We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent accomodation, though a bit noisy and unorganized”
Review of Gulliver's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gulliver's Lodge
Ranked #696 of 3,779 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 17, 2008

We stayed for 5 nights in what I think was the only room with a door facing out into the stairwell of the apartment building the B&B is housed in.

Our room was pretty good, nothing spectacular, but as a place to crash after a long day, it definitely did the job. The only major problem with it, was the non-sound insulated door, which as noted, faced out into the stairwell, allowing any and all sounds from there to filter unhindered into our room.

This was cause for some serious concern on the first night (a friday night), where loud music was also filtering in from somewhere, possibly the restaurant below.

However, while we didn't go to sleep until 1am on the first night, the other nights we didn't have any particular problems. As also noted, our room was the only one facing directly into the stairwell, this shouldn't be a problem with the other rooms.

The room was cleaned and the bed made every day, and breakfast was served every morning in largely the same constellation, with some variation (generally pretty good). On the day before our last, we even came home to find a bottle of 'brut' and two glasses, along with a note.

The day we arrived, Simon drew a great 'homemade' map for us, and told us when it could be a good idea to see what and then showed us the DVD's we could borrow for watching in our room if we wanted to relax one night.

Unfortunately, Simon, who was otherwise very kind, if a bit stressed perhaps, forgot to tell us that we had to pay cash the day we left, which caught us quite by surprise and had us scrambling, trying to get 650 euro from our VISA cards, which we couldn't do (those darn things have upper limits), so we paid him some of it and arranged to wire him the rest when we got back.

Our stay was good, and if it wasn't for the noise and him forgetting to tells us about the money, it would get at least one more star.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Heilemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 160 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2008

This was our most comfortable bed in Europe. The room had lots of amenities and a good location. Simon was always available to help. A good breakfast was included. Fairly quiet, but I recommend earplugs. Clean room, but the shower curtain smelled bad-the only negative. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank erdamschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

Wow...I can't say enough good about Gulliver's Lodge, or Simon. We booked them after reading about it in Rick Steve's Rome, and couldn't have been happier. The price is very reasonable, it's easy to find, and Simon runs a VERY tight ship. We stayed 3 places in Italy, and this was by far the best

The Good:
1) comfortable. Real towels. Good heat. Private bathroom.
2) The decor. New, clean, some small nice touches that made a huge difference. Well lit
3) Simon's organization. Everything's got it's place, he knows the ins and outs, speaks EXCELLENT English, gives you a map which he highlights with good pedestrian routes and places to see, gives you GREAT restaurant recommendations (we suggest trying them!)
4) Wireless access (free)
5) cords, chargers, adapters, all available
6) safe and minifridge
7) breakfast
8) Simon easily accommodates your schedule and is there when you need him to be (arrival, early departure, etc)

The bad:
sorta small rooms, but that's standard for Italy

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EmergMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2007

We stayed at Gulliver's Lodge in November 07 and booked it because friends had stayed at one of the other Gulliver properties. We were seeking accommodation near Termini Station as we came in on the Leonardo Express from Fuimincino Airport - 11 euros - very good value for the 30 minute trip. The Via Cavour runs down from the station and whilst it was quite a hike, we dragged our luggage down the street - downhill as it turned out when we returned to the station at the end of the stay - uphill! We were very pleased with the accommodation. Simon gave us a thorough walk-through of our room and promised breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was great - juice, cereal, pastries and caffe latte. Very pleasant. Simon also recommended a typical Italian restaurant - La Carbonara to us. It is five minutes around the corner by foot. Food and atmosphere was excellent and we ate there both nights of our stay with Simon. All in all, very pleasant accommodation, near the Cavour metro station, and very quiet. We recommmend it highly.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank avidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2007

My boyfriend, his sister and I stayed at Gulliver's Lodge back in June for 4 days and it was the best place that we stayed while in Europe. Simon was wonderful and really tried to get to know us during our stay. Although the is no one "technically" there in the evening most of the time Simon was there with Coco and Lilly willing to answer any questions and show us the best places to eat. It really is the personal level of service that we all loved. The room was very large; the bathroom also large and very clean. The location was wonderful and map that Simon used to show us where everything was was invaluable while we were there. I would really recommend staying at Gulliver's Lodge and will stay there any time I'm in Rome!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank babygirl0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

We stayed 3 nights here and just loved it. Simon was such a gracious host! We arrived late in the evening and he met us at the gate. His warm welcome put us completely at ease; he took such care to go over everything in the room with us and then told us not to worry, he'd go over everything again with us in the morning, as it was nearly midnight.

The room was very roomy, with a small closet to hang clothes (but no dresser), double bed, a small table and chairs set, and a chair for sitting. There was a small refrigerator, a safe for valuables (which allowed you to put in your own code) and a flat screen tv (with satellite) and dvd player. There was a small selection of dvds in the room - several on Rome and Italy travel. In the foyer of the B&B was 24 hour internet access, a coffee pot and ice machine.

The breakfast was huge - cereal, toast with cheese and salami, pastries, yogurt (or pudding), juice, coffee and milk. It was more than we could eat.

Simon gave us a map with various places/sights circled on it and gave us tips on getting around town. We had been scheduled to stay at one of his other properties but, when a guest there had some personal difficulties, Simon asked if we'd care to move to his new property, the Lodge, for the same rate as the other property (which was 30 euro less). We were fine with that, as the new property is centrally located to all the sights which we wanted to see/visit.

We had a wonderful time and wished we could have stayed longer. Simon went above and beyond on our last day there. We had to get up super early to get to Termini Station in order to catch a ride to Ciampino for an early flight. He brought our breakfast tray in the night before, placing the perishable items in the small fridge with a thank you note to us.

We were so impressed with the warm welcome, the breakfast and the service we received from Simon and his staff. When next we go to Rome, we will surely stay at Gulliver's.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheShreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

We stayed at Gulliver's Lodge for 4 nights at the end of May. We loved our experience there. The location is excellent! You can easily walk to all the major sights.

Simon was very welcoming and helpful. He gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations that enhanced our enjoyment of this beautiful city. The breakfasts provided were excellent!

Our room was very comfortable and clean. An Internet station is available to guests as well as wireless in the rooms.

I would not hesitate to recommend Gulliver's Lodge to family and friends and we would definitely stay there during our next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FunkyTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Nerva Accomodation
Nerva Accomodation
#59 of 3,779 in Rome
586 reviews
Monti
Locanda al Viminale
Locanda al Viminale
#21 of 3,779 in Rome
776 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#226 of 1,272 in Rome
1,088 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#463 of 1,272 in Rome
303 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#72 of 1,272 in Rome
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulliver's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulliver's Lodge

Address: Via Cavour, 101, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #696 of 3,779 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $61 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting alternative to typical hotels in the centre of Rome,Gulliver's Lodge offers a family run setting and a cosy, intimate atmosphere, perfect for families and couples on holiday in Rome.The Lodge is located only a few minutes away from the main attractions of our city, which include the magnificent Colosseum,the Palatium Hill, The Roman Forum, Piazza Venezia, Trevi Fountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gulliver's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulliver`s Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing