We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No room on arrival and no reaction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Maggiore
Ranked #2,777 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“No room on arrival and no reaction”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

When we arrived in the morning we could let our bags (they said room was not ready yet - that's normal in the morning...) but when we came back to the hotel in the afternoon they just said that finally no room was available : although we have booked through their own website well in advance and prepaid our stay!!!! In 2 words : never again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oukaischunomai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    54
    53
    25
    32
See reviews for
30
110
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Our room was not at the main hotel location but around the corner in a nice quiet street. Everything you need in Rome 2 blocks from Termini station. Near great little restaurants. WiFi good in rooms . Newly decorated. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Excellent place for staying during my holly days in Rome. Very good price and excellent service. What really liked me was that the room was always clean and the stuff were very friendly. Due to its good location, I saved a lot of money in transport (in Rome it is both expensive and chaotic). Also, I got important suggestions from the stuff, which is really important if you do not have enough time to visit the whole places.

In short, I highly recommend BB Maggiore for hosting in Rome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a very good low budget BB in otherwise expensive Rome. Great location, clean and spacious rooms, friendly stuff. On the downside, at times it was noisy -- mostly a sound-isolation problem which could be prevented if stuff was on site all the time to keep loud guests quiet. Over all, we didn't regret being there and we'd recommend it to others as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37Christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhaka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spend our 4 noght in bb maggiore guest house....
We like this hotel.....coz everything is near from here...specially termini colosseo
alsoo the spanish step----really like this place.room is neat and clean...perfect place.
friendly stuff...and price is average,....
i like to recommend this place for everyone.....

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank md j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhaka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We picked the BB Maggiore mainly for location which met our expectations in every way. We were a stones throw away from the main Termini and the Basilica, about a 10-15 min walk away from the collaseum and Trevi Fountain and about a 40 minute walk from the Vatican.
They try to help in many way.I just love to stay there.The romm price is average.So close to main station termini....

Room Tip: try to contact with them by email
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sajid424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Firstly we got this accomodation at budget price so expectations were fairly low to start with.
We picked the BB Maggiore mainly for location which met our expectations in every way. We were a stones throw away from the main Termini and the Basilica, about a 10-15 min walk away from the collaseum and Trevi Fountain and about a 40 minute walk from the Vatican. There were lots of restaurants and cafes within close proximity which was handy as no food was included in the room costs.
The room itself was very basic but fine if you are just using it as a base. It was clean and secure which is the main thing. There was a standalone fan in the room, the shower was hot and there was a safety deposit box. The negative points are that the windows didnt shut properly so you did get some noise at night from the bar close by. The mattress was quite firm and on our last day the sink started to leak slightly.
If you check in to the BB Maggiore after 7pm, there is a late check in fee of 20euros and you do need to let them know in advance. However, we were prepared for this and when we arrived, the receptionist was very helpful and friendly. He gave us a map and showed us different places of interest and encouraged us to go back to him should we have any further questions.
There is a vending machine in the waiting area which is always fully stocked with cold drinks and snacks - this was always welcomed after a long day out!!!
To sum it up, we were pleasantly suprised and felt that we got what we paid for!! If you go expecting a lot then you may be dissapointed, but we were really quite happy and had a great time in Rome.

Room Tip: Remember Bed and Breakfast not included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmNickRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Heart Hotel
#102 of 1,259 in Rome
456 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#378 of 1,259 in Rome
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#97 of 1,259 in Rome
912 reviews
Relais 6
#30 of 1,259 in Rome
1,874 reviews
B&B Hotel Roma Trastevere
#281 of 1,259 in Rome
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Maggiore

Property: Bed & Breakfast Maggiore
Address: Piazza di Santa Maria Maggiore 12, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,777 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Hotel Class:2 star — Bed & Breakfast Maggiore 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Maggiore Hotel Rome
Bed And Breakfast Maggiore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing