day sightseeing in Rome. Roberta(owner) is lovely and met us at the door with our keys and showed us around her fabulous family apartment, Roberta is extremely welcoming and friendly with helpful practical info and sightseeing advice. Plenty of cafe and restorante very close by and a small but well stocked supermarket across the road. Taxi and tram,Metro very close by for trips further afield, my son visited Ostia Antica on tram and train and we used a taxi to get us to the Vatican (20euros). We had a fabulous stay in Rome due partly to the lovely apartment and of course the historic sites, museums and renaissance churches. We highly recommend this apartment! Cant wait to visit again!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YbMonty
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfection........”
Reviewed July 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I'm not sure I want to tell you all about this place, I don't want it to become so popular that I can't book it in the future..........
This apartment is as good as it looks it the images - spacious, comfortable (very comfortable beds), spotlessly clean and beautifully maintained but the icing on the cake is the warm welcome you get from the owner Roberta. She was in contact with us before our trip and was there to welcome us with a cold drink when we arrived, she showed us around the apartment, how to work the air conditioning and had a map ready for us with the apartment already marked so we could start navigating our way around this city. Roberta also set up a WhatsApp group with me so that she could stay in contact with us during our stay.
We made use of the washing machine whilst we were there (which is out on the balcony) but did not use the cooking facilities, although my husband was very pleased to see the Nespresso machine! Roberta left us water in the fridge, coffee and tea, and told us to make use of anything and everything that had been left in the apartment.
There is a 24 hour supermarket directly opposite the front door of the building so there is no hassle if you are going to do full self catering.
There are restaurants in the street too and Roberta has details of those in the neighbourhood on the kitchen noticeboard - including those that do take out.
There is an official taxi rank around the corner but if you are travelling light it is probably only a 15 minutes walk from Roma Termini.
The location of the apartment is perfect for exploring Rome on foot - should you need public transport there is a tram stop around the corner, a bus stop also around the corner and a metro stop near the Colosseum - we walked everywhere despite the heat (do not be afraid to top up your water bottles near the Colosseum, the water comes directly from the mountains, Roberta says is the cleanest water in Italy!).
The only thing I will advise potential travellers to think about is that this apartment is on the top floor with no lift - there are six flights of stairs to climb, be sure you are prepared and able to make the climb before you book - it will not put us off booking this apartment again.
Our deposit was returned promptly after our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mimi G
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Rome Apartment”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My family and I stayed at Aurora al Colosseo for 5 nights at the end of June, and we absolutely loved it. It was clean, comfortable, and remarkably quiet with a perfect layout and a lovely decor. It has beautiful hard wood floors and handmade furniture, a charming, updated kitchen and comfortable beds -- we had a king in the master and two twins for our kids (ages 12 and 16) in the second room -- and everything you could possible need. Chilled water in the fridge, a Nespresso machine with plenty of coffee pods, lots of towels, shampoos and soaps in both bathrooms, a hairdryer and detergent for the laundry machine. Plus, and maybe most important, air conditioning throughout the unit. Rome was experiencing an intense heat wave when we were there and we greatly appreciated our cool sanctuary after a day of touring. There's a great market directly across the street for essentials, a pharmacy right down the street, and a taxi stand and Metro station just around the corner for easy access to any part of the city. We also had Hop on/ Hop off bus passes and were pleased to find the pick-up spot was just a 5 min walk. The neighborhood is fun too with great restaurants, stores and churches to explore (Basilica San Clemente should be on every list). And of course, the Colosseum is less than half a block away. You simply look left from the living room or kitchen windows, and it's right there -- which is sort of magical. Especially at night.

It IS four flights up with no elevator, so you have to be okay with stairs. But once you get up there, it's light and bright with gorgeous rooftop views. And the walls are so thick, you feel like you're the only one in the building.

Finally, Roberta was so lovely to work with; from the booking, to meeting us and working hard to get us into the unit early, to arranging our airport transportation and recommending great restaurants and activities -- she was wonderfully warm, friendly and accommodating.

We've stayed in many apartments/houses before when traveling through Europe, and this was by far our favorite. We look forward to the day when we can return to Roma and Aurora al Colosseo.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trek68110...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“What a wonderful holiday!”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We've never stayed in an apartment before and what a great experience it was! The place was comfortable and well equipped with everything we needed for our week in Rome. The long trip upstairs ensured peace and quiet, as well as making the apartment cool and airy with that view of the Colosseum....
Having Roberta to meet us and brief us thoroughly on what Rome had to offer was so useful, and that backed up with her check during the week that all was well, and meeting up with her on the last day, made us feel as though we were staying in a friend's home. She made everything so easy, helping with taxis, providing recommendations for sites, restaurants and so on.
Having now been home a few days I can only say that we've already started looking up flight possibilities for our return in the not-too-distant future. We will definitely be back and can think of no better place to stay while exploring Rome.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcveighra...
Roseburg, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Come home to Rome!”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Beautiful sanctuary in the middle of the ancient ruins of Rome. The rooms were elegant and comfortable. There is a wonderful grocery store just across the street and restaurants just steps from the front door. A park to picnic a few blocks away. We walked to all the sites. Taxi'd to the Vatican. But walked back after tours. It's all doable. Wear comfortable sturdy walking shoes! As for the apt itself, comfortable beds, accordion music from the streets playing each afternoon during siesta. The 6 flights of stairs were just another fun part of the adventure. Would stay again in a heart beat. Beautiful tile work in bathrooms and kitchen. Live like a roman. Wonderful! And Roberta is so kind and accommodating! Thank you Roberta!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing