We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor facilities if you are travelling in summer...”
Review of Hotel Marechiaro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Marechiaro
Ranked #950 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a budget hotel located near Rome Termini station. Rooms are ok & clean, but there is no fan or air conditioners in the room, also the room had very little ventilation. AC is available at an extra cost of 10 Euro per night.
Considering Rome can be really hot in peak summer months, so spending a night without a fan or AC is really horrible. Also, you can't keep the window open at night as it is situated in a busy street & it's really noisy.
Also note, the hotel is closed between 1 AM- 6 AM. so, you have to reach the hotel by 1 AM at night.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in peak summer in Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schat02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWSUPPORT, Responsabile reception at Hotel Marechiaro, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013
Google Translation

gentile cliente ringraziamo per la sua email perche' ci da la possibilita' di esprimerci e mostrare quanto meglio la nostra struttura.sono pochissime le camere che non hanno l'aria condizionata e stiamo provvedendo alla risoluzione del problema per tutta la nostra struttura.precisiamo pero' che questo servizio non e' esclusivo per la categoria a cui apparteniamo.ci permettiamo di considerare che le inutili ventole oltre che pericolose e rumorose non risolvono in nessun caso all'abbassamento della temperatura.molti alberghi vi propongono un paliativo oneroso tanto quanto il costo dell'aria condizionata stessa,quindi fate attenzione.la clientela estiva conosce bene il caldo della citta' e propio per questo prenota preventivamente il servizio dell'aria condizionata.ci permettiamo di corregere la sua opinione riguardo ad un costo maggioritario per usufruire al servizio,non e' maggioritario bensi' e' il costo del servizio per un certa tipologia di camera.
la preghiamo di notare che saremmo stati fraudolenti nel caso in cui le avremmo chiesto il costo del servizio non ottenendolo.le nostre migliori offerte sono sempre estese al solo pernottamento lasciando piena liberta' alla clientela di scegliere le opzioni di servizi che la nostra categoria puo' offrire.facciamo notare che gli extra richiesti fanno rimanere comunque i prezzi calmierati rimanendo sempre competitivi.invitiamo la gentile clientela a non vedere solo il prezzo ma a leggere attentamente anche a cosa si prenota poiche' molto spesso con delle piccole differenze si possono avere soggiorni ben piu' gradevoli.ringraziamo nuovamente per averci dato la possibilita' di esprimerci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 243 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hotel is 2 min's walk from Termini station. Near to main sites and quick access through metro or bus. Mc Donalds near by. Small but Clean room for the price. Sheets and towels replaced daily.
Cons:
1. No Air Condition. Its really Hot.
2. Closed between 1.00am to 6.00am. Plan accordingly.
3. leave/collect keys from reception at 1st floor. (I got a room at 3rd floor)
4. You have to pay everything on 1st day.

Room Tip: If you are fine with all cons. This is a good budget hotel at heart of cIty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pramuldeep G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Good location to ancient Rome. The Colosseum is 10 minutes walk, the Termini is 3 minutes. The Hotel is in an old building, lift is operating. The room is dark a bit, basic level, no air condition, in summer take it in consideration! There is no reception from midnight to 6 in the morning. You cannot enter the house gate. The luggage room is 10 euro for leaving the baggages there. Use it, if you want to save time, because at the Termini station there is no left luggage locker, only left luggage office, and the queue is about 30m long. The price is 7-8 euros for 5 hours.
Rome is grate, don't waste any time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy_0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a budget hotel but is excellent value - the rooms are large and clean and the shower was good. It is very close to the central train station thus ideal for a short stopover. The street outside is noisy (which previous reviews had warned us about) but there is nothing the hotel can do about it - you just need to block it out :-)
It is in a central location so would be great value for young travellers (who are not as fussy about hard beds etc), particularly with the option of 3 to a room.
The street outside is buzzing with restaurants and market stalls during the day, but feels a bit unsavoury at night - just be sure to lock your room well and keep valuables close to hand.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DKFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Last week (2nd week of April 2012), we've spend three days in this ** hotel. After reading the reviews on this page we were a bit worried about a lot of things. It even made me have doubts about if I wanted to stay here and not just go to a different place.

On arrival there were two very nice English man. No their Englsh wasn't the best but they were very friendly and helpfull. After signing us into the big book they explained us the 'houserules'. We've been reading about these in the reviews as well.

- Leaving roomkey when leaving the hotel
- Receptiondesk closed from 1 - 6. Which means you have to be back in the hotel before 1 or stay out untill 6.
- Breakfast is 5 euro per person per day
- Lugageroom 10 euro per room

When you know these things in advance.... No problem at all. (at least not for us)

We were assigned to a room on the third floor. We took the stairs because the elevator is a bit shabby. (actually I'm just a easilly scared person ;-))
After arriving in our room, we were happily surprised. The room was pretty big and looked clean. We got a double bed, closet and our own bathroom with toilet, shower etc.
It overlooked the streetside and therefor it was a noisy room.

So. If you're looking for a cheap hotel, close to the trainstation (50m), shops and restaurant and about a 20min. walk to the old Rome.... This is the right place. Rome is a busy place with many many tourists. Even an expansive hotel will be noisy.

For the two stars and cheap price this is a lovely place to stay!

To reply to the things I've been reading here:
- we didn't leave any of our money/passport etc in our room and just took it with us. So no robbery here
- yes, the station area is pretty dodgy but I didn't feel unsafe for a second because of all the tourists (so no worries there)
- the beds are really just fine! Clean, big, and no noise (at least not in our room)
- the bathroom was fine and since it was in our room it was clean but just fine. (no smelly pipes)
- no unfriendly staff. Just be nice to them and they'll be nice to you!

Just.... enjoy Rome. Don't expact a 300 euro room and you'll be happily surprised!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vanya2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

this hotel is OK, if you are staying for 1 nights or 2. very very close to the train station. plenty of bars and shops around. cleanliness is acceptable, but bathroom very small, and a bit smelly due to pipes. beds are very unconfortable, and very noisy. however, for the price we payed (40 EUR night) was more than OK.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

it was hotel policy that keys are handed into reception before you went out so we always did so that the cleaner could clean the room, I had left our money in the suit case for safety in the room and we went out for our day trip. When we had come back it was all gone we went down to reception to rport this as they had they key all day, the Manager dismissed me and told me that this sort of thing does not happen in our hotel, I explained that it had done and asked how he could help me again he told me that this had not happened and to go away, I told the manager that I was going to call the police he said as you have not declared anything valuble in the room to me the police cannot do anything, so we went out of the hotel to go to the police station and the Manager followed us shouting abuse to us this left us feeling so uncomftable

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Raychel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#905 of 1,270 in Rome
115 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Everest Roma
Hotel Everest Roma
#455 of 1,270 in Rome
184 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago
#867 of 1,270 in Rome
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Bergamo
Hotel Bergamo
#1,016 of 1,270 in Rome
166 reviews
Radio Hotel
#980 of 1,270 in Rome
47 reviews
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#441 of 1,270 in Rome
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marechiaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marechiaro

Address: Via Gioberti 30, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #950 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $46 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Marechiaro 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MARECHIARO is a two stars superior category-hotel. It is located in a Twentieth century Umbertino style palace between Santa Maria Maggiore Basilica and is close to Termini Station (30 meters walking). You can reach the main city monuments in few minutes walks. Buses and Metro are available at any direction.The atmosphere of the house is peaceful. The 'family' management has been offering stays for pilgrims, tourists, families,groups of adults and students... for more than 60 years. The Hotel is clean, safe, modern and comfortable and is ideal for short stays in the Capital. We are able to give to our guests special services for their Roman holidays. We shall be glad to welcome small pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Marechiaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marechiaro Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing