We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Ranked #14 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous hotel”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in October 2013 as a solo traveller looking to explore Rome for the first time. Looked at lots of classic standard hotels but came across reviews of Pensione Barrett and though why not? Could not have had a more amazing trip to Rome and was thanks to Michele and Cinzia taking time out to draw out places to see you won't find in a guide book and amazing restaurants, coffee and gelato away from the tourist traps. Just wonderful, would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    167
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
165
399
36
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The hotel is ideally located, close to museums and two very central tramlines. The bias architectural mix of ancient and ultra-modern is very successful. The room was spacious, quiet, bright and modern, and we enjoyed the relaxing moments in the spa. A big thank you to all the staff for this excellent place. In short, everything is good: the host, the rooms, and the location with a special mention to the spa and restaurants. It is undoubtedly the most pleasant of Rome hotel. The architecture is very bright. Lots of glass in very large space. Everything is luxurious and studied. Great location for sightseeing I did walk and tram.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WackerBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
from London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at Pensione Barrett for a weekend in November. We loved it. The location is fantastic, specially if you are in Rome for a short period like us (48 hours). Most of the main sites were within a 10-15 minute walk. The staff are extremely helpful and we could not thank them enough for the great recommendations for places to eat and drink. We will definitely go back to Pensione Barrett next time that we are in Rome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monikafromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

You will love it or hate it. And maybe both. The decor is over the top. WAY over the top. The room was so crowded that we could not maneuver. It resulted in a somewhat cluttered, claustrophobic feeling for us. And many of the "extras" were the sort of things we aren't really comfortable using after other guests. We never figured out how some of the technology worked, but were afraid to ask. The owners are unwaveringly nice and super helpful, but perhaps even a little too much so as it took us an hour to escape to dinner our first night. That being said, the place has a TON of character. The owners have lots of stories to tell, and the pictures on the walls (which change frequently) could keep you occupied for hours. The location is great too -- our son was fascinated both with the cat sanctuary and the site of Caesar's death. It is walkable to just about everything except the Vatican, which we were not interested in seeing on this trip anyway. The overall experience was not really our cup of tea (which, coincidentally enough, you can make yourself here without even getting out of bed), but I could see how someone willing to look past the clutter could really enjoy it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Every time we visit Rome we choose Hotel «Pensione Barrett». The hotel is situated in the very heart of Rome, very close to the most important historical sites so you can go everywhere on foot. But if you want to use a bus there is a bus stop of the main urban lines in front of the hotel.
The rooms are perhaps a little bit of small space, but very clean and singularly beautiful. The owners Michele and Cinzia have decorated them in a marvelous antique style. Some of the rooms have a view of the magnificent Piazza di Torre Argentina.
The staff is very friendly and helpful what creates an absolutely homelike atmosphere. The Pensione does not offer a breakfast but you may prepare it yourself: in every room there is a fridge with food and drinks, coffee machine, electric kettle, etc. – a very good solution for those who prefers being independent. Every room also has all the facilities for relaxation after an all-day wandering around the city (massage armchair, massage platform for feet, massage shower-cabin, etc.)
Michele and Cinzia know all about everything in Rome and can give you any information you need, and do everything to make your stay in their hotel pleasant and comfortable.
So the «Pensione Barrett» is sure to be an excellent choice! I would recommend this hotel without any hesitation. BUT if you are not very young, have health problems and big suitcases you should take into consideration that there is no elevator in the building.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olga m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We spent almost a month in Italy so we stayed in a lot of places but I had researched 100's more. This hotel is in a perfect location to walk to many of the popular tourist destinations but as others have said, the owners will insist (and rightly so!) you sit with them while they draw you your very own map and step you through books and pictures of the best classical art Rome can offer you. I knew very little about Rome and it's artistic history before I arrived, but I left feeling enlightened and very special to have seen the sights I wouldn't have seen thanks to our beautiful Hosts.
Very clean rooms with brilliant facilities.
Décor of rooms and hotel like none other and will submerge you in the wonders of classical Rome.
The owners (and the rest of the staff) are immensely helpful, some of the nicest people I have ever met.

Room Tip: If you would like a quieter room, choose a room off the street front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n2theb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Looking through the previous excellent reviews, what more can we add? Michele, Cinzia and all the staff are a dream; they simply couldn’t be more helpful, so if you are dithering and can’t make up your mind then just go ahead and book it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilMc483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
6,448 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,291 in Rome
3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#7 of 1,291 in Rome
138 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,291 in Rome
201 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,291 in Rome
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pensione Barrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pensione Barrett

Property: Hotel Pensione Barrett
Address: Via di Torre Argentina 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Rome
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#54 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#217 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 3 STARS Hotel with a Vintage Atmosphere, Direct View on the Roman Temples belonging to the Sacred Archeological Area of Largo Di Torre Argentina, Free Breakfast Buffet directly in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pensione Barrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Barrett Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing