We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Artorius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Artorius
Ranked #313 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Having decided to look for a hotel close to the main sightseeing attractions we booked the Hotel Artorius on the strength of its first rate Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. Hotel Artorius will not provide the bells and whistles of resort hotels, but it is a clean, well maintained and quiet refuge in the middle of a frenetic city. The staff are without exception friendly and helpful, responding immediately to any requests or questions. Our room, furnished as a triple, was more than big enough for the two of us. Being at the back of the building we had the additional benefit of a good-sized balcony, a great place to sit at the end of the day while our feet throbbed! The courtyard breakfast area doubles as a bar on request. It is well worth using this facility as the prices compare very favourably with local bars and cafes. The hotel is surrounded by narrow cobbled streets full of bars and restaurants - visitors are spoilt for choice. We felt perfectly comfortable strolling around the area late in the evening, which is not something you can say about all parts of the city. We would have no hesitation in staying at Hotel Artorius again, or in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    142
    18
    7
    7
See reviews for
114
324
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel after reading about it o. Trip advisor and we were not disappointed. Tha hotel was within walking distance of the colluseum the roman forum. Great restaurants and and bars along the street. This hotel is in a quieter area of Rome a lot of locals live in this area. The hotel was great very clean, the rooms are cleaned daily, the breakfast is downstairs under a shady vine or you can eat inside. Breakfast was adequate with different options available with someone there to make your coffee when you walk in. Would definitely go back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Having booked this super hotel after reading many positive reviews we were not disappointed. Described by some as a boutique hotel this could be a curse but it correctly describes the understated luxury one finds in this true jewel, not in terms of amenities but in the sense of one's wishes being catered for. The room we were allotted, while not enormous, was more than adequate and initial fears of noise from the street were quickly calmed. The bathroom was quite small in our room and two people could trip over each other quite easily. Breakfast included in the price provided a varied choice of cereals, breads, pastries, meats and cheeses and the Italian coffee was strong and tasty. The staff is personable, friendly and efficient. Not the least of its attractions is its situation as it is about ten minutes from the Coliseum and the Forum and every other essential site to visit is in easy walking distance. The one exception is the Vatican and this pair of seasoned and fit walkers could not make the trip in under 45 minutes. Most of the other sites were no more than 20 minutes away on foot. There are many charming restaurants around mostly serving Italian fare for a reasonable price. Our daily dose of walking meant that we did not venture further afield to eat. Shoppers are catered for by the many quality boutiques on Via Nazionale about 5 minutes away. The neighbourhood is clean and safe, in our experience. A hotel to recommend and we have done already done so.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallock20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

I booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and was not disappointed it is an absolute gem - comfortable bed - room not large but we had our own private balcony - close to Via Nazionalle where a short walk gets you to the Metro and lots of buses - plenty of restaurants. the staff are very friendly and helpful and breakfast was good. Would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishEyesSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

My friend and I went for an overnight trip to Roma from Firenze. We got to Roma very tired as we have been traveling for about 3 weeks. We walked around looking for a hotel that was clean, reasonably priced and safe for two women to walk late at night. We found Hotel Artorius and walked in. Not only the hotel was charming, but the staff were also extremely nice and helpful. The breakfast atrium was lovely, it was so lovely eating breakfast with grapes dangling from the grapevine covering the court yard.
There was Wifi that actually worked in our room. The room was clean. It was a wonderful experience and a lovely place to stay. I would no doubt go back there again if I am ever in Roma :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Receivelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Unbelievable find!!! Two blocks north of the colesium. In the midst of ristarantes, shopping, cafes,bars. A good place if you like to walk and explore. The room was spacious,clean, attractive and had a super bathroom. The staff was helpful and friendly. Free wifi

Room Tip: No pool. We saw picture of our room online
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbmuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

My wife and I agree with other TA reviewers . This small hotel is very well located , close to many touristic places , to Via Nazionalle and to many good restaurants and the Cavour metro station . It is very clean and the service is great , Carla and Maurizzio are very kind and allways ready to help

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcardoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#74 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#202 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#187 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#109 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#93 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artorius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artorius

Property: Hotel Artorius
Address: Via del Boschetto 13, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#136 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Artorius 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Artorius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artorius Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing