We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 days in Rome was 2 days too many!”
Review of Residence Candia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Candia
Ranked #387 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

A friend & I stayed here from Sept.27-30, 2012. Our travel agent raved about this place as did all the reviews on T.A........while there was nothing really wrong with this hotel. You do get what you pay. I never stay here again, nor would I ever recommend it to anyone. It certainly does not look like the featured pictures. The young girl who worked the Front Desk during the week days was the only one who knew anything, spoke very good English & was very help. The night & weekend Front Desk was totally useless. They advertise free WiFi / internet access but don't tell you that it only works on the terrace & sometimes in the stairway (if you're lucky). TV in room didn't work at all but wasn't there to watch TV. I must say it was close to the Metro and places to eat........if you want pasta or pizza every day! Grocery stores were quite close. The Vatican was about a 10 min. walk.........if you're interested in the religious aspect (I was not). I must be the only person who wasn't impressed with Rome..........I was expecting so much more! I had just come from a 14 day tour of Italy and was exhausted..........so like I said 4 days, was 2 too many.

Room Tip: anything but the ground floor! They showed us a dark & damp smelling room that was level with th...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JudyLorenzo40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for Residence Candia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 422 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here when we were in Rome for my cousin's wedding. Her and her fiance's family, who live in Rome, picked out the hotel. There were at least 30 guests from the wedding staying here so we were able to see a variety of rooms. Some of the rooms are small, but ours was very spacious with a kitchen, washer and dryer, and private balcony. The rooms in the front of the building can be loud because of the traffic outside. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a bad smell from the drain in the bathroom, but they had it fixed within 1 hour of us asking. The maps they provide at the front desk are great. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit Rome, even in one of the smaller rooms, because we're out sightseeing most of the time! Every room is clean and it's a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We used Residence Candia as our home for Christmas as we have no family in Europe and wanted to be able to cook our own food. After living in hostels for so long having a bit of space was fantastic. It was a small apartment but completely equipped (ironing board, hair dryer, shoe horn, mirrors, excessive amounts of storage and a fully stocked kitchen!) with a stove, microwave, oven and fridge.
A stones throw from the Vatican, and not too far from a metro stop (difficult in Rome, the underground trains are definitely lacking) made it a perfect place to base ourselves.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank JacMBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We walked to the apartment hotel from the nearest metro station. It takes about 5-10 min walking. It’s quite tasking when you have several pieces of luggage and a baby in a pram on a hot sunny day.
Check in was easy. From what I could gather, the guy at the reception spoke at least 4 languages (English, Germany, French and Italian). Our room was tiny, but very self contained. There was enough space to put everything in wardrobes and store large pieces of luggage underneath the bed. We tried using the safe, but locked it by mistake. We asked reception to send someone to open it, but nobody ever turned up during our entire stay. We did not pursue this matter, as we hadn’t actually put anything inside the safe.
Hotels in Rome are expensive, this one was no exception. But as it’s an apartment hotel, we chose it so that we can save money by making our own breakfast and dining in of an evening. There’s a supermarket nearby, but it took us a while to locate it even with a map from reception. Turns out after long days out in Rome, it was really nice just to put some food in the oven / microwave and eat it while not wearing my Sunday best.
There’s a laundrette nearby, which was handy. Although you have to be mindful of their opening hours.
We couldn’t get WIFI inside our room, which was a bit inconvenient. But it worked ok in the courtyard and at reception.
House keeping only came every few days, so we had to reuse our towels. Which was a bit difficult with a baby.
Other than that, this place was a good clean central stay for Rome.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kittyra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I would recommend Residence Candia for anyone who is traveling with others for over a week. The people working the desk were pretty nice and the apartments were always clean. Really good sized for the price. It was in a really good location and you could easily get to everything in Rome. You're basically next door neighbors to the Pope. There are a ton of restaurants on the same street that were really good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Residence , the rooms in reception building are small but looked very nice, with modern bathroom, kitchen/diner etc. When we stayed we got the option of a room/flat in other block accessed from the main street thro a locked door it is very close to reception and we liked the older but far more spacious rooms which allowed us to have a double room and separate rooms for the kids. We decided to go for this and didn't regret it it could have slept up to 8 people. One or two of the rooms could do with fresh decor shortly, but for the money this was a small negative. The rest was all good, nice kitchen area, with a view from kitchen window of the back of the Vatican. Plenty of good restaurants nearby, Ice cream parlour to die for more or less next door and Cipro Metro less than 5 mins away for easy and cheap access to all Rome's sites we needed/wanted to see. Reception staff were friendly and helpful the times we needed advice and the map you get at start is really helpful. Happy to recommend and we would come back here if going back to Rome

Room Tip: Main block rooms are modern but quite small nice roof top terraces on top ones. Older ones are large...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donronrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Testaccio
Re Testa
Re Testa
#474 of 1,267 in Rome
261 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#244 of 1,267 in Rome
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#372 of 1,267 in Rome
256 reviews
The Flower
#748 of 1,267 in Rome
27 reviews
Residence Prati
#579 of 1,267 in Rome
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Candia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Candia

Address: Via Candia 135 B, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $60 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Candia 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Candia is within the sound of the Vatican bells and just a five minute stroll from the Vatican Museum (and the Sistine Chapel). Located in a quintessentially Roman neighborhood complete with cinemas, restaurants, cafes, an open-air market, and shops of all sorts. There is convenient access to city buses and the subway just a few hundred meters from the Residence Candia. Residence Candia consists of apartments that have been recently renovated and provide all comforts for a pleasant stay for just a few days or a few weeks. For the same price of a Bed & Breakfast Residence Candia provides regular hotel-level services, such as daily cleaning. Apartments are available with one(studio), two three or four rooms with the larger apartments accommodating up to eight people with multiple bathrooms. The top floor also boasts a number of penthouse suites with a beautiful view of the dome of St. Peter's Cathedral. Each apartment has its own bathroom and is equipped with kitchenette, TV(SKY), and air conditioning. On-premise parking is available free of charge for hotel guests until spaces are full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Candia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Candia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing