We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“You need to be fit to stay here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Relais dei Papi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Ranked #228 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You need to be fit to stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Booked for 2 nights months in advance. When we arrived found that reception is on the 4th floor so need to walk up a flight of 20 steps to get to the first floor lift. Lift is an antique so 2 trips needed to get baggage up there. Only to be told that they could only put us up for 1 night as work was needed on the room. We were told that they had an hotel for us to stay on 2nd night so suggested we stay there for both nights so we moved to the Vatican Garden Inn which was OK

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BKDOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    240
    57
    19
    11
See reviews for
129
262
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitburn
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The staff were so friendly, the room was clean and tidy, the breakfast was excellent just what we needed. Ideally located for all of Romes sights and within ten minutes walk of the vatican and St Peters we could not have hoped for better.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor and was more old fashioned, with the more modern rooms being on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at Relais for 4 nights. The location is ideal for the Vatican and is in a quieter location which was great for a good nights sleep. It's about a mile walk to the Centrico Storico, an area of central Rome filled with restaurants, bars, shops etc. which was perfect to whet the appetite for a few bottles of Moretti !
Hotel itself was retro in decor and fairly basic but comforable. What made a difference were the staff, whether at reception or over breakfast they couldn't do enough for you. Really impressed by the service which makes such a difference to the enjoyment of the trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markauzzyamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

the hotel was a short walk from the Lepanto metro stop which was nice and it was so close to the Vatican that it made it easy to get to our morning reservation. the hotel was 4 floors up on an elevator that was really hard to get in and out of. the welcome was nice and we were able to get a recommendation for lunch and store our luggage until our room was ready. nice.

the room had a window on a teeny light well so the room was really dark. i had to turn my mattress over and remake my bed so the springs wouldn't be in my back all night. the hotel was the smallest of any on our trip. it also protruded oddly into the bathroom so we nearly tripped over the corner of the shower and fell into the sink.

the breakfast was underwhelming at best. they didn't have a great variety of foods and the yogurt supply was lacking. we used the breakfast room to have a glass of wine and talk about our plans for the next day so we wouldn't have to be in our dark room. it was nice to have that option but i would rather have had a window and a nicer room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harbrsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights when i went to Rome this fall. I arrived late at night, the hotel arranged someone to pick me up at Fiumicino airport. When i got to the hotel, staff went out to welcome me and help with the luggage, which is sweet. And he quickly showed me the location of main attractions on map and asked if i need recommendation for dinner. The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood, 10 mins walk from metro station and 15 mins walk to Vatican City, which makes it perfect for sightseeing. The room itself is not big, but its common in Rome. And the shower is good. The only downside will be the breakfast, it is very basic, and everyday is the same, and the boiled eggs come late in the morning, so i misses it twice. And there is no hot water in the daytime.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisainrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We only stayed one night but wht a great location very easy to walk to the Vatican and other places of interest. The hotel has an interesting lift to the rooms ancient but lovely. The rooms clean and tidy and the staff most helpful. Breakfast very good too.Good value all round.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanitacoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 8 nights. On the final day we were asked to leave room for cleaning. I have undergone spinal reconstruction, and use OxyContin tablets. More than 20 blister packs containing medications were stolen from the bed side table by the maid. They were neatly stored behind other personal effects. It took us a few hours to realize the medications were missing. The maid claimed she thought they were rubbish and had thrown them out. A blatent lie! The only bin in the room is in the bathroom. For 6 days she had made no effort to tidy or clean anything in the room, and never even tidied the bedside tables.. She claimed she accidentally threw 20 blister packs of tablets away! We inspected the hotels rubbish, and found some of my tablets but all the morphine tablets were missing. We wasted out last night in room going to a doctor and then several phamacies, only 4 or the 20 drugs were replaced, after a 6 hour ordeal. OxyContin was unable to be replaced, as unavailable in Rome.Management paid for those tablets that were available(£80), but I was left to suffer withdrawal symptoms and the remainder of my holiday was ruined. Hotel did not want to involve police, inspite of my insistence to do so. Perhaps more staff than just the maid were involved in the theft? Blankets and bed covers dirty, when I asked for replacement I was given even more dirty ones.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardclarke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#161 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Prati
Fabio Massimo Design Hotel
Fabio Massimo Design Hotel
#103 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Prati
Cassiodoro
Cassiodoro
#171 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Roma Vaticano
Hotel Roma Vaticano
#245 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Prati
Hotel Arcangelo
Hotel Arcangelo
#442 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Prati
Hotel Giulio Cesare
Hotel Giulio Cesare
#216 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais dei Papi

Property: Hotel Relais dei Papi
Address: 161 Via dei Gracchi | 3rd, 4th and 5th Floor, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#153 Family Hotel in Rome
#205 Business Hotel in Rome
#213 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais dei Papi 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Relais dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Dei Papi Rome
Relais Dei Papi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing