We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Unbeatable location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais dei Papi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Ranked #222 of 1,287 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights when i went to Rome this fall. I arrived late at night, the hotel arranged someone to pick me up at Fiumicino airport. When i got to the hotel, staff went out to welcome me and help with the luggage, which is sweet. And he quickly showed me the location of main attractions on map and asked if i need recommendation for dinner. The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood, 10 mins walk from metro station and 15 mins walk to Vatican City, which makes it perfect for sightseeing. The room itself is not big, but its common in Rome. And the shower is good. The only downside will be the breakfast, it is very basic, and everyday is the same, and the boiled eggs come late in the morning, so i misses it twice. And there is no hot water in the daytime.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisainrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    230
    52
    18
    11
See reviews for
123
254
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We only stayed one night but wht a great location very easy to walk to the Vatican and other places of interest. The hotel has an interesting lift to the rooms ancient but lovely. The rooms clean and tidy and the staff most helpful. Breakfast very good too.Good value all round.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanitacoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 8 nights. On the final day we were asked to leave room for cleaning. I have undergone spinal reconstruction, and use OxyContin tablets. More than 20 blister packs containing medications were stolen from the bed side table by the maid. They were neatly stored behind other personal effects. It took us a few hours to realize the medications were missing. The maid claimed she thought they were rubbish and had thrown them out. A blatent lie! The only bin in the room is in the bathroom. For 6 days she had made no effort to tidy or clean anything in the room, and never even tidied the bedside tables.. She claimed she accidentally threw 20 blister packs of tablets away! We inspected the hotels rubbish, and found some of my tablets but all the morphine tablets were missing. We wasted out last night in room going to a doctor and then several phamacies, only 4 or the 20 drugs were replaced, after a 6 hour ordeal. OxyContin was unable to be replaced, as unavailable in Rome.Management paid for those tablets that were available(£80), but I was left to suffer withdrawal symptoms and the remainder of my holiday was ruined. Hotel did not want to involve police, inspite of my insistence to do so. Perhaps more staff than just the maid were involved in the theft? Blankets and bed covers dirty, when I asked for replacement I was given even more dirty ones.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardclarke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

When we arrived at Relais dei Papi and got shown to our room we were a little bit worried as on our corridor there was a lot of maintenance going on and you could see they tried renovating the 3rd floor too. However we didn't need to worry. We had an absolutely fantastic stay here. The location is great for people who are in Rome to see the Vatikan however not as central to the other sights in Rome as I have wished for. Daniel from reception was extremely helpful with all our million questions. The room was clean and spacious enough. We loved the breakfast even though a bit crammed when busy. We definitely can recommend the hotel for a Vatikan base Rome visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were a party of 7 staying three nights in 3 rooms during peak season in July and not one major complaint from anyone. The newly renovated rooms and breakfast room were just great. The theme maybe a little Asian but the feeling was that you were in a hotel in a cosmopolitan city. The staff couldn't have been any better. I've stayed in Rome several times before and I cannot remember staying in a quieter location. Good restaurants are just everywhere and reasonably priced. The A/C works great but the beds may be a bit hard for some but not for me. Daniel had a driver waiting at the airport for us and made a dinner reservation for our first night. Thank you Daniel. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel with no hesitations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickfr0mNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A hotel in the middle of an apartment block is different from my general experience of hotels. The introduction to Hotel Relais dei Papi is intriguing as one travels to the fourth floor on a lift that is over 100 years old - and that worked quite efficiently while we stayed here. All the staff we met were all very helpful with good English and able to give excellent directions. Each of the rooms is decorated differently making this an interesting hotel to stay in. The hotel is over two floors and the lower floor is newer and much more modern in style and layout. It is within walking distance of all the main tourist sights in Rome, St. Peters, Fountain of Trevi, Spanish Steps, Navona Square, etc. The only slightly negative thing was breakfast, although plenty of food was available for a continental breakfast it lacked fibre, a better choice of cereal would have sorted that out!
All in all to be recommended if your stay in Rome is primarily for sight seeing purposes and a restaurant, bar and other entertainment on site is not a requirement.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, DE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here in the beginning of July for two nights with my partner. The rooms were very, very clean, the beds were comfotable, and best of all, it was air conditioned!!!! The staff was friendly and spoke excellent English. The continental breakfast was delicious, and of course, they had espresso! It was a great location to walk every where...Vatican City, the Collosseum, the Trevi Fountain, etc. We did not take a cab once. It's conveniently located just two blocks off the metro...I can't remember the stop but it was comthing like Octaviano. There is also very quick and easy access to the river path if you like to run. Overall, it was the perfect place to stay and well worth the reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCBNewarkDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#143 of 1,287 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Prati
Cassiodoro
Cassiodoro
#212 of 1,287 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Prati
Hotel Roma Vaticano
Hotel Roma Vaticano
#241 of 1,287 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Sant Angelo
Hotel Sant Angelo
#301 of 1,287 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Monti
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#182 of 1,287 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais dei Papi

Property: Hotel Relais dei Papi
Address: Via Dei Gracchi 161 | 3rd, 4th and 5th Floor, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#153 Family Hotel in Rome
#206 Business Hotel in Rome
#214 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais dei Papi 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Hotel Relais dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Dei Papi Rome
Relais Dei Papi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing