We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Hotel Artorius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Artorius
Ranked #306 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We loved this hotel- out the door, and down the street and you were at the sights! It reminded me of what I thought Europe should be- quaint and very friendly. The surprise was how large the room was and the little porch. It was a great place to start a vacation!

Room Tip: Note that there is a very small elevator to get to the upper floors. The power went out and they did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    146
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
114
332
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Location, Location, Location. Stayed here in late June and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and staff. The room was great by European standards. Most importantly the A/C worked great and as an added perk, the hallways were air coditioned. Where do you find that in Rome at this price? Walked to many of our tours and then took a cab back. Couldn't find a bad restaurant right on the same street as the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItalyFamilyTrip12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is a small boutique hotel. The staff are all very welcoming and all spoke English. The rooms are not large but was ample for us. The appointments are very good. The bathroom was small and there was no place to put toiletries. Breakfast is served an a lovely small glassed in courtyard dining room. There was ample choice and the service was great. We would stay there again

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street and noise was not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spent three nights at the Hotel Artorius in late April. The area, Monti where this hotel is located is a gem. Beautiful streets filled with fabulous restaurants and shops - and just minutes from many of the highlights of Rome. We loved the Piazza Madonna - just a block from the hotel. The owners gave us two restaurant recommendations for dinner - we tried both and they were two of our favorite meals during our entire stay Italy. The rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast was great - cappuccinos were to die for! Staff was helpful and friendly. We didn't want to leave! We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Please beware of this hotel. I don't write bad reviews, please check my profile. I'm happy to see others have had great experiences with the hotel, but must share our experience. Bottom line - WE NEVER GOT TO STAY THERE AND WERE MOVED TO A LOWER GRADE HOTEL WITH NO PRICE ADJUSTMENT (we prepaid and were never reimbursed for the difference of at least $200)!
Artorius nightly rate = $276 with tax
Hotel Pressede nightly rate = $200 with tax, max rate posted on hotel door and confirmed with front desk

We booked with Expedia and since the hotel "resolved the room availability issue" by moving us, there was no recourse since we let them drop us off at another hotel. Lesson learned!!!

We had a terrible experience with this hotel after we realized the grade of the new hotel and the dishonesty around the situation! We were not able to reconcile the issue with management and feel others should be aware the same scenario/scam could happen to them.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were told that our room was filled with water from the previous guests - that was understandable to us in the moment, but it didn't take long to know that it was not true. We were swiftly moved to another hotel, dropped off, and assured that it was similar quality. IT WAS NOT. I don't have pictures, but the hotel was Santa Pressede and you can check the Trip Advisor reviews. Hotel Artorius "tried" finding another hotel, but found nothing and assured us that they transferred all the money to the other hotel (no way that's true). We did our best to move on and enjoy the rest of the trip, but lost at least a few hours trying to resolve the problem (even after returning home). We gave up, but resorted to a poor review as the only justice to help any others that may be scammed. They wouldn't show us any documentation and the other hotel would not confirm how much was paid for the room.

I'll bet Artorius will respond to this comment in same manner I've experiences on all other calls with them - curteous, but full of very unreliable and questionable information that only intensifies the issue.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank jeh384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Artorius, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
As we did already, we apologize again with the guest for what happened but of course if the room was filled with water by the previous guests, it's not our fault and, because our room's floors are with fitted carpet, it takes at least a couple of days to dry it; I'm just wondering how the guest can say that it was not true.
We moved the guest to a different hotel that has the same standards of our hotel and also located in the same area.

Reservations made by Expedia are prepaid but the payment is collected by Expedia, not the hotel.

After the guest called us from the other hotel saying that he didn't like it, I called all the hotels located in this area to check availability but all of them were full booked. I informed the guest and said him that if he was able to find a different accommodation that he liked, we could have had a reimburse from the hotel Santa Prassede to pay it. After this call, the guest has never called us back again; I'm sure he couldn't find any other hotel with rooms available; I've also tried to call him again the day after but he didn't answer.
The amount that we paid to Santa Prassede was the same that the guest paid to us and we dind't show to the guest any documentation because he never asked us.

This is what happened and I'm sorry that the guest doesn't trust us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed in Rome for three nights. The Hotel Artorius was located roughly in the center of the area we were most interested in, within convenient walking distance from ancient Rome sights, but a bit of a slog to the Vatican Museum, Borghese Gallery, etc. The staff was wonderful, especially Mimo. Do not walk to the Hotel from the Rome Termini via Cavour as we did... a slightly anxiety-provoking course. Go via Via Nazionale if you choose to walk. The low rating on room noise was due construction upstairs during our visit. This seemed to start surprisingly early in the morning, but at other times the noise levels were fine.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 102, which was small but very adequate for two. I think we might have liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neurorad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#78 of 1,259 in Rome
662 reviews
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#197 of 1,259 in Rome
720 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#98 of 1,259 in Rome
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#114 of 1,259 in Rome
1,091 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#222 of 1,259 in Rome
533 reviews
Villa Pirandello
#90 of 1,259 in Rome
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artorius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artorius

Property: Hotel Artorius
Address: Via del Boschetto 13, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#136 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Artorius 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Artorius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artorius Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing