We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family you never knew...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vatican Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vatican Vista
Ranked #324 of 3,751 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family you never knew...”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

For starters don't go to Rome without booking with Rosanna and David. Trust ME. This was the best stay my family had ever wished for. We could not believe the views and opportunities we were able to do with Rosanna and David... I would be able to say while I am asleep that this is the best place to stay in at Rome... Thank you so much for truly the most memorable and truly awesome stay of our lives I'm telling you... WE WILL NEVER FORGET YOU KINDNESS AND NEVER FORGET THE STAY IN VATICAN VISTA BED AND BREAKFAST... Thank you so much Rosanna, David, Irma and Molly... Thank you and expect us next year... For sure.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattymoodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
85
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dewey, Arizona
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

What a wonderful stay we had here on Oct. 30- Nov. 1st before leaving on a transatlantic cruise!
We had always stayed at hotels before going on a cruise, but never again after our stay at Vatican Vista! Hospitality and service, accommodations, breakfast, help with tours, location, were beyond anything we have ever experienced while traveling. Rosanna and David could not do enough to make us feel welcome and they felt like "family"! We wished we had of stay red longer!

Room Tip: The value was unbelievable compared to other places and the personal touch could not be compared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruiseaddict2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vvRoma, Owner at Vatican Vista, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Grazie! We loved to have you stay with us and we're glad to have contributed to your wonderful cruise vacation. Right after you left, we started some upgrading and repairs on the apartment, so if you should get a chance to return someday, you'll find some new features like original artworks, furniture and improved services. Thanks for your very helpful review! Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The location, the city and Rosanna and David (and Molly and Irma) made our stay in Rome unforgettable, and left us yearning to return. This is Roman living among the Romans. Rossana and David helped us out so much that we were able to see Rome at our own pace and in a way that suited our family. we booked the whole apartment for our stay which allowed us to feel like it was our home. Rossana was always looking at ways to help us plan our days and make us feel like family. She helped us book museums, organised walking routes and even book a restaurant, which along with the recommendations for sites, activities and travel tips made us feel as if we have been living there for ages. Her stories and advice, and unbelievable breakfasts has ruined us for other places - we can't imagine why anyone would stay in a hotel when you have places like Vatican Vista. The location in Piazza del Risorgimento ended up being perfectly positioned for us to see as much as we could: tram and bus at the Piazza; taxis, ATM and pharmacy downstairs; with the metro a short walk up the road. The view of the Vatican was an amazing thing to come "home" to everyday. The rooms were very clean and spacious, and we found the washing machine invaluable for our ten day stay. The Piazza can be noisy for some, but it didn't bother us as we could just shut the shutters if we wanted to but preferred to hear the goings on. Meeting Molly and Irma was a privilege which just made us want to think of ways we could bring our dogs and extended family to Rome. We are already saving up for our next trip to Rome and have no doubt we want to stay with Rossana and David.

Room Tip: Book the whole apartment if you can; the value is fantastic and you can live as you do at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vvRoma, Owner at Vatican Vista, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for your extremely helpful excellent review. We have been upgrading the apartment this November to be more amenable to groups who want to take the whole apartment with common room between bedrooms at opposite ends of the apartment. We have also done some repair work and replaced many of our prints with original art works. We have also upgraded some items to very nice old-style Italian furnishings. So, if and when you do return to Rome you should find it even more like home! Thank you, grazie e arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Thank you Rosanna and David for your fabulous hospitality during our stay at your Roma B&B (aka Vatican Vista)! We absolutely loved our stay there. We learned so much from both you and David, which made it so much more enjoyable. Your offer to, and arranging for, transportation to and from the airport eased us in and out of Roma without any stress or worry.

Our room was great with a fabulous view of St. Peter’s dome and just a couple of minutes walk to the Vatican and St. Peter's. We felt such a warm welcome the moment we arrived - from the great big doors of the building, to the quaint “European” elevator, to the "goody basket", to the comfy bed and wonderful window views.

Starting our day each morning with the delicious breakfast spread that you provide was just perfect. You and David are walking encyclopedias about Roma’s history and flavor which made our stay so much more special. Your generosity in providing tidbits (and more) of info about Italy, suggested itineraries, what “not to miss” and the colorful stories really made Italy and especially Roma come alive before our very eyes. It made our stay feel like we were visiting family.

Vatican Vista is very conveniently located just a moment away from taxi's, metro or bus lines. I so enjoyed returning each day, opening the window wide, sitting at the table, enjoying the view, and watching the people while I uploaded my days worth of pictures to my laptop.

Our Italian get away was “bookended” in Roma. Our vacation began in Roma with our stay at Vatican Vista, then traveled to the hill towns of Umbria, with a quick stop in Firenze and then back to Roma. Your hospitality made it seem as if we returning “home” before we left again for the States.

Arrivederci Roma, ci torneremo

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenCat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vvRoma, Owner at Vatican Vista, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thanks so much for your awesome review -- it has helped us achieve a goal we sought for a long time. It was so great to have you two stay with us! We got to show you some of the amazing sites and places to eat, art and architectural wonders of Rome. We hope we didn't tire you out too much with our enthusiasm. Please convey our thanks to our mutual friends for their recommendation. Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We couldn't have been more pleased with the Vatican Vista B&B. Rosanna arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport and bring us directly to the hotel. It is in a lovely old building. It was built in 1885, but it has an elevator! The Vatican Vista is directly across the piazza from the Vatican. Unbelievable! The room was lovely and had a beautiful view of the Vatican dome, which was breathtaking at night. The hotel is on a busy street, but the windows did a good job of minimizing street noise. In the room, our hosts provided us with a small bottle of Proseco, bottles of water, and a basket of treats including cookies, candy, crackers, nuts, etc. The room had a TV and DVD player, but we didn't watch. They had videos, if we had wanted to. In the common area, there was a computer and a printer we were invited to use, which came in handy when we ordered advance tickets on line (they are cheaper that way). Rosanna helped us make arrangements too. The breakfast was great, and they went out of their way to cook hard boiled eggs for my friend that could not eat pastries (the national breakfast of Italy!) Rosanna and David helped us know where to go and were wonderful. I highly recommend this B&B for people who are unfamiliar with Rome, don't speak Italian, and want to be in a perfect Italian neighborhood that is not catering only to the tourist crowd. There were plenty of great restaurants, good shopping, transportation to the old center of Rome, and Italians out getting together with friends in eateries at night. I will stay there again, if I am lucky enough to return to Rome. -Francesca & Pat, California

Room Tip: The room we stayed in had a lovely bathroom down the hall. We were the only ones using it, and neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruzNround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vvRoma, Owner at Vatican Vista, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
We take a certain pride in helping our clients with problems or special needs and we feel better if we can make your visit to Rome go smoothly. Especially for first-time visitors, we try to help with advice and reservations, tips and tours. And if we don't know, we'll find out for you. So come back some day and we'll show you so much more! Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We liked Vatican Vista so well, that we stayed two times, during our vacation. We would characterize the B&B as being clean, comfortable, and homey. It is directly across from the Vatican, and near public transportation. However, what made it really exceptional were our hosts. We have never before experienced such hospitality. Rosanna grew up in Rome, and both she and her husband made it so easy for us to get anywhere we wanted to go. Although Rosanna grew up here, she lived in the U.S. for many years, and her husband David is originally from the U.S. They were also able to suggest interesting places for us to visit. We recommend staying here to all our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in both rooms, and recommend either one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vvRoma, Owner at Vatican Vista, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear friends, we have been busy upgrading the apartment this November, so please forgive our tardy response. It was so great having you both stay with us (twice!) and it was fun to show you around Rome. We were glad to have contributed to you enjoyment of your visit to Italy and we hope you can come stay with us again someday. Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at this amazing B and B in September. It was great! Are hosts Rosanna and David were the best. Location and breakfast were excellent. I just can not agree more with what everyone had to say about this B and B. Would stay again in a heartbeat!!!! Thanks again, Astrid and Mike, Ontario, canada.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sunfish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vvRoma, Owner at Vatican Vista, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thanks so much Astrid and Mike! Your review has been very helpful to us. We are currently upgrading the apartment and will reopen in December with an even more spacious arrangement, so we hope we can see you all again, or any of your friends! Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
St Peter Bed in Rome
St Peter Bed in Rome
#313 of 3,751 in Rome
130 reviews
Prati
B&B Vatican Town
B&B Vatican Town
#289 of 3,751 in Rome
118 reviews
Prati
Vantaggio B&B
Vantaggio B&B
#234 of 3,751 in Rome
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
La Cupola del Vaticano
La Cupola del Vaticano
#37 of 3,751 in Rome
271 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
B&B Roma Borgo91
B&B Roma Borgo91
#176 of 3,751 in Rome
135 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Cameo Bed & Breakfast
Cameo Bed & Breakfast
#347 of 3,751 in Rome
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatican Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatican Vista

Property: Vatican Vista
Address: Piazza del Risorgimento 36, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 3,751 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Vatican Vista 1.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Apartment overlooking St. Peter's Basilica, Papal Palace, Vatican City, near the Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel in Rome, Italy. Apartment in elegant building, accommodation with 3 bright, clean and spacious bedrooms, one with ensuite bathroom with shower, one with private shower/tub outside room. Access to kitchen. Each room has air conditioning, free WiFi with computer in hall. Near tourist attractions, transportation, dining, shopping. We can arrange for a driver from/to airports and cruise ships at reasonable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your Vatican Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing