We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Pensione Barrett
Ranked #17 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cozy”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We spent two nights at the Pensione Barrett during our honeymoon. The hotel is only a few blocks from the Pantheon and the beautiful Piazza della Rotonda. The pensione is a small charming hotel with very friendly and helpful staff and owners. Our room had a selection reasonably priced grab and go snacks if you wanted to start your day quickly. The room was small but standard from my experience with European hotels. There was an in-the-wall A/C unit and a wonderful massage shower. My husband and I are from New York and we are used to walking so the Pensione was a great home base since it was so centrally located. The owners were so very helpful with directions and recommendations on dining. And since they knew it was our honeymoon, they even gave us a little gift when we checked out. The next visit to Rome will include a stay at the Pensione Barrett.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RidleyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    169
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
171
410
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I travel to Rome regularly on business...and this is not a business hotel, BUT it's so quirky and so utterly outside of what I do during the day that it's the PERFECT place to come back to. There's wifi in the rooms (mostly), so that helps. But it's also close to public transportation - so I can get almost anywhere in Rome without braving Roman taxi drivers - and very close to the river - so I can do a nice morning run. The bas relief copy of the Sistine Chapel's God giving life to Adam was a hoot. Imagine going to sleep under that every night!

There are problems. The rooms are jam packed with furniture, so moving around in them is problematic. The in-room breakfast is kinda fun, and very Italian, but you're probably better off going out. And, because it's right on a tram line, it can be a bit loud on a hot evening with the windows open. And, of course, there's no lift...so walking up the stairs in heels with a heavy suitcase was not fun.

Still, I love this place. The owners are wonderfully helpful and very considerate. I always recommend Pensione Barrett to friends going to Rome as tourists, too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0nickname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Myself and my Husband are just back from our five day trip to Rome, and what words can i use to describe it only "amazing".We stayed in the Pension Barrett and I have to say this has to be the best hotel/B & B we ever stayed in, its location is fantastic and its hospitality is second to non, any recommendations that the couple gave us for day trips, meals, shopping etc were perfect and that is hospitality is what made our trip so special, our room was small enough but it was beautiful the decor was beautiful and the added touches after a long day walking and sight seeing was such a treat ie: foot massager, back massager and foot spa, would i recommed this hotel absolutely 100%

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I have been coming to Rome for almost 50 years. I have stayed at the finest, some of cheapest, and even rented apartments. Pension Barrett will be the only place I stay or recommend. Ideal location at Largo Argentina. Transportation at your doorstep. Walkable to so many delightful areas: theGhetto, Navonna, Pantheon, Tratevere, campo die Fiori, etc. Warm and helpful owners and staff. They truly love and know Rome and share tips on restaurants, new events, etc. They are art lovers who have packed art into every corner of this delightfully funky pension. There is an espresso machine, chair and foot massage, foo and drink, and refrigerator in each room! The website is exceptionally informative and humorous. Yo will not find a warmer welcome or a more delightful home base in this always glorious city!,

Room Tip: Ask for 9, view over the Roman temples, and a sarcophagus panel opposite your bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is a very nice and slightly quirky B&B / Hotel in the Trastevere district of Rome. Rooms are nice and a good size (we had a triple room) and are decorated with classical stuccos/sculptures and paintings. There was even foot and back massage equipment in the room which was handy after a lot of walking around during the day. It's very close to the Pantheon and Campo dei Fiori, as well as plenty of great bars and restaurants. Quite easy to get to from the airport as well. The people who run the property are very friendly, go out of the way to be helpful for your stay in Rome and kindly gave us a small leaving present of handmade pasta when we left. No real downsides, though it's the type of place where you have to leave your key at the desk and buzz to get in - there was one occasion during the day where we had to buzz several times and wait a little while to get in. It wasn't a drama for us, though. You need to pay extra for air con which we didn't and it was pretty okay temperature wise with the window open (in mid-September) but it did get a little noisy outside in the morning with a tram turnaround just outside. Overall, a great place to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrockStrongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed here with our 14 year old daughter. The location could not be better. Invaluable advice from the lovely owners, regarding sightseeing made our trip easy and truly unforgettable. Rome is incredible and easily explored from this hotel. We would definitely stay here again if we should return. Nuff said.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AriannaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights with our 16 yr old son. Hotel is quaint, clean although room was a little small. Price was perfect for its location. The owners were excellent, lending their guidebooks as well as explaining anything you need to know about what to see or how to get there. They were there to help us out at 3AM to get to FCO for an early morning flight. Cannot say enough about how helpful they were in trying not to get ripped off by some of the tourist traps in Rome. Recommend strongly. Note - no elevator so be prepared to carry luggage up several flights of stairs, or ask for help.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,259 in Rome
185 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,259 in Rome
6,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#27 of 1,259 in Rome
709 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,259 in Rome
3,530 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,259 in Rome
4,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pensione Barrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pensione Barrett

Property: Hotel Pensione Barrett
Address: Via di Torre Argentina 47, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Rome
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#217 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated 3 STARS Hotel with a Vintage Atmosphere, Direct View on the Roman Temples belonging to the Sacred Archeological Area of Largo Di Torre Argentina, Free Breakfast Buffet directly in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pensione Barrett reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Barrett Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing