We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, well located and comfortable, spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Roma Vaticano
Ranked #352 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I would return to the Roma Vaticano in a heartbeat! The room was cosy and spacious, breakfast was delivered to my room every morning on a tray, and the hotel is extremely well located. There's a metro station nearby, but it's also close to the Tiber and most attractions are a 15-30 minute walk away (if you're so inclined). But the attentive service was truly wonderful - the receptionist helped me book and organize a day tour to Tivoli, ordered an early taxi on the day of my departure so that I wouldn't have to worry, and she even left me a few treats so that I wouldn't have to miss my breakfast in the mad rush to the airport. Wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panairda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Roma Vaticano
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 357 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

First of all the location is great, the hotel is easily accessible from the Vatican (less than 10min walk) and the sights in West Rome, and also only about a 20 min walk to the east side of rome (old rome is reachable by foot, the colosseum is too far for a walk). It is located in a upmarket but less touristy area, which gives great access to shopping and some very good Italian restaurants.
Rooms are tiny (way smaller than pictures indicate), but more than adequate for a city trip. The bed was comfortable and everything looked very new. The bathrooms were pristine, with a small but great shower, hair dryer, etc.
Breakfast is brought to your rooms and can be selected from a list daily (croissants, rusks or toast with jam, Nutella and butter), which is quite a lovely experience.
When we first arrived, we were greeted by one of the two ladies running it, who was very friendly and explained the location and sights on a map and gave restaurant suggestions. During the last two days of our stay however, the other reception lady was present who was quite rude at times in terms of providing change for payment, answering questions, which is the reason for the one point missing as this was a put off.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jai8_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

When we first arrived at the hotel we had to make our way to the third floor in a very old elevator, what a ride. Don't over load it with luggage or you won't fit in. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful and readily available for any questions. Our breakfast was veryice and the morning cappaccino great. Although the rooms are quite small, they are very well kept and were very good for the price we paid per night including breakfast. Shopping all around and not far to walk to many of the famous sites. Recommend this hotel for 2-3 night stays.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westy5Ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our five day visit to Rome was enhanced by staying at Hotel Roma Vaticano. Lili and Georgia were wonderful, helpful, fun and interested in helping us make the best of our visit. Our room was the superior room, large, modern, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was served each morning in our room and just right to start our day.
With seven rooms it felt more like a B & B than a hotel. We started early walking,would go back to the hotel mid day, rest and then go out again. The location is easy to get to all the sites by walking. We love to walk. We would stay here again for sure. We also booked the car to to the airport. It was flawless.
There was not fitness center or swimming pool, I made a mistake and can't get the rating off. Everything else was excellent.

Room Tip: Superior room is large and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merry55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Mt wife and i stayed here for 3 nights for our honeymoon, It is in an excellent position, within walking distance of the Vatican and only a few minutes walk to the trains.
The rooms are small but well set out. I had no real issue with anything in the room, apart from a slight smell when we came into our room from a day out, and it being a bit noisy as we were in the pantheon room which is next to reception so you could hear people coming and going and could hear the coffee machine.
But the staff were great and i would stay here again for the location alone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Knowledgeable and friendly staff. Clean and very accomodating to the needs of the clients. Quiet ,safe and accessible to train ,walking tours to different plazas. We will stay here again .
Free Wifi ,TV,security box ,and breakfast. We were able to travel by ourselves via trains,bus to Santo Volto Manopello and Father Pio Shrine, Rotondo with the guidance of its staff, Georgia. All the staff can speak English well and so patient to translate Italian to English to us when we inquired for directions in the map/train/bus schedule. The neighborhood was quiet and safe even at late night.

Room Tip: St Peter is in quiet zone.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManopelloVolto2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Quirky hotel and enjoyed having breakfast in bed every morning. Millie and Georgia were great and very helpful. The room was comfortable and spotless. The location was what really pleased us. It's on a lovely street just off the main shopping area ladies you will be thrilled! Five minute walk from the Vatican City and metro which was easy to access. We would recommend this hotel. Lovely restaurants close by. 3quarto and mama's restaurant were outstanding. Booked the car to take us back to airport it was superb.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank julcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#200 of 1,267 in Rome
642 reviews
Prati
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
Infinity Hotel St. Peter
#270 of 1,267 in Rome
593 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#239 of 1,267 in Rome
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Prati
Hotel Prati
#532 of 1,267 in Rome
230 reviews
Prati
Nautilus Hotel
Nautilus Hotel
#500 of 1,267 in Rome
110 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Consoli
Hotel Dei Consoli
#491 of 1,267 in Rome
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roma Vaticano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma Vaticano

Address: Via Attilio Regolo 19, 00192 Rome, Italy (Formerly San Michele Hotel)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $76 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roma Vaticano 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roma Vaticano is an elegant boutique Hotel located in the centre of Rome, a few steps from the Vatican, from St. Peter’s Square and Piazza del Popolo. Hosted in an historical building in the heart of Prati district, the Hotel Roma Vaticano has just been renovated and is the ideal place for those looking for a comfortable and relaxing stay. Our location will allow you to reach in few minutes all the major monuments and the most beautiful plazas in Rome: St. Peter’s Square and the Vatican, St. Angel’s Castle, Piazza del Popolo, the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Navona Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Roma Vaticano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing