We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Artorius
Nearby Hotels
$537
$298
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori(Rome)
$248
$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$452
$355
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$599
$533
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$501
$373
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$341
$329
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$2,018
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$221
$152
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Hassler(Rome)
$1,564
$728
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Morgana(Rome)(Great Value!)
$202
$137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveler rating
411
157
20
7
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
411
157
20
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspastriestrevi fountainfirst floorideal locationwalked everywherewalking distanceminute walkmajor sightsvisiting romebooked this hotelair conditioningmain attractionsdouble roommini barbreakfast is servedaround the cornercity break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 603 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

What an fantastic choice this was! Clean and spacious rooms. Our room had a quaint little balcony to sip our wine after a long day. Like all beds in Italy we found them quite firm though. Would have been nice to have 2 pillows each (we didn't ask though). Really neat old fashioned elevator lift. Give it a try! Air conditioning worked great. Breakfast was better than most and starts at 0700. Yogurt, cereal, breads, various delicious croissants (chocolate, berry, apple, plain etc.) and other sweet pastries, meat, cheese, breads, juice etc. The cappuccinos were excellent! Very safe area! Best of all......The hotel staff were all exceptional! Can not say enough about them! So warm and welcoming. Always smiling, helpful and attentive. We arrived early in Rome and they secured our luggage in a locker while we went for coffee. They expedited our room being cleaned so we could check in early (1200) and our luggage was in our room when we returned. We had trouble with our flight check-in. Three different staff tried several times to assist us. Reliable with wake-up calls. Came to the room almost immediately to fix TV issue. They always seemed to be genuinely happy to work there and so focused on making our stay enjoyable and memorable. The location was absolutely excellent! Ten minute walk to the Colosseum and the Trevi Fountain. Close to lots of great restaurants which staff recommended. Quiet during the night. Our opinion....five star service in a four star hotel!

Room Tip: Don't give it a second thought! Book it!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 155019Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hotel Artorius was a real find! Its small but very well located, clean and reasonable. The breakfast was yum. The room was large by European standards and worked out well for the 3 of us in a triple sharing room. Friendly service as well. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshishNichani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel Artorius is one of the best hotels I have stayed in for some time.
It is a 2-star hotel that should be a 4-star hotel. I'm not sure about the star system, but perhaps its because the breakfast room is in the patio outside, I don't know. However it deserves more stars than they have.
Arriving we were given a warm welcome, and shown to our rooms. We were advised of the security steps along the way, and shown how to use the 100 year old lift. The lift is fantastic, Even though the rooms are on the first floor it is worth getting the lift each time for the experience! Well that's my excuse anyway!
The rooms are big and very clean. The bathrooms are very good, and the shower is excellent.
Breakfast is served on the patio with grape vines overhead and 2 beautiful red birds in a bird cage in the corner. Not sure if they spoke English or not!
There is an excellent choice for breakfast served by a friendly guy in a red t-shirt (sorry I don't know your name) - I don't drink coffee but my friends who do got their cappucinos with a little design on each of them.
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and were there 24 hours a day.
The area around the hotel is eclectic and interesting with lots of little shops and restaurants. We ate at two local restaurants and were well satisfied. I also had two massages whilst I was there - Le Cariti on Via Panisperna and Il Sole nel Boschetto on Via del Boschetto. This added to my sense of well being!
The Forum is a few minutes walk away, and Trevi Fountain and other sights are well within walking distance.
The side streets are all one-way, so in response to the comment that the hotel was inaccessible - that is the fault of the taxi driver not knowing his/her way around, not the fault of the hotel.
I loved this hotel and would recommend it to anyone, and would stay there next time I'm in Rome.
Thank you Hotel Artorius for a wonderful few days!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MistyGLEN1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel location was very convenient as it was within short walking distance to major attractions. The staff was very friendly, helpful and spoke good english. There are stores and restaurants nearby. We had a triple room (3 singles). The beds were ok for comfort, which was sufficient. The room and bathrooms(bathroom had a shower, bodet, toilet and sink) felt very clean and modern. The air conditioning was nice to have for Rome summers. Internet worked fine during our stay. For the triple room, there was an outside patio with table and seating which was very nice to relax in evenings. Eating is not allowed in the rooms, but is allowed out in the patio. There was a TV and room safe available for guest use. A mini bar fridge with items reasonably priced was in the room also. Overall, the room was clean and comfortable and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our trip was bit of last minute and Hotel Artorius was the most highly rated hotel on tripadvisor which was with-in our budget. During our travel, till now we have tended to opt for for Big hotel chains just to ensure a basic level of service, so it was with some hesitation that I booked it based solely on its Trip Advisor Rating. And, it turned out to be pretty good decision.

The Taxi dropped us right in front of Hotel. Our room was on first floor. Hotel has a quaint lift which we used only at time of checking in and out to move luggage. The room itself was very clean, quite spacious and had a comfortable bed. During our stay we slept well. Based on my earlier experience in European hotels, we were bit worried about size of bed, but it was very comfortable for 2 people. Bathroom was decently sized, with a small shower cubicle, which can fit only one. Hot water was available all the time. Our room had a window which even though opened out to main street was almost sound-proof and during our stay we never heard any noise from the street (we were there during a weekend).

Breakfast was served in small area downstairs. Being vegetarians, we obviously had limited options, but they had a wide selection of fruits, on which we gorged a lot. There was no egg in the breakfast. For me, delicious and authentic coffee was the highlight of the breakfast.
Hotel is approx. 10-15 minutes walk from the nearest Metro stations (Republica). Trevi is also about the same. Colosseum is approx. 10 minutes leisurely walk. Hotel is located in a street with many restaurants and bars, so finding something to eat is not a problem. TIM store (for those interested in buying phone/SIM) is just around the corner and is open till 6 PM. There is a grocery store just outside the hotel.

Hotel seemed to be family run and we were well take care of. On a Sunday, we needed some medicine, and the lady at the front desk went out of her way to help us out ! While checking out, they helped us in getting a taxi. One thing which bothered us was their policy of not allowing food up in the rooms. However, they graciously allowed us to eat our takeout dinner in their breakfast area.
Overall a very nice experience. For those looking to stay near Colosseum, this is very well placed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikram136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews