We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, great breakfast”
Review of Hotel Artorius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Artorius
Ranked #283 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We absolutely loved everything about this hotel. The location was fantastic, nestled in a little neighborhood between the Colosseum and Trevi fountain. The service was excellent - every person at the front desk was always ready and willing to help for as long as needed. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great each morning, especially the fresh croissant assortment.

The only minorly annoying thing was that the bathroom fan did not turn off, but with the bathroom door closed, it wasn't too noticeable in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 594 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

A small, well located and clean hotel. Staff was always very friendly and extra plus for the included breakfast.

The hotel is located on a quiet street, opposite is a small department store and nearby you find good restaurants. It´s 5 min walk to Republica metro, Colloseum, Forum Romanum.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Henric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

I have nothing to add to the reviews clustering the end of May reviews. However, Italy may have regulations regarding the use of ac in May because I had to sleep with the windows open to cool off the room. If you are visiting during the warm or hot season you may want to confirm the availability of a good ac.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Marcmarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights in early May 2014 at Hotel Artorius. The hotel is in an ideal location for visiting Rome. It is close to major sites, other amenities and key bus stops. This was especially important for two persons in their upper 70s in age. Several restaurants rated high on TripAdvisor are located within very short walking distance from the hotel, some of which we took advantage of. There is a small market (grocery store) across the street where we purchased water, bread, sliced meat, cheese, wine and other snacks at relatively low prices.

We were happy with the quality and size of our room and the good breakfast. Although the owner of the hotel and his son were friendly, they were very business-like. They were sticklers for detail and worked diligently to ensure that the guests were attended to. We found the night clerk Mimmo to be very friendly and outgoing and he was very helpful in recommending very good restaurants near the hotel which were not on our TripAdvisor restaurant list.

There is an ATM within walking distance from the hotel on Via Nazionale (address about 42) and a tourist information kiosk on Via Nazionale near the Palace of Exhibitions (Palazzo delle Esposizione) where one can purchase bus tickets and local maps.

The value of a central location for Artorius is evident from the site-seeing of two persons in their upper 70s. On the first day of arrival we walked to the Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps and back to the hotel.

The next morning we walked from the hotel to visit the Colloseum, Palatine Hill and Roman Forum. From there we took bus 87 at a bus stop on Via del Fori Imperiali across the street and a couple of blocks from the Colloseum to one located on Corso del Rinascimento which brought us within a few short blocks to both Piazza Navona and the Pantheon. On the way back to the hotel we boarded the southbound bus 71 on Corso del Rinascimento and rode the bus to the second stop on Via Nazionale. The hotel street Via del Boschetto is just a few feet further from the bus stop.

It was on Saturday that we had a 9 a.m. Scavi tour and we took a taxi from the hotel to the Vatican. Hardly any traffic at that time—so the taxi fare was very reasonable. After our visit to St. Peter’s Basilica and our afternoon guided tour of the Museum and Sistine Chapel we boarded bus 70 on Via Leon IV, a short distance from the Chapel, which we rode to our hotel bus stop on Via Nazionale.

On another morning we walked to the Borghese Museum, Spanish Steps, Piazza Popolo and Trevi Fountain and then back to our hotel.

If we ever go back to Rome we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaliepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at Artorius! I think it was family ran and everyone was so nice and friendly and answered all our questions from 'what's the easiest way to get to the Vatican?' To 'what's the best pizza around?' We had a room near the breakfast area which was very nice and surprisingly very quiet considering it's proximity to the breakfast area. Breakfast was great and the fresh cappuccinos each morning with the little chocolate stencil on the foam was a nice touch. The location of this hotel is great, you pretty much turn the corner and you can see the colosseum right there! A fantastic price for a fantastic location! We would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KikikunsAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We just spent four nights at this wonderful, family owned hotel which is in a great location about a 10 minute walk from Termini train station and the Metro. The bus stopped at the end of the street. There were several very nice restaurants nearby to choose from. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha-John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Ideal location in Monte for accessing all the major sites in Rome on foot. Very helpful & friendly English speaking staff. Very clean hotel room.
Couldn't really ask for any better for a 4 night break
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend that you stay there.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#104 of 1,271 in Rome
1,169 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#159 of 1,271 in Rome
682 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#263 of 1,271 in Rome
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#145 of 1,271 in Rome
318 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#239 of 1,271 in Rome
571 reviews
Monti
Hotel Ivanhoe
Hotel Ivanhoe
#331 of 1,271 in Rome
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artorius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artorius

Address: Via del Boschetto 13, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#96 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $87 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Artorius 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Artorius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artorius Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing