We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kleines, sauberes Hotel in guter Lage; Small, clean hotel in good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ivanhoe

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Ivanhoe
Ranked #243 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Flensburg, Germany
1 review
“Kleines, sauberes Hotel in guter Lage; Small, clean hotel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Das Hotel Ivanhoe hat ein tolle Lage, nur 5 Gehminuten entfernt vom Collosseum. Zur U-Bahnstation Cavour sind es ca. 150 m, zum Termini 10 Gehminuten. Man kann vom Ht. Ivanhoe aus Rom zu Fuß kennenlernen.
Das Hotel ist ziemlich klein. Auch die Zimmer sind klein, aber völlig ausreichend für uns. Alles funktioniert und die Zimmer sind wirklich sauber. Es gibt nur 3 Fernsehsender, alle italienisch. Ein englischer oder deutscher Sender wäre schön, aber man kommt ja nicht nach Rom um Fern zu sehen. Dafür gibt es gratis WiFi, wir hatten das Netbook mit und konnten so die Nachrichten verfolgen.
Das Frühstücksbuffett ist für ital. Verhältnisse sehr groß. Es gibt Muffins, Donuts, jeden Tag einen anderen Kuchen, ital. Brot (sehr lecker), Brötchen, Croissants, Pumpernickel und Ceralien. Auch Wurst, Käse, Schinken, Marmelade, Honig und frisches Obst ist da. Zusätzlich kann man in der Küche ver. Kaffeespezialitäten, Rührei oder Spiegelei bestellen. Der "Saft" war nicht gut, so ein seltsames Pulverzeug, aber es gibt wichtigeres. Der Kaffee ist sehr gut!
Das Personal ist super nett, bei Fragen und Problemen sehr hilfsbereit. Alle sprechen Englisch, so dass man sich Verständigen kann.
Rund ums Hotel gibt es gute Gelaterias (z.B. Fatamorgana), tolle Bars, Restaurants und Pizzerias (La Boccaccina). Es gibt einige Einkaufsmöglichkeiten in direkter Nähe, die Geschäfte sind keine Ketten und es macht wirklich Spaß, endlich mal was anderes zu sehen.
Wir würden jederzeit wieder dort übernachten
google translation: The Hotel Ivanhoe has a great location, just a 5- minute walk from the Colosseum . To Cavour Metro Station is 150 meters away and 10 minutes to Termini . One can of Ht . Ivanhoe from Rome to meet on foot.The hotel is quite small. The rooms are small but perfectly adequate for us. Everything works and the rooms are really clean. There are only three television networks, all Italian. An English or German stations would be nice , but you do not come to Rome to see remote . There is free wifi, we had with the netbook , and were able to watch the news .The breakfast buffet is very large for Italian conditions . There are muffins , donuts, every day a different cake , Italian bread ( very tasty ), bread , croissants, pumpernickel and Ceralien . Also, sausage, cheese, ham , jam, honey and fresh fruit is there. In addition, you can order in the kitchen ver coffee specialties, fried or scrambled . The "juice" was not good, so a strange powder stuff, but there are more important things . The coffee is very good!The staff is super nice, very helpful with questions and problems. They all speak English, so that you can intelligence.Around the hotel there are good ice-cream parlors (eg Fata Morgana ) , great bars , restaurants and pizzerias (La Boccaccina ) . There are some shops nearby , the shops are no chains and it's really fun to finally see something different .We would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank heimbraumeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments concerning your recent stay with us.

Please make sure I will share your words with my team, and also be assured I took note of the things we need to work on.

Hoping we will welcome you again, arrivederci La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    286
    77
    13
    11
See reviews for
66
295
55
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a very nice, simple hotel in the perfect location for exploring Rome. It is a minutes walk away from Via Cavour metro station which can get you to any of the main sights in the city. Although we got the metro one stop to the collosseum, we realized at the end of our trip, after taking a short walk around the area, that the hotel is actually in walking ditance to this historic attraction. the hotel is located down some side streets off the main road. It was tricky to find at first but luckily I learnt how to ask for directions in Italian before going on the trip! There are many boutique, souvinier and newsagent type shops in the local vicinity. The restaurants close by a much nicer and less costly than those near to attractions or the main streets.
On arrival at the hotel we were checked in (earlier than the listed check in time, BONUS) and given our room card. We were given a tourist map to Rome which proved to be VERY helpful. Most things are within walking distance of the metro stops so we used the map as a street guide (we saw many other people using them around rome too!). The reception staff were very friendly and helpful although a couple of them seemed quite serious at first.
The room itself was a small double. There was enough room to walk around the bed. We had a wardrobe and bedside table each and a desk with television and minibar at the end of the bed. there were a couple of fittings in the room that were broken or didnt work (e.g my bedside lamp) but these were inconsequential. The TV had many channels, all in Italian, but we rarely had it on anyway because, well, we were in Rome!
Now for the bathroom. Everything was very clean, fresh towels daily and hotel toiletries. The shower is VERY small but my boyfriend, at well over 6ft and largely built being a hockey player, managed to have a few showers during our 3 night stay. It was more comical than an issue!
Breakfast is continental but you can order scrambled egg with ham or cheese as well. They also make you fresh coffee/cappucino or hot chocolate which was lovely. I ate quite a few of their jam tart cookie things!
Overall the hotel is clean, comfortable, in a fantastic location and ideal for a short trip. It is very affordable and as long as youre not one of these people who spends all their time in the hotel on holiday then you will be fine staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Catherine,

You are so kind to leave this feedback and share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are working very hard to ensure that all of our valued guests are completely satisfied and I am glad to know that you really enjoyed your time here and that you will come back home with pleasant memories, especially from the breakfast and the location! and funny ones from the shower!!
Rest assured that I have shared your encouraging words with my team

Looking forward to your next visit.

Arrivederci, La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a lovely hotel located just one minute walk away from the metro station (Cavour) and within walking distance (15-20 mins) from all the Rome tourist hotspots. It is located in an area called Monti which is beautiful and full of independent restaurants, cafes, bars and boutique shops full of locals.

The room was small compared to other double rooms in Europe, however, the hotel staff were absolutely wonderful; very warm, always smiling and willing to help with any request. Their friendliness easily made up for the 'cosy' accommodation and small bathroom. Free TV, wifi and breakfast all make the stay very satisfying. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shivang_Patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Shivang,

Thank you for sharing your kind words.

It was such a pleasure to have you at the Ivanhoe, we hope to welcome you soon in Rome.

Arrivederci, La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Ivanhoe for four nights in early October, this was our seventh visit to Rome and one of our favorites even though it was the shortest. Our flight from Boston arrived at 7 in the morning and after we went through Passport Control and picked up our bags we found our driver the hotel had arraigned for us waiting just out side the gate. we were at the hotel well before 10 and they were nice enough to get a room prepared early for us, by the time we got back from getting a coffee and snack the room was ready, even though check in isn't until 1.
Our room was on an upper floor and away from the elevator, very quiet and comfortable, the bath as everyone says is small but we expected it and it wasn't a problem.
The staff were great, from the young woman who checked us in early to Danny who made reservations for us and the man that works nights who was very funny and extremely knowledgeable of the area.
We liked tis hotel so much we just booked a 7 night stay there for early March of this year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Jeffrey,

What can I say beyond thank you so much! We so look forward to welcome you again really soon.

A presto, La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Nice hotel with good location. Many good restaurants nearby and close to metro. Service was very helpful and nice. Everything was very clean. The room was very small. Breakfast was good, although there were not too much fresh fruits or vegetables.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jukkis_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

Your words are so important to us to keep improving and maintaining
the quality you deserve.

I hope we will have soon the chance to welcome you at the Ivanhoe.

Arrivederci, La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Nice hotel, friendly staff! For that price quite good location and service. Breakfast was quite poor, but still it was ok. The best part of the hotel is location and staff, all of them were genuinely friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Anna,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and rest assured I shared your words with my team.

We hope to welcome you soon in Rome with a warm improved breakfast.

Arrivederci, La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

After reading other reviews, we had expectations of small rooms and tiny showers. Yes, the rooms are small and the showers are tiny, even by European standards, and the bedspreads and pillows could use some updating, but the location and the staff make up for these shortcomings. Everyone we interacted with at the desk was pleasant, offering us directions or yummy restaurant recommendations. The Monti neighborhood is delightful, with a great deal of character and lots of wonderful eating, drinking, and shopping options. The hotel is also close to many of the main tourist sights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank US2EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanoDePropris, Proprietario at Hotel Ivanhoe, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

I am thrilled you enjoyed your holiday in Rome and your stay at the Ivanhoe.

My young team work with passion and your words make them want to keep growing.

We are also working on updating the rooms…so I really hope you will visit us soon again so we can show you the improvement.

Arrivederci, La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#218 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#340 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#76 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#92 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#105 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Monti
Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel
#95 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ivanhoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivanhoe

Property: Hotel Ivanhoe
Address: Via Dei Ciancaleoni 49 | Via Urbana 92a, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in Rome
#193 Family Hotel in Rome
#266 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ivanhoe 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ivanhoe Rome is a cosy and comfortable 3 star hotel where travelers will find all the amenities they require at great prices as well as elegant and genuinely good quality internal design, modern fixtures and home comforts – all in a great location in an old Roman neighbourhood in the city centre.The hotel is a short walk from the Colosseum and the Imperial Forums and few steps from the metro that will take you to the remaining sites easily reached using the city’s public transport system.Located in Monti, Rome’s first district, full of hidden surprises and without a doubt, the “most Roman”. It is a gathering spot for budding artists, where traditional shops are flanked by neo-designer shops, vintage boutiques and organic markets. The 24 guest rooms are fitted with telephone and free Wi-Fi Internet, air-conditioning, minibars and cable TV, focusing on quiet and comfort rather than gadgetry. Guest services are often attended to by 24 h hotel staff. We focus on the guest and on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting.Privilege reserved for our guests is the use of the rooftop terrace where you can relax before dinner while enjoying the wonderful view and a tasty aperitif or where to start your day with a delicious breakfast when the weather permits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Ivanhoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivanhoe Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing