We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just basics, or even not that”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Katty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Katty
Ranked #503 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Lahti
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just basics, or even not that”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

+ Location near Termini Station (metro, train, bus, shopping)
+Few great restaurants near by, Mamma Angela's and La Romana Gelateria.
+Cheap (but you get what you pay for)
+Clean

+/- Friedly staff, but with poor english.
+/- Great cappuccino at the breakfast, but terrible buns.

-Dark room, just two bedside lights and a small light on the wall.
-Small toilet/Shower, poor water pressure.
-Weird lock in the door.
-Unpractical interior

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liliaada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    105
    29
    18
    2
See reviews for
61
81
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel covers basic needs, you probably won't find better at that price.
The best thing about it is its central location with bus, train, metro, & cafes within easy walking distance. The Dragon lady at the front desk can be a bit grumpy but since she has been there for 45 years, it is excusable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritazell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is nice, without anything too flash. The room was comfortable and clean, if a little bit small for the two of us. In regards to the location, it was very close to Termini Station in Rome, so we could get to where we needed without a lot of fuss. There were also some great restaurants and cafes very close to the hotel, which was convenient. A criticism was the size of the bathroom, which was very small. All in all, though, a very affordable and confortable place for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of the Termini and is clean and convenient to stay in. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the breakfast voucher for a coffee and cappucino while not the best we've had in Italy, was certainly adequate. I would definitely stay again at this hotel if I visit Rome in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Hotel Katty is a nice, well-located hotel. It is walking distance to the train station and bus lines. The room was simple but adequate. There is an elevator, which was important for me as I can't manage stairs very well. The only problem with the elevator is the people that don't follow the directions to close the two sets of doors and sometimes my daughter had to go find it. If I was alone that would have been really hard on me as our room was on the 5th floor! The shower was not easy to mange between the wild nozzle spray and bad drainage. The room was clean enough, but noticed it was not really done well each day and they did not leave enough toilet paper. I was disappointed that the breakfast was off-site but ended up enjoying the morning walk and sitting outside to enjoy cappaccino and brioche each morning. Overall the hotel is fine for the price. We stayed 5 nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The people at the hotel were incredibly nice and helpful. They really were amazingly nice and honest. It's close to the train and the metro, which is nice, but it took us a while to find the entrance. I was traveling as a mother and son, and I was uncomfortable arriving and leaving on our own, since the hotel is on the 4th floor, and you have to wait in a dark, secluded corridor to catch the lift.

Room Tip: There aren't many rooms. They all seemed fine. Free wifi is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamiePKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Hotel Katty is an unscrupulously managed inhospitable lodging preying on unsuspecting travelers lured by its fair location. From timed lights and lack of hot water to outsourced breakfast, plenty of evidences suggest that the whole operation is a thinly-veiled attempt to maximize profit with minimum effort at the expense of guests.

This hotel is located about 700m from Stazione di Roma Termini (main train station, main bus hub, as well as the sole Metro station serving both line A and B) and 300m from Metro line B Castro Pretorio station. Thus it is well suited for sightseeing. The neighborhood is not as scruffy as some other areas near Termini, and 15 minutes of walk leads to the upscale Via Veneto and Villa Borghese.

The hotel itself occupies the fourth and fifth floors of a building. A small antiquated elevator is present, which has an inner door and an outer door. Both doors must be manually closed to activate the elevator, and the hotel staffs have a condescending way of warning new guests of this inconvenience. Our room was not too small and, at first glance, fairly clean. The toilet, however, had some unmentionable things stuck on the cover, such that we ended up scrubbing it ourselves. One distinct aspect of this hotel is the timed lighting system; both room light and bathroom light have timers. The lights will go out while taking a shower or just chatting in the room at night. Another, even more egregious aspect is hot water control; it shuts down at certain times. Many Italian hotels have trouble maintaining stable supply of hot water, but here it is not a matter of fluctuating or gradually weakening temperature. Water simply suddenly goes cold, very cold, only to return hours later. Seeing how the lights are timed, we can only suspect that this is a purposely-designed scheme to minimize expense by cutting off hot water at peak-usage times. Its powerful impact on unwary victims is exacerbated by the absence of hair dryer.

The three hostesses we met were all unsmiling, obtuse, and mechanical. At check-out, upon handing us our receipt, the lady never bothered to look at us or say farewell. What audacity they have to put a sign on the front desk, asking for good reviews on TripAdvisor. We can only wonder how they manage to lift ratings at various hotel review sites.

The last straw was the outsourced breakfast. It is served at Bar Montebello, about 150m away from the hotel. The stingy allowance of one piece of bread and one drink per person (you pay any extra) is eclipsed by the obnoxious barkeep. Upon first seeing us among the line of people waiting to get their meal, he made gestures to wait. When our eyes met again, he started grumbling out loud on how he has lots to do because he works alone and so forth. When we finally obtained our breads and started eating at the bar (the tables were full), he suddenly barked at us to move to a newly-vacated table, with used dishes and leftovers piled up on it, still grumbling about his work. We felt more like beggars at a charity food project than hotel guests.

Hotel Katty is an uninhabitable piece of real estate run by unscrupulous management that would rival the Thérnardiers of Les Misérables. It supposedly belongs to hospitality industry, yet it is inhospitable and the people not industrious. It is pretentious in the sense that it advertises as offering a range of services (e.g. breakfast) while keeping not even a bare minimum that fits the description. Over the years of our travels, we encountered many disappointing hotels. But Hotel Katty did not merely disappoint us; it disgusted us. This is the first time we rate a lodging with one point, which is one too many. It is worth zero point.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dessertmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katty035, Proprietario at Hotel Katty, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
This comment is a totally unjustified attack to our facility and staff. The extreme hardness of the words used, and the fact that such complains were never shared at reception during your stay, arouse in us suspicions about their authenticity.
Our staff is young, friendly and always ready to help our clients for every need.
The hotel, as indicated, occupies the 4° and 5° floor of a historical building and the elevator, fully renovated, does not permit the installation of automatic doors. We don't understand what the problem is here!!
With respect to hot water: hot water is always available since customers may arrive into the rooms at any time of day or night. And we have never had complaints; sometimes a disservice might occur, but we are fully committed to promptly fix the issue.
With respect to rooms cleaning: this is done every day. Rare failures have been reported by few of our customers and, without any problem, we warned the cleaning staff and repeated the cleaning. As you can see from the other reviews, cleanliness is one of our strengths. Each guest room has a shower towel and a smaller one; the change those happens every 2-3 days (or more frequently if needed).
With respect to the lights: they are timed only to avoid remaining inadvertently turned on when customers leave rooms; nevertheless, they can be turned back on whenever the customer wants. Let us add that this is the first client ever, in many years of work, that complains about the timing of the lights.
With respect to the breakfast: considering that this is a 1 star hotel (which has no obligation for the Italian laws to offer the breakfast facilities), however this is served in a cafeteria 3 minutes walking far from the hotel; except for a few special cases in which customers did not appreciate this at best, there are no serious complaints received so far.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#178 of 1,291 in Rome
1,008 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#248 of 1,291 in Rome
620 reviews
Trevi
Hotel Azzurra
Hotel Azzurra
#460 of 1,291 in Rome
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel il Papavero
Hotel il Papavero
#973 of 1,291 in Rome
357 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#438 of 1,291 in Rome
283 reviews
Hotel Castle
#161 of 1,291 in Rome
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Katty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Katty

Property: Hotel Katty
Address: Via Palestro, 35, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#99 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#173 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Katty 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Katty, 1 star, located downtown Rome just a few steps from Termini Station, is an hotel offering a comfortable and clean ambience, with reasonable prices and in an ideal location for exploring the Eternal City. The services offered by the Hotel Katty include reception open from h. 8.00 a.m. to h. 11.00 p.m., with autonomous management of room keys; free Wi-Fi connection in rooms and in common areas; free baggage storage; a basic italian breakfast, included in the price of room, in a new and cozy cafeteria located in front of the hotel(on request it's possible to have a complete american breakfast with an extra of euros 7,00 per person per day); and a very friendly staff at complete disposal for any kind of request or need to make holidays in Rome unforgettable. The shuttle service from and to the airport is available upon request. Near the hotel you can find also private parking, laundromat, internet point, cafeterias, restaurants, supermarkets and banks. From the hotel you can easily reach the main attractions, as Piazza della Repubblica, the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, the Colosseum, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Villa Borghese and the famous shopping streets of the Capital. Nearby there are several embassies and consulates, the Hospital Policlinico Umberto I, the La Sapienza University and the National Library. Hotel Katty offers 18 comfortable and bright rooms, recently renovated, with simple and homely atmosphere. There are several room sizes which can accommodate from 1 to 5 people, meeting needs of anyone who comes in Rome alone, for study or work purposes, as couple, for a romantic weekend, as a group, for a stay with friends/family. All the rooms have their own private bathroom with shower, air conditioning, TV LCD, minirefrigeretor and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Katty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katty Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing