We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Relais Fontana Di Trevi
Ranked #143 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
192 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The positives (location, service, and a very nice breakfast on a terrace) out weigh the negatives (rooms are on the small side and there is lots of noise at night). Overall, we were very pleased with the stay.

Room Tip: opt for the annex and a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    271
    76
    23
    30
See reviews for
158
458
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel with freindly staff especially dominic and johnny at breakfast.we were given a room in a annexe building a little further up the road which at first we felt a little disappionted but it was lovely clean with a view into a quaint quiet cooble street slitely away from the mass crowds but still close enough to all the sights.Not everyone can get a room looking over the fountain but at breakfast most can sit there and enjoy the view so a nice stay overall.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nice small boutique hotel with well appointed furnishings. Got upgraded to junior suite upon arrival. Wow ! Luxe fabric upholstered walls with walk in closet and huge bathroom. Partial view of the Trevi Fountain. Breakfast & bar on the top floor with tables even outside to enjoy the fresh morning air and we watched as the fountain was cleaned of coins each morning. Great hotel staff, knowledgeble and helpful. Room very clean. I did think it was a little cheap of them to charge with printing two boarding passes when the wi-fi was free. I would recommend the hotel for the central location and high quality service. Lots of good places to eat in the area. Our last dinner there was at Sora Lucia's. Simple fresh and probably the best meal of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgurl154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have recently returned from a very exhausting trip to Rome. What an absolutely incredible city. If you have the opportunity, you must visit Rome. It has amazing atmosphere. Yes it is busy but, if you love people watching as well as sight-seeing, you will be in seventh heaven. This hotel overlooks the Trevi Fountain and is perfectly placed to be able to walk to the majority of the sights Rome has to offer. The room was an OK size, clean and beds firm but don't expect a view unless you pay for a Suite. The buffet breakfast was good and varied and the waiters friendly and helpful. To sit on the small open balcony and overlook the Fountain was a nice touch. It was also nice to sit up there and have a beer/cocktail in the evening. Yes, we also found management to be a bit dismissive at times and not particularly friendly. HOT TIP: Take good walking shoes, loose clothing, an umbrella or lightweight poncho and a small back pack or bum bag. We booked our transfers from the Airport to the Hotel and back with Romecabs.com. They were excellent and well worth paying an extra 10Euros each way rather than paying for a cab at the Airport. A cheaper option is to take the train or shuttle bus but as we were only there for a couple of days we wanted to make the most of our time. Walking is the best way to experience the city. You wander down side streets and nestled amongst the newer buildings you come across an ancient church or ruin and tiny shops. The piazzas are lively and full of artists, cafes and the usual tourist trappings but interesting all the same. It is expensive but a fabulous experience all the same. We did toss a coin in the Fountain and expect to return one day.

Room Tip: No view from your room unless you book a suite (and even then not sure whether all suites have a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue_everest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Let me start off by saying I have traveled the world and spent timein third world nations. My wife and I ended our 12 day trip through Italy here. They do not tell you that the patio that overlooks the Trevi Fountain is closed on Sunday, it is. The smell from the bathroom was bad. We had to plug the bedai with a towel. The staff was friendly but they had no authority to do anything. We checked out a day early.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Perfect location, easy walking distance from hotel to the popular tourist attractions. Breakfast overlooking the Trevi Fountain was wonderful - good food, lovely view, great waiters who really looked after us. (Thank you guys). Our room was close by the breakfast room - very roomy, comfortable and clean. No complaints at all about this hotel. Yes there are stairs to the first level - however lifts are available to go to the upper floors. Reception staff were a bit abrupt, but to be fair they were busy when we called in. The area around the fountain was busy all day, lots of people enjoying the area. If you like Gelato this is the place to be with several shops selling a great variety of flavours right there on the doorstep. Nice little shopping area too - good shoe shop!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hard to argue, the location was great - next to the Trevi Fountain. The rooms were good sized and clean. The only staff that didn't have a surly attitude were the waiters in the breakfast room. They were quite pleasant and breakfast was good. Everyone that we encountered at the front desk was just plain rude.

Room Tip: Do note that this would be a difficult hotel for a handicapped person as you have to take stars, eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Trevi 41 Hotel
Trevi 41 Hotel
#93 of 1,256 in Rome
627 reviews
Trevi
Fontana Hotel
Fontana Hotel
#579 of 1,256 in Rome
424 reviews
Trevi
Relais Trevi 95 Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Trevi Palace Luxury Apartments
Trevi
Hotel Regno
Hotel Regno
#161 of 1,256 in Rome
1,654 reviews
Trevi
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#216 of 1,256 in Rome
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Fontana Di Trevi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Fontana Di Trevi

Property: Relais Fontana Di Trevi
Address: Via del Lavatore 44, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#247 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#311 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Fontana Di Trevi 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Relais Trevi Fountain RomeWelcome to the Relais Trevi Fountain in the historical centre of Rome, the ideal accommodation for an unforgettable romantic break in one of the world’s oldest and most spellbinding cities. Our luxury rooms & suites in the historical centre of Rome has undergone recent refurbishment to make it an immaculate yet personable accommodation in which you can set your mind at ease and make the most out of the cityThe Trevi FountainOne of Rome’s most popular landmarks and probably the most famous fountain in the world, the stunning Fontana di Trevi was immortalised in the 1960 classic Fellini film La Dolce Vita, starring Marcello Mastroianni and Anita Ekberg - who famously frolics in the fountain on a balmy Roman night. Needless to say, frolicking in the fountain today will probably land you with a hefty fine to pay, but if you can resist diving in, this beautiful Renaissance masterpiece is generally regarded as one of Rome’s most romantic spots.Our LocationTaking our name from the fountain, which is just a few metres away from the entrance to our luxury rooms & suites, the Relais Fontana di Trevi puts guests deep in the cobble-stoned heart of renaissance Rome, with other landmarks such as the Spanish Steps and Piazza Barberini within easy walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relais Fontana Di Trevi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Fontana Di Trevi Hotel Rome
Relais Fontana Di Trevi Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing