We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location for families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Valdese

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Casa Valdese
Ranked #529 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great for my 7 yr old son. Quiet tree lined street minutes from metro line. Very close to villa Borghese park and Piazza Popolo--great for children. We rented bikes every day at park.

Staff at hotel very helpful and kind. Everyone spoke English. Room perfect for a clean, nice place to lay your head at night. Basic, but all you need, Rome is right outside door.

Breakfast excellent way to start day-- 7:30am. And included. Tip children under 10 don't need metro ticket, and children stay discounted. Mention Rick Steve's book.

Room Tip: Main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    49
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
26
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. It was a great choice. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, and service was first class. But the best part was the location. We walked everywhere, and we also enjoyed the neighborhood, beautiful place. The people working were very kind and very helpful. It was a great experience and although the rooms were not fancy and the hotel didn't have any ammenities, it was perfect for a family needing a comfortable bed, a spotlessly clean room and bathroom and a delicious breakfast to start the day in amazing Rome. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnitaPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very clean, relaxed setting; excellent staff overall (friendly and efficient); outstanding buffet breakfast
Two female (brunette) clerks were not friendly; suspect some American resentment. Note: Blond host was excellent.
Hotel is frequented by many German tourists.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have used this hotel twice for groups, and stayed there once prior. Casa Valdese is nestled in a quiet neighborhood. It has easy access to the sites, restaurants, stores and the subway. It is not fancy, but it is clean, and breakfast is included. They will also provide dinner for a group if they know ahead of time. The price for dinner is a little pricey compared to other places near by. The office staff is pleasant and helpful. Make note that the office closes at 11:00 pm, so you need to make sure someone with you on the inside knows to open the front door to let you in after that. Good for groups or travelers on a budget without it feeling like a hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We booked our stay here during Christmas 2011 based on Rick Steves' recommendation in his Rome guidebook. It's just the sweetest little hotel! Each morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast with fresh, homemade pastries and hard boiled eggs and the best coffee ever!!! Our room was maybe a bit insitutional but very large and the bathroom was huge! The staff was so friendly and always available. The proximity to the Vatican was a bonus and the main reason we booked the hotel. I love the area!!! Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sara and Hank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siauliai, Lithuania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel is very small. I find it at a very confortable place in Rome: 20 min by walking to Vatican, 2-5 min. to closest metro station "Lepanto".
When leaving you have to pay 2 EUR per day for kind of voluntary city fee.
Smokers are alowed to smoke only outdoors, there is one ashtry per hotel :).
Breakfast included that means very poor continental, but have in mind I'm not complaining the location is wonderful and the rest fakes away.
Very clouse there are food, clothes shops.

Room Tip: I stayed for 3 nights so they didn't change the towels and didn't fill in the lack of shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Egle_Lithuania_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

It was the 8th time that our group of friends (this year 39 persons) spent Epiphany time in Rome staying at Casa Valdese, Via Alessandro Farnese 18 (Prati). We enjoyed the rich breakfast and the good dinner (19.30 o'clock) every day. And the staff is so friendly. We've really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The street is quiet, so no need for any trips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kyllikkielina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Gerber
Hotel Gerber
#398 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Esquilino
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
#343 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Prati
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#108 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#371 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Prati
The B Place
The B Place
#553 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Valdese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Valdese

Property: Casa Valdese
Address: Via Alessandro Farnese 18, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #529 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Valdese 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa Valdese RomeHotel Casa Valdese is located at the center of the city in the district of Prati. The hotel is located a few blocks from the Vatican, in one of the most fascinating areas of the capital, in a quiet and peaceful area.It is very close to major tourist attractions and is ideal for a long or short term stay in Rome. Our rates vary according to the number of overnight stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Valdese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Valdese Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing