We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, too many rules”
Review of Hotel Katty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Katty
Ranked #558 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location, too many rules”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights, I selected this place is because it's closed to Termini station. It only took us 10mins to arrive it.
Unfortunately, I didn't check trip advisor before I booked it. As said by other reviewer in below, there is a timer of bathroom and bed room lights. Personally, it's quite scaring in a strange environment, and the light turn off suddenly when you are having shower. Luckily, my husband turned on it again.
Another thing, this hotel does allow washing cloths, it's not convenient for me. Again, if I know it when I booked the hotel, I will take it in consideration.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oystermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katty035, Proprietario at Hotel Katty, responded to this review, December 11, 2015
We are sorry, but the rule about clothes washing is because people sometimes use the room as a laundry! And we find that they wash everything: t-shirt, jeans etc.., not simply underwear or a pair of socks (for example). If all the customers make so, there can be a problem of water in the hotel.
If the customer want to wash more things, he/she can go in a laundry in the same street and it has good prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    106
    29
    19
    3
See reviews for
61
83
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The room was really clean. It was a 5-7 minutes walk to the Termini station. They give you a voucher for breakfast in a nearby cafe. A cake and coffee, so it might not be really filling. The area is safe. And you can get a hair dryer for no additional cost if you ask. We were able to leave the luggage in the lobby the day of checkout, so that was good. It's good value for money. I will definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vinaya6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel has a perfect location. its 10 min walk from the Termini and if you book the corner room ion the top floor you get a good view. I requested the corner room (based on a review from a previous traveller) and I appreciate the hotel staff respected my choice and booked me in that room. Room 111 is ideal.
Overall a decent place.

Room Tip: Choose room 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DesiinEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

stayed in this hotel for 1 night . very close to the train station. don't be put off by the front entrance. quite a few stairs to go up .there is a lift but its very small so once luggage in not a lot of room. .very quiet hotel considering location.perfectly adequate for over night stay,probably wouldn't stay much longer.very clean.air con did keep making a noise so if staying longer would have complained.good price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

+ Location near Termini Station (metro, train, bus, shopping)
+Few great restaurants near by, Mamma Angela's and La Romana Gelateria.
+Cheap (but you get what you pay for)
+Clean

+/- Friedly staff, but with poor english.
+/- Great cappuccino at the breakfast, but terrible buns.

-Dark room, just two bedside lights and a small light on the wall.
-Small toilet/Shower, poor water pressure.
-Weird lock in the door.
-Unpractical interior

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liliaada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel covers basic needs, you probably won't find better at that price.
The best thing about it is its central location with bus, train, metro, & cafes within easy walking distance. The Dragon lady at the front desk can be a bit grumpy but since she has been there for 45 years, it is excusable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is nice, without anything too flash. The room was comfortable and clean, if a little bit small for the two of us. In regards to the location, it was very close to Termini Station in Rome, so we could get to where we needed without a lot of fuss. There were also some great restaurants and cafes very close to the hotel, which was convenient. A criticism was the size of the bathroom, which was very small. All in all, though, a very affordable and confortable place for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#461 of 1,263 in Rome
292 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#231 of 1,263 in Rome
657 reviews
Esquilino
XX Settembre
XX Settembre
#211 of 1,263 in Rome
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Il Papavero
Hotel Il Papavero
#982 of 1,263 in Rome
367 reviews
Esquilino
Corona Hotel
Corona Hotel
#381 of 1,263 in Rome
735 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#366 of 1,263 in Rome
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Katty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katty

Property: Hotel Katty
Address: Via Palestro, 35, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#90 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#173 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Katty 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Katty, 1 star, located downtown Rome just a few steps from Termini Station, is an hotel offering a comfortable and clean ambience, with reasonable prices and in an ideal location for exploring the Eternal City. The services offered by the Hotel Katty include reception open from h. 8.00 a.m. to h. 11.00 p.m., with autonomous management of room keys; free Wi-Fi connection in rooms and in common areas; free baggage storage; a basic italian breakfast, included in the price of room, in a new and cozy cafeteria located in front of the hotel(on request it's possible to have a complete american breakfast with an extra of euros 7,00 per person per day); and a very friendly staff at complete disposal for any kind of request or need to make holidays in Rome unforgettable. The shuttle service from and to the airport is available upon request. Near the hotel you can find also private parking, laundromat, internet point, cafeterias, restaurants, supermarkets and banks. From the hotel you can easily reach the main attractions, as Piazza della Repubblica, the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, the Colosseum, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Villa Borghese and the famous shopping streets of the Capital. Nearby there are several embassies and consulates, the Hospital Policlinico Umberto I, the La Sapienza University and the National Library. Hotel Katty offers 18 comfortable and bright rooms, recently renovated, with simple and homely atmosphere. There are several room sizes which can accommodate from 1 to 5 people, meeting needs of anyone who comes in Rome alone, for study or work purposes, as couple, for a romantic weekend, as a group, for a stay with friends/family. All the rooms have their own private bathroom with shower, air conditioning, TV LCD, minirefrigeretor and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Katty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katty Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing