We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!”
Review of Hotel Ivanhoe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ivanhoe
Ranked #265 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Mountsorrel, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just got back from four nights B&B at The Invanhoe, Luckily I read previous reviews so before I entered the room I knew it was going to be small, which was not a problem for the price, shower room small also not a problem even though you have to run the shower for at least 10 mins before getting in!! We were in room 12 and the only problem we had was that the heating did not work so it was freezing ! We did mention on several occasions but it was not sorted so we just had more cuddles than normal after all we were in Rome :-) overall the hotel is in a great location and we walked everywhere by foot! The highlight for me was the finding all the little squares with lots of coffee shops and eateries especially the square with the pantheon, truly amazing

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjk869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    301
    81
    14
    11
See reviews for
70
309
59
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Exceptionally friendly staff. Very welcoming,
Good breakfast selection.
Rooms small, shower room even smaller, but exceptionally clean. Comfy beds.
lots of cafes, restaurants nearby.
Easy walking distance to Colliseum, The Forum,, tube station etc.
Just a great location for the sights.
Dont go in February cos I want to go back next year and you might take my room.!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigjohnw53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in the centre of Rome. 10 Mins walk from Termini Station, and 2 Mins walk to Cavour Metro Line. Most major sights are within walking distance, and the Hotel is surrounded by restaurants and shops

The room was clean and neat, albeit a bit on the small side, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The walls are a bit thin, so if you plan on having a quiet getaway, hope for quiet neighbors. One downside that must be noted is the comically small shower. As a medium-built South African (Which translates to "Giant Italian") I had a lot of trouble moving around in the shower.

The breakfast is great and offers a bit more than the standard Italian breakfast (Bread, Bread, Bread). There is also a beautiful roof terrace which provides a Panoramic view of the surrounding area.

The Coffee shop directly adjacent to the hotel serves the best coffee I've ever tasted. I would definitely stay in this hotel on future trips to Rome

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a 3 day city break and chose this after reviewing on Trip Advisor. The room was small but extremely clean and the friendly nature of the staff was second to none. Pictures on this site really do reflect the rooms very well, although I was genuinely surprised at house comfortable the bed was. The hotel is in a great location in a quaint street away from the main thoroughfares, which meant we weren't disturbed by traffic noise.
It's just a short walk to the colosseum from here, and it's very easy to get around. We walked everywhere, but if you prefer the metro is just a couple of minutes from the hotel. I found this place delightful, and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nchllsnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Location is excellent, 5 minutes walk to the Colusseum, 10 minutes to the Termini train station, 1 minute to the Metro (athough you won't need the metro, most things apart from the Vatican can be walked to in 20 minutes). Plenty of resteraunts close by.

Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. We were given a map by the receptionist when we arrived and she told us the best places to eat, see and how to get to them.

We stayed in a double room for 4 nights. The rooms are on the small side, but very clean and well maintained, as is the whole hotel. It is situated on a backstreet, so noise from outside is minimal. Buffet breakfast was good, continental style, but all fresh food.

Only negative would be the shower in the room, it was a small bath (too small to use as a bath) with a shower unit over it. It would have been easier to use if it was a cubical (i am being picky by putting this).

I would definatly recommend to my friends, and will stay there again when i revisit Rome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tvr_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good value for money and great central location close to monumental sites. Plenty of good restaurants close by. Small hotel where the staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are very clean if a little on the small side. Good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyrrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The good experience started when I first got in touch with them, my million questions were answered kindly and in a perfect English and that made me feel so good since we were traveling to Rome for the first time.
When we got there we found exactly the kindness and smiles that came through the emails, and again, we felt so comfortable.
The location, the cleanliness, the good breakfast were perfect match to a warm and professional atmosphere.
We will be back and we will tell family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gems2011London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#95 of 1,259 in Rome
847 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#98 of 1,259 in Rome
278 reviews
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#253 of 1,259 in Rome
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#330 of 1,259 in Rome
411 reviews
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#359 of 1,259 in Rome
566 reviews
Monti
Hotel De Monti
Hotel De Monti
#79 of 1,259 in Rome
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ivanhoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ivanhoe

Property: Hotel Ivanhoe
Address: Via Dei Ciancaleoni 49 | Via Urbana 92a, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in Rome
#193 Family Hotel in Rome
#266 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ivanhoe 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ivanhoe Rome is a cosy and comfortable 3 star hotel where travelers will find all the amenities they require at great prices as well as elegant and genuinely good quality internal design, modern fixtures and home comforts – all in a great location in an old Roman neighbourhood in the city centre.The hotel is a short walk from the Colosseum and the Imperial Forums and few steps from the metro that will take you to the remaining sites easily reached using the city’s public transport system.Located in Monti, Rome’s first district, full of hidden surprises and without a doubt, the “most Roman”. It is a gathering spot for budding artists, where traditional shops are flanked by neo-designer shops, vintage boutiques and organic markets. The 24 guest rooms are fitted with telephone and free Wi-Fi Internet, air-conditioning, minibars and cable TV, focusing on quiet and comfort rather than gadgetry. Guest services are often attended to by 24 h hotel staff. We focus on the guest and on offering our services in a comfortable, intimate, and welcoming setting.Privilege reserved for our guests is the use of the rooftop terrace where you can relax before dinner while enjoying the wonderful view and a tasty aperitif or where to start your day with a delicious breakfast when the weather permits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ivanhoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivanhoe Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing