We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel... GREAT location !!!”
Review of Imperial Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Imperial Rooms
Ranked #1,247 of 3,692 Rome B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel... GREAT location !!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for a 3 day break in Rome, it’s a lovely hotel right next to the Colloseum literally just across the road so the perfect location!!
The staff were great very friendly & helpful & spoke perfect English. The rooms that are closest to the road have a nice view of ruins & also you can look to the left to see the Colloseum but they don’t block out the sun / street lights & it can get very noisy at night (very loud music throughout the night from the bars downstairs – so if you’re a light sleeper request a room on the other side of the hotel. But the rooms on the other side of the hotel were beautiful, nice big bathrooms, they have blinds to shut out the light they were great !

The breakfast was nice, buns, croissants, cheese, crackers, juice, coffee, tea etc, it was huge but it was fine !!

The metro is also just down the road, across from the colloseum so the hotel really is in the best location!!

I would definitely stay here again as its the best location I would just ask for a room not facing the road !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amor_vida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    30
    18
    7
    9
See reviews for
18
59
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
KL, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I spent almost a month in Europe and stayed at Imperial Rooms from 5 to 11 April 2012.

Prior to my arrival, I stayed in a 4-star hotel in Switzerland. Although the room was much bigger in Switzerland, the service was rather disappointed.

Imperial Rooms is right next to the Colosseo and the ticket booth of ATAC (Note: one way ticket to travel within Rome costs €1 via metro/bus/tram, you can either buy ticket from the ticket booth or at the metro station), 5-10 minutes from the metro and a few bus stations, the Roman Forum, the Palatine Hill, the Imperial Forum, the Basilica San Clement and the Basilica di San Giovanni in Laterano (the oldest and ranks first among the 4 major basilicas of Rome), 10-15 minutes from Piazza Campidoglio and Piazza Venetia, and Tesco is right at the back of the hotel (you probably won’t notice if you do not pay close attention).

I arrived the night before Good Friday and avoided the hassle to drag my luggage around by paying €30 per person for Imperial Rooms to arrange for shuttle from the Fiumicino Airport and you know what, the boss himself and one staff picked us up from the airport. I had considered taking Leonardo Express earlier, the fare per person to Roma Termini is approximately €14 but decided against it since this was our (I travelled with my sibling) first free & easy trip to Rome and I couldn’t imagine dragging our heavy luggage to Stazione Termini in order to take Metro (at one-way fee €1) to Colosseo or take taxi in the middle of the night (at approximately €10) to the Imperial Rooms.

I was given a room with en-suite bathroom (I think not all rooms have Jacuzzi as advertised) on the 1st floor facing an ancient ruin (the view from my room could not be better, Colosseo is on the left and ancient ruin is just in front). The staffs were friendly and very helpful (they helped me to get a taxi at 6am to Roma Termini for my onwards trip to Florence and the taxi arrived within 3 minutes. Also helped me to clean after the mess I’ve made with genuine smile as I accidentally pull down the loose cereal container......my brother said he wished he brought our camera to take photo of my facial expression then). The room was spotlessly clean, fully furnished with a small TV, air-con, heater, mini bar, built-in the wall safe with free WiFi (I was really grateful that Imperial Rooms provided free WiFi because one 4-star hotel I stayed in London charged up to £15 per day to access high-speed internet) and free breakfast.

I enjoyed my stay and would recommend Imperial Rooms to you, if you are looking for a value-for-money hostel which is close to all the major sights, offers personalised service, do not mind to climb stairs (the hostel is located in an old building hence no lift to go up and down, but need not worry about bringing your luggage up as the staff will help you to send all to your room upon arrival) and can sleep well regardless of what condition since the bars downstairs open till 1-2am and people stay on the street until 3-4am and are really noisy even the double glazed window can’t block-out the loud noise entirely (I didn’t mind at all because I was either dog tired after my hard day out and fall sound asleep almost immediately after I lie down or worked late updating photos in my facebook. If you do, ask for an inner room but then you will not be able to enjoy the view outside and check the weather daily), this hostel would be the right fit for you as it was for me.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank daphydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I would reccomend this Hotel to everybody. It is the best place I've ever been!
I woke up watching the Coloseum and felt asleep vith the wonderful view of Nero's Park!
IThe room was spotlessly clean, comfortable, romantic and I could use the wi-fi for free which is something hard to find.
Moreover brekfast was delicious. Pastries and fruit, cereals, and cappuccino was the best!
Staff was friendly and always at reception. They arranged a pick.up from the airport and also way back. Great value for money!
I've found my place in Rome!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Normann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Great rooms, very friendly staff and a sweet breakfast room completely ruined by the bar/club next door running ( I am told) an unauthorised disco until 2am. The street noise continued on till about 3am. We stayed on the first floor. The night manager tried to talk to the bar and got some success of volume reduction the first night but had no luck the second night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the bar/disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PrimroseHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We didn't even get to stay at the hotel, due to the volcanic ash problem we could not even fly out of Australia to get to Italy.
I cancelled our reservation with Imperial Rooms on the 19-4-10 we were to stay with them from the 23-4-10 to the 28-4-10.
They still took $517.00 AUS from my credit card and I can not get it back so far!!!
I have gone to Consumer Affairs over this matter.
All I can say is if this is the treatment I am receiving from the Hotel and we didn't even get to stay there, god only knows what the place is really like.
Very disapointed with Imperial Rooms

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank WALDOPERTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We've just returned from a short break in Rome, and stayed in the Imperial Rooms. The location could not be better, with the Colosseum just over the road, and the Forum and Palatine Hill just a tiny bit further. There were also some good restaurants nearby, and the train station a couple of minutes walk to make further exploration of the city.

On arrival the receptionist noticed that my partner had a birthday during our stay, and on the evening before the birthday a complementary bottle of wine was left in the room with glasses and opener! It's things like this that, for us, turn a good place into a great place. Our room, although small, had everything we needed, and we especially liked the jacuzzi bath. I should point out that we had a room at the back on the first floor, and during the evening we could hear the bar downstairs, but not so much that it prevented us from sleeping. Our room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was OK, mostly sweet pastries, and I'm a savoury kind of person, but it's the Italian way, and when in Rome...

In all, we loved this Hotel. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the room comfortable and the location is fabulous. We stayed in January and had a room at the back, maybe if you're staying during the warmer months it would be prudent to request a back room, as I would imagine it could get quite noisy out front.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Montyspaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2009

This hotel is located right next to the Colosseum above a couple of loud bars. Even at the third floor, the single glazed windows at the front did not at all keep the noise out of the tiny room. The bars below were open till 2 AM and the public stayed on the street till about 4 AM. Live music is featured on Wednesdays. Don't stay here if you can't sleep in a noisy environment (even on the third floor).

The location is great, right next to the Colosseum and very close to the metro. However, if you like to visit the other main sites by foot, you have to walk around the Foro Romano every time, which is a pain. Hotels near Termini might then be a better, cheaper pick.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnlimitedRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Royal House
Hotel Royal House
#710 of 1,263 in Rome
137 reviews
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#643 of 1,263 in Rome
61 reviews
Monti
Celio Hotel
Celio Hotel
#582 of 1,263 in Rome
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Residence Maximus
Residence Maximus
#2,681 of 3,692 in Rome
74 reviews
Monti
B&B Second Floor
B&B Second Floor
#533 of 3,692 in Rome
196 reviews
Monti
No 9 Colosseo Luxury Suites
No 9 Colosseo Luxury Suites
#2,688 of 3,692 in Rome
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Rooms

Property: Imperial Rooms
Address: Via di San Giovanni in Laterano 10, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,247 of 3,692 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You wake up, enjoying a breathtaking view of the ancient heart of Rome. You must be staying at Imperial Rooms, a newly opened family-run guest house, facing the magnificent Coliseum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Imperial Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Rooms Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing