We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Short Stay in Rome”
Review of Gulliver's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gulliver's Lodge
Ranked #643 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Short Stay in Rome”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived in the afternoon and left early the following morning, but in that short time, we were very comfortable in a lovely, newly updated room with a small balcony and a view of the street below. Mary was very helpful in providing a good walking route to Trevi Fountain and a very nice restaurant in the area. This was our third visit to Rome and the last night of twenty-one days in Italy. We had spent more time taking in the sights on earlier visits to Italy and just wanted to relax for the rest of the day before returning home. Mary suggested a private driver to take us to the airport the following morning and that was an excellent idea. He was waiting at the front of the hotel promptly the following morning and transported us directly to the airport in comfort. We highly recommend it.

If we return to Rome, and that is likely, we will certainly contact Mary for a room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelersIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    31
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
83
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is an ideal place for a family of four. The room was good, neat and secure. Excellent location. Close to Termini and walking distance to Colosseum. Unfortunately the wi-fi connection wasn't great. Good advice from the host.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringbokPTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This great little B&B is just a 5 minute walk from Termini station, which is served every 30 mins by trains directly from Fuimicino, and a 3 minute walk from the Cavour metro stop. It is also ideally placed if you are especially interested in Ancient Rome as it is just a 10 minute steady walk to the Colosseum and Roman Forum, meaning that you could easily spend the evening sat around the Colosseum then amble back to get some rest as I did most evenings. The walk into central Rome and the shopping district is a bit longer at 20-25 minutes but it's a very pleasurable one down Via dei Fori Imperiali, or alternatively you could take the metro a bit nearer into the centre. As for the room itself, it had everything you needed and for a solo traveller like myself, more than enough room to spread my maps over the floor to plan the next day's sightseeing! A special mention must too go to Mary who I unfortunately didn't see much of during my stay due to my early morning starts and late night finishes but upon my arrival she gave me some great tips on where to eat, how to use the metro and where some of the lesser known sights are. Overall I had a fantastic stay in Rome which was helped very much by staying at Gulliver's Lodge and I can't wait to return sometime soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bennyboy599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We wanted a place for just 2 nights near Termini Station and this one was recommended by Rick Steeves and I can see why. Mary, the host, was most helpful both before our visit and during our stay. The location is 5 minutes from the Termini train station and 5 minutes the other way to the Collisseum and just blocks away from the metro. And for the price, you can't beat this! It is expected that you pay in cash, so know that in advance, but it's not a problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary052010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Mary was absolutely the most wonderful hostess of any place we stayed in Italy. She began emailing us weeks before our trip to give ups tips and updates. She spent over an hour with us on the first day orienting us to the city and the best places for dinner and shopping. Our room was beautiful, clean and modern with AC without which we would have been miserable. When my husband and I return we will be sure to stay there again! Thanks Mary!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coloradotraveler022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here based on Rick Steve's recommendation and tripadvisor reviews being so excellent. Some things are hit or miss. This was total miss for us. Why doesn't anyone mention when you flush the toilet that the water runs though the room waking up others who are sleeping. It was really loud. Noise from street was loud as well, but that's expected from being in city. It feels like a prison when you must use a key to turn on the lights in the room. We read about the fantastic breakfast here. We were presented with coupons for a bar across the street which offered Coffee and 1 pastry only. When you are not a coffee drinker, there were no substitutions and we don't eat empty calories like pastries even though they did look every good. We were hoping for great breakfast from what we read on trip advisor reviews. The location is excellent. We stayed here our last 2 nights in Rome. Upon first arrival we stayed at Best Comfort Suites in Piazza Navona. Comparing the two hotels here, I would stay at Best Comfort suites. Someone is on duty at all times in this location, its same price, more modern bathroom, bright/airy clean rooms. You can turn on lights without having to use a key... Walk on floor with bare feet and you wont find single piece of dirt. Although both B&B have firm beds - I assume this is normal for Italy. The Breakfast at Best Comfort Suite: has proteins and veggies, cereals, milk, juices, etc. This is what he hoped for at Gullivers Lodge. Also mention that Gullivers does not take credit card. Best comfort suites does. Connivence is key when on vacay. Stayed here September 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpencerMaltese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I couldn't be more happier with the provided service! Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable! Location is perfect, Colloseum is literally around the corner. Breakfast is wonderful and Mary will help you organize your day trips and visits around and through the Rome. I will return here for sure! In fact, I am already looking forward to! Our stay was beautiful here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artana2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#264 of 1,263 in Rome
1,170 reviews
Monti
Chocolat Inn
Chocolat Inn
#753 of 3,692 in Rome
127 reviews
Monti
ColosseoBB
ColosseoBB
#116 of 3,692 in Rome
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Casa Cleo
Casa Cleo
#901 of 3,692 in Rome
114 reviews
Monti
Urbana 33 b&b
Urbana 33 b&b
#994 of 3,692 in Rome
92 reviews
Roma Rooms Colosseum
#105 of 341 in Province of Rome
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulliver's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulliver's Lodge

Property: Gulliver's Lodge
Address: Via Cavour, 101, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #643 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting alternative to typical hotels in the centre of Rome,Gulliver's Lodge offers a family run setting and a cosy, intimate atmosphere, perfect for families and couples on holiday in Rome.The Lodge is located only a few minutes away from the main attractions of our city, which include the magnificent Colosseum,the Palatium Hill, The Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Trevi Fountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gulliver's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulliver`s Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing