We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Ranked #32 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just left the hotel after a 4-nights stay. The hotel is wonderfully located: within ~2 Km. You have most of Rome highlights! But this is only part of the good news: the owners and the personnel are warm and extremely supportive, always ready for any good suggestion you may be in need of! Rooms are nice, very clean, very very corfortable and some have a wonderful view on some of the best-preserved ruins in Rome.
Definitely, a strong suggestion for a stay in Rome and our reference for future stays!!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Aleardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

229 - 235 of 807 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for only one night and are very pleased we did. This place is Unique and quite stunning.
the room was decorated with plaster reliefs and statues with a highly decorative ceiling. the facilities were excellent and included foot massage, back massage and a Jacuzzi type shower.
the owner was very friendly, informative and helpful.
a little tricky to find as the door is to one side and accessed by intercom.
we found a small restaurant nearby on Vittorio Emanuelle II, Valori Bolloti Totip, which we do not recommend at all! 2 cups of coffee cost 16Euros!!!!. we were not shown the price until it was too late! (near the Spar shop)

Room Tip: all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james_sNeedingworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Pensione Barrett is a very warm, welcoming place in a wonderfully central area of Rome, by the Campo de Fiori, and right in front of the Roman ruins of the Torre Argentina--very reasonable price for the location. All of the staff--from the cleaning people to the managers--were great and the rooms were clean with a good mattress on the bed. It is worth noting, however, that the Pensione is up a few flights without an elevator, which was fine by me, but could be a problem for others. The rooms are quite baroque in decor--with a mixture of ancient Greek and Roman and also Renaissance decor, which I had to get used to, but eventually became very fond of. There's lots of stuff in the rooms, most of which I very happily used--foot massage, chair massage, espresso maker, clothes press... And the staff is happy to remove any excess stuff (I asked them to remove a table)-plus there is lots of room under the bed. Even with all the stuff the size of the room was great for me, but a couple might want to have one or two more things removed from the room. You do have to ring the doorbell whenever you want to enter, but someone always answered promptly; and the lobby has so much stuff in it that it's hard to use. At times, too, internet was hard to get. But, overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTP427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The staff isn't merely attentive to every request or question - they are friendly, happy to talk to us as much when we felt ignorant on day one to more familiar guests on day ten. The location was perfect, and the employees and owner seemed honestly happy to chat, share stories, suggestions. And their restaurant recommendations, often quite different from those on this site, were never a miss.

I was in Rome for the week of and including Easter, and the staff not only secured the passes for our admission to our entrance to St Peter's square for mass, but gave us guidance on when and where to go. For that alone, it made the trip.

Would return? Yes. And when we return to Rome next year, I can't imagine wanting to stay someplace else. I can't really imagine my wife letting me suggest it, honestly.

Room Tip: I like our room facing the ruins across the street, a couple floors up. I never heard noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a wonderful stay my friends and I have in Pensione Barrett earlier this Feburary.
From the moment we rang the brass doorbell we were made feel welcome and were looked after like family.
Our checkin was fast we were led to our beautful triple room. Decor was full of detailed plaster work and it was hard to know were to look at. Our eyes were dancing from detail to detail. A lovely lady showed us how to use all the accessories in our room and what wonderful accessories they were too! A Back massager, a foot massager, a foot spa, Jacuzzi shower,
coffee machine, mini bar, and breakfast making facilities all at very reasonable prices.
the owners gave us detailed help on our sightseeing plans and provided an excellent book for us to bring with us, in English, showing the ruins and what they would have looked like at the height of their beauty.
I opened our door to ask the night porter for extra pillows one evening and before i had stepped into the corrider he popped his head out from the far end asking if we needed anything.
Truly amazing service.
As we left we were presented with packets of pasta as gifts from the hotel for us to bring home as souveniers.
It was such a thoughtful and generous touch that encapsulates the entire experience. Warm, friendly, comfortable and surprising in its generosity!
Thanks you to all at Pensione Barret.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaMcGuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Everything about Pensione Barrett is perfect - from its location to the room and the attentive service by all the staff.

We took the Shuttle Bus from Fiumicino airport ( 5 Euros per person single or 8 Euros for a return ticket) to Termini station. From there we caught the 40 Express bus (1.50 Euro per person which gives you 100 minutes unlimited travel). The bus stops right in Torre Argentina and it is only a few paces to the hotel. We didn't time the journey as it was such a smooth and pleasant one but I guess it took less than an hour door to door. Our arrival was greeted warmly - and we were presented with our football tickets which Michele and Cinzia very kindly allowed us to have delivered straight to the hotel.

The room was amazing. Other travellers have commented on the size and how small it is but, to be honest, we thought it was just right. You will never get a big room in Europe (unless you pay for a suite) but the room was just right - we could walk around normally,have room to hang our clothes (double wardrobe), store our valuables (safe) and put our toiletries (good size bathroom). The suitcase could either go under the bed or, in our case, we put it on the single bed that was in a separate area of the room. The decor in the room was absolutely fabulous and the attention to detail was impressive.

The breakfast is a great idea and has definitely influenced my view on staying in hotels where you pay for breakfast as part of the cost. This is fine if you have a large appetite but if you just need a little something to start the day (eg a bowl of muesli), you just pay for what you eat. How refreshing is that! The real surprise is that Michele and Cinzia don't use the minbar as a way of generating lots of income. The price was for a bottle of water was only 0.52 Euros, an Espresso (made freshly by the machine in your room) was about the same price, a half-size bottle of Prosecco was only about 1.50 Euros etc. The variety of foods available would also cater for all tastes and appetites - melba toast, pate, cheese, variety of cakes and bisuits, mousse - the list is endless. I would recommend having a small something in your room to keep you going and then stop at a local Pizza place for lunch where you pay for your pizza according to weight. (The beauty of this is you can try several different types of pizza. One that I would never have normally tried - but was delicious - was spinach and anchovies). There are breakfast trays in the room so you can have breakfast in bed or sit at the table.

You don't get a room key but this was never a problem. The hotel is staffed 24/7 and we pushed the buzzer and straightaway the door was released to allow us in. Not having a key actually meant we didn't have to worry about losing it or finding space in my bag to keep it with us!

The hotel is centrally located for all of the major sights. We didn't use public transport for the 3 days we were there and walked everywhere from the Colosseum to Vatican City and even to the Stadio Olimpico. I would recommend you take sensible shoes though as the cobbled streets do make it hard going on your feet if you walk as much as we did.

Both Michele and Cinzia are very helpful when it comes to recommending places to go or how to get around. They also give you a detailed map which is really handy for visiting the sights.

The extra facilities in the room are a nice touch - a massage (jacuzzi) shower, a proper hairdryer, foot spa, foot massager, back massager. The curtains are really thick so you can get a good night's sleep and not realise what time of day it is when you wake up. The bed is huge and very comfy. If you're easily disturbed, you shouldn't have any problems with noisy neighbours with loud TVs as you can only listen to the TV by way of earphones which plug into a socket by your bedside - what a lovely touch.

We would highly recommend this hotel. And, when it comes to leaving, you'll be looking forward to watching the DVD Michele and Cinzia gave you - and worrying about how on earth you'll find a hotel in your next place to visit which comes anywhere near close to Pensione Barrett.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sunnyside962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Next to tram 8 terminal (ideal from Trastevere station!) you are in Roma's heart. Few minutes walking to every interesting site is a key point of this friendly place !! The owner will guide you (on map..:-) in your monument's quest revealing the ignored details of those treasures. One week is not enough and we certainly will come back to enjoy this Rom'antic arte di vivere !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank i3svizzeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#25 of 1,269 in Rome
747 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,269 in Rome
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,269 in Rome
807 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,269 in Rome
3,628 reviews
Colonna
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#44 of 1,269 in Rome
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pensione Barrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pensione Barrett

Address: Via di Torre Argentina 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Rome
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#120 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#217 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $138 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 3 STARS Hotel with a Vintage Atmosphere, Direct View on the Roman Temples belonging to the Sacred Archeological Area of Largo Di Torre Argentina, Free Breakfast Buffet directly in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pensione Barrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Barrett Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing