We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rome stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Aurora al Colosseo

Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Living room
main Bathroom
Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Thng C
2 reviews
“Rome stay”
Reviewed December 18, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Our stay at Roberto apartment was wonderful. The apartment gave us a " home feel " and everything was readily available. The beds, pillows , blankets & the shower rooms were very comfortable. The location was good too - you can see the colosseo at the living room window; it is just across the street and so is the subway station. We highly recommend this apartment if you are going to Rome. Our kids loved the apartment and we were glad we had chosen it. Thank you, Roberta , for making our stay at Rome so comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment in an excellent location”
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If only all the apartments we rented in Italy were as lovely as this! Roberta was extremely helpful and friendly, the apartment was clean and comfortable. The Coliseo was literally right across the street. We ate at a lovely place up the street. We would definitely return in the future!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
611friend...
Moorestown, New Jersey
1 review
“Roman Treasure”
Reviewed October 11, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My friend summed up the apartment when she said, "I could live here." The accommodations were perfect - two large bedrooms, beautifully appointed bathrooms, large living/dining and charming kitchen. The photos don't do it justice. A drawback for some may be the 72 steps up to the unit but we found them invigorating. The owner Roberta was as delightful as her apartment. She left us milk, coffee, fruit and cheese. She provided maps and tour books, as well as suggestions for restaurants and more. The place was spotless. My friends and I could not have been happier.

The Basilica of San Clemente was in the next block - fascinating place. We ate twice at the little restaurant across the street from the basilica - Il Clementi I believe was the name. Roberta suggested it and it was wonderful. There is a business card for it on her white board in the kitchen. Reservations are a must.

I would recommend this to anyone and everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner who was so accommodating
Liked least: The steps
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spectacular accommodation in a prime location!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The view was unbelievable; we just had to keep going back to the window to check, yes, that really IS the coliseum just across the road! Even closer was the Carrefour supermarket with everything we needed. What you don't see in the photos is the library nook and the little walk-in wardrobe off the main bedroom. Both came as lovely surprises! Roberta, we really did not want to leave your beautiful apartment nor, for that matter, the wonderful city of Rome. What a memorable visit we have had! Hopefully we threw enough coins in the Trevi Fountain (which is being renovated) to ensure our return to both the city and this glorious apartment. Thank you so much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The climb up the stairs, but it kept us fit!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggie70
Prospect, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment! Fabulous host!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

After flight delays we didn't arrive in Rome until 1am, yet Roberta had arranged a driver to meet us at the airport and was there to greet us at the apartment. She had even stocked the fridge for us since all the stores were closed. What a wonderful welcome!
The apartment is amazing, spacious and beautifully decorated. By far the nicest place we have ever stayed.
It was very clean with modern bathrooms and had everything a family of four could want. With the heavy shutters closed at night it was so quiet and dark we all slept soundly.
The location is fabulous, the colosseum on the corner , a supermarket across the street, a metro close by and numerous restaurants on the doorstep.
(The only thing to note is there are a lot of stairs.)
We all loved this apartment and were very sad to leave.
Thanks Roberta!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana P
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, bright and cheerful apartment!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was our first stop in Italy. The owner (Roberta) was very helpful before and during our stay. The apartment was very well kept, bright, light and airy. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms and kitchen were outfitted very well-there was even coffee! I would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall feeling of the apartment
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan Z
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great host”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Perfect location, in a quiet street, just 3 min to the Colosseum, and 10min walk to the subway with grocery shop, restaurants downstairs, and fresh market nearby. My husband and I travelled with another couple, we stayed for four nights, and just wished could be longer. The inside looked even better than the pictures on webpage. Seems like the interior just renovated and everything was clean and tidy. Need to mention that the furnitures were hand made by Roberta's grandpa, or father, very nice vintage style, and the feeling of family.

Things in the kitchen and bathrooms, all clean and fresh. Kitchen ware, towers and bath supply were sufficient. We cooked our breakfast there, could start the day with some fresh vege and fruits, ham and bacon, and went to restaurants for dinner. The bedrooms, well decorated with a lovely balcony in the master room. The other couple, the husband, had a bit difficulty getting into the shower in the master room, cz he is 190cm and probably 120kg, having similar problems often. No prob with wifi, sometimes just needed to restart the router when disconnected.

Roberta was very friendly and helpful, and punctual when checking in, even brought sunflowers for us on the first day. Surprisingly, she learned Mandarin in Yunnan before which added the fun of meeting her. We could reach her anytime by mobile when needed help. After all, it was my best stay during the trip to Europe.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing