We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Ranked #201 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We only stayed one night but wht a great location very easy to walk to the Vatican and other places of interest. The hotel has an interesting lift to the rooms ancient but lovely. The rooms clean and tidy and the staff most helpful. Breakfast very good too.Good value all round.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanitacoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 644 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 8 nights. On the final day we were asked to leave room for cleaning. I have undergone spinal reconstruction, and use OxyContin tablets. More than 20 blister packs containing medications were stolen from the bed side table by the maid. They were neatly stored behind other personal effects. It took us a few hours to realize the medications were missing. The maid claimed she thought they were rubbish and had thrown them out. A blatent lie! The only bin in the room is in the bathroom. For 6 days she had made no effort to tidy or clean anything in the room, and never even tidied the bedside tables.. She claimed she accidentally threw 20 blister packs of tablets away! We inspected the hotels rubbish, and found some of my tablets but all the morphine tablets were missing. We wasted out last night in room going to a doctor and then several phamacies, only 4 or the 20 drugs were replaced, after a 6 hour ordeal. OxyContin was unable to be replaced, as unavailable in Rome.Management paid for those tablets that were available(£80), but I was left to suffer withdrawal symptoms and the remainder of my holiday was ruined. Hotel did not want to involve police, inspite of my insistence to do so. Perhaps more staff than just the maid were involved in the theft? Blankets and bed covers dirty, when I asked for replacement I was given even more dirty ones.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richardclarke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

When we arrived at Relais dei Papi and got shown to our room we were a little bit worried as on our corridor there was a lot of maintenance going on and you could see they tried renovating the 3rd floor too. However we didn't need to worry. We had an absolutely fantastic stay here. The location is great for people who are in Rome to see the Vatikan however not as central to the other sights in Rome as I have wished for. Daniel from reception was extremely helpful with all our million questions. The room was clean and spacious enough. We loved the breakfast even though a bit crammed when busy. We definitely can recommend the hotel for a Vatikan base Rome visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

A hotel in the middle of an apartment block is different from my general experience of hotels. The introduction to Hotel Relais dei Papi is intriguing as one travels to the fourth floor on a lift that is over 100 years old - and that worked quite efficiently while we stayed here. All the staff we met were all very helpful with good English and able to give excellent directions. Each of the rooms is decorated differently making this an interesting hotel to stay in. The hotel is over two floors and the lower floor is newer and much more modern in style and layout. It is within walking distance of all the main tourist sights in Rome, St. Peters, Fountain of Trevi, Spanish Steps, Navona Square, etc. The only slightly negative thing was breakfast, although plenty of food was available for a continental breakfast it lacked fibre, a better choice of cereal would have sorted that out!
All in all to be recommended if your stay in Rome is primarily for sight seeing purposes and a restaurant, bar and other entertainment on site is not a requirement.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here in the beginning of July for two nights with my partner. The rooms were very, very clean, the beds were comfotable, and best of all, it was air conditioned!!!! The staff was friendly and spoke excellent English. The continental breakfast was delicious, and of course, they had espresso! It was a great location to walk every where...Vatican City, the Collosseum, the Trevi Fountain, etc. We did not take a cab once. It's conveniently located just two blocks off the metro...I can't remember the stop but it was comthing like Octaviano. There is also very quick and easy access to the river path if you like to run. Overall, it was the perfect place to stay and well worth the reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCBNewarkDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Cozy and comfortable. We were greeted by helpful, bi-lingual staff. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Yes, the shower was tight but we had been advised that is typical throughout Europe. We loved the central location and were able to walk everywhere we wished to go. Breakfast afforded an opportunity to interact with other guests and cheerfully start the day. Having been advised by our driver that the best gelato in Rome was a block down the street, we waited in their line to partake each day of our visit. Once home, we watched Anthony Bourdain's No Reservations make the same claim.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank folkways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We were there 3 nights 6 adults, 3 rooms. Some of us styed in old stylished rooms and one couple in the modern stylished. Bathroom was better in the modern one, i.e bigger a lot! Welcome to the hotel was friendly and helpful, rooms ready soon in the late morning. Breakfast room interesting but still working and enough to eat for the beginning of the day.
People working at the hotel were fantastic, anything you needed they organized, any problems, they solved immediately.
Location is so good to Vatican area and others and it is quiet to sleep there in the nights, no noisy nightclubs or no big streets next to hotel.

Room Tip: In the older side of the hotel the bathrooms and shower are very tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anpefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#241 of 1,268 in Rome
598 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#281 of 1,268 in Rome
596 reviews
Prati
Fabio Massimo Design Hotel
Fabio Massimo Design Hotel
#139 of 1,268 in Rome
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#210 of 1,268 in Rome
803 reviews
Prati
Hotel Gerber
Hotel Gerber
#383 of 1,268 in Rome
320 reviews
Prati
Hotel Roma Vaticano
Hotel Roma Vaticano
#351 of 1,268 in Rome
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais dei Papi

Address: Via Dei Gracchi 161 | 3rd, 4th and 5th Floor, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#152 Family Hotel in Rome
#205 Business Hotel in Rome
#212 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $77 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Relais dei Papi 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Relais dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Dei Papi Rome
Relais Dei Papi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing