We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the thick of Trevi Fountain tourists.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
Ranked #143 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, TX
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Right in the thick of Trevi Fountain tourists.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Staff was evasive about when our room would be ready even though it was past check-in time. About an hour wait.

Do not book if you have a physical disability - stair climbing can't be avoided. The elevator is one floor up. We took the elevator up two flloors and had to walk down another flight to get to our room. As you walked in to the entry, our shower was in the left and the bathroom on the right. You had to step up from the entry in to the room. Going to the bathroom at night could be dangerous if you forgot to step down. The place is ancient and has charm - hence the crazy stairs and levels. At least someone carried our luggage (poor guy).

The AC didn't work at first, but after they messed with the remote it worked. Took about a 2 hour response.

Windows opened overlooking the fountain area and it was noisy, but quiet when closed.

Rooms were clean, but the bath drain smelled off & on (expected for an old building).

Beds were firm in a strange way, but I slept fine to my surprise. We had to ask for softer pillows and they complied.

Great breakfast patio area looking out over the fountain. Breakfast was good - great coffee too. Go early, there is one table with a great view.

I wouldn't stay there again only because of the crowds. but it was empty before 10:00, then the crowds came & stayed until midnight or later.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    280
    77
    24
    30
See reviews for
165
468
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
PA-USA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This the second time my wife and I have stayed at this hotel in 4 years and we always find it to be just great. From the location, quality of the rooms, to the friendliness and efficiency of the entire staff, you couldn't find a nicer hotel.
Linda, the manager, took care of an immediate problem we had with our airport to hotel transfer without a moments hesitation, even though the transfer was not arranged by the hotel. Much appreciated as we had just arrived and were very tired from the overnight flight.
The bell hops and breakfast staff are equally friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good with many options and all very tasty. And how can you beat the central location for Rome? Practically everything in historic Rome is within walking distance.
And a final shout out to Alejandro at the desk, who was more than helpful on many occasions.
If a smaller, visitor friendly, centrally located hotel is what you are looking for, this where you need to go!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martingiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Extremely disappointed with the hotel. The location was great but the room we received was extremely small, probably the worst in the whole hotel! It looked at the interior courtyard, which only had trash, not a courtyard. We reserved the upgraded room and it had a weird extra space with a twin size bed and a desk, but the room looked nothing like it shows on the website and/or tripadvisor. Did not enjoy it. The breakfast on the hand was delightful and the staff made sure that we had plenty of coffee! Can not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickytraveler12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is simply wonderful! It is right across the street (and a little down the block) from the Trevi Fountain (a 15 second walk pretty much) and the view is beautiful. It is a little busy and noisy but the rooms have the shutters that block sound and those help a lot. Also a 10 minute walk to the Pantheon and Piazza Navona. And a 20 minute walk to the Colosseum and Roman Forum.
The rooms are gorgeous. I stayed in the triple room and it came with a queen sized bed and then a little alcove with a twin bed. Very comfy and spacious. Also came with 2 chairs and a little coffee table. The room was very clean and beautifully decorated. The staff was very helpful and was always there to help if we needed it.
My only issue was the WiFi. It kept going in and out and sometimes didn't work at all.
Overall the hotel is in a wonderful location and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Areeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this property. Beautiful room, large and everything we needed. Very helpful staff and never treated you like you were a pain. My daughter had problems with her feet and on request they found her a bowl to soak her feet. We made a few requests and they were seen to with no delay. They were there 24 hours to help. We even called them at one in the morning and they helped straight away. Very good location and the restaurants in our street were great. You just look for the busy ones. We had accordion players under the window and loved the noise of the streets but has soon as you shut the windows it was gone. The breakfast was adequate and better than some I have experienced. I would have no problem on returning hear on another visit. Well done to all you staff at the Fontana.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerryShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, we were able to view the Trevi fountain from the 3rd floor bar/breakfast area, and could easily walk to key attractions – Pantheon, Spanish Steps, Coliseum and even The Vatican. The room was very good, it looked out on to the street which was understandably noisy (atmospheric?) when open. The bathroom was adequate, recently renovated but the toilet pump seemed to have a noise issue, and the shower was awkwardly placed and difficult to enter. Our only gripe was on returning from a long day out our room had not been serviced. They did call and asked us to leave the room so they could clean it, but we were tired and asked them to come back later as we were going out for dinner, but they never did. We had to go down to reception on our late return to ask for towels and told them about the room. We were told it was our fault as we should have told them when we were going out! We would have appreciated at least some acknowledgment of the inconvenience on check-out and even an apology, but none was forth coming. The day was a Public Holiday and it appeared as if they were just saving money at our expense – we are understanding people and these things do happen, but their lack of concern and apology upset us - this is the main reason for writing this review.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snodding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We had 3 rooms with our family in the main building on one floor. Rooms were quaint with all the typical necessities. Not high end but certainly perfect for the price and location. Easy to walk just about anywhere but the Vatican. Wonderful breakfast with a stunning terrace. Staff was easy to work with and helpful. Evening cocktails on the terrace were wonderful and the bartender was great. I highly recommend this place. Just don't expect the Ritz.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mikelynxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#89 of 1,263 in Rome
647 reviews
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Trevi
Fontana Hotel
Fontana Hotel
#545 of 1,263 in Rome
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#163 of 1,263 in Rome
1,690 reviews
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#206 of 1,263 in Rome
1,194 reviews
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#140 of 1,263 in Rome
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Fontana Di Trevi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Fontana Di Trevi

Property: Relais Fontana Di Trevi
Address: Via del Lavatore 44, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#247 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#311 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Fontana Di Trevi 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Relais Trevi Fountain RomeWelcome to the Relais Trevi Fountain in the historical centre of Rome, the ideal accommodation for an unforgettable romantic break in one of the world’s oldest and most spellbinding cities. Our luxury rooms & suites in the historical centre of Rome has undergone recent refurbishment to make it an immaculate yet personable accommodation in which you can set your mind at ease and make the most out of the cityThe Trevi FountainOne of Rome’s most popular landmarks and probably the most famous fountain in the world, the stunning Fontana di Trevi was immortalised in the 1960 classic Fellini film La Dolce Vita, starring Marcello Mastroianni and Anita Ekberg - who famously frolics in the fountain on a balmy Roman night. Needless to say, frolicking in the fountain today will probably land you with a hefty fine to pay, but if you can resist diving in, this beautiful Renaissance masterpiece is generally regarded as one of Rome’s most romantic spots.Our LocationTaking our name from the fountain, which is just a few metres away from the entrance to our luxury rooms & suites, the Relais Fontana di Trevi puts guests deep in the cobble-stoned heart of renaissance Rome, with other landmarks such as the Spanish Steps and Piazza Barberini within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Fontana Di Trevi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Fontana Di Trevi Hotel Rome
Relais Fontana Di Trevi Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing