We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable beds, air conditioning and hot water problems”
Review of Migdal Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Migdal Palace
Ranked #748 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable beds, air conditioning and hot water problems”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and were pretty satisfied. The hotel provided what was advertised - great location, clean rooms, kosher friendly/vegetarian breakfast, no TV, no phone, part time front desk staff at a price well below other hotels and accomodations in the area. We walked everywhere - to the Jewish Ghetto and synagogue, to the Vatican, to major sites like Trevi Fountain, Forum, piazzas and monuments and an internet center just down the street. We arrived from the airport early in the morning a few hours before check-in time. The staff was very accomodating. We were able to get our keys, put our luggage in our room even though it was not ready yet and use the washrooms which was a huge help. That night, the airconditioning worked just fine...until about 1 AM when the compressor seemed to go off (and went back on at about 5 AM) - It got quite hot in the room and hard to sleep. Opening the windows was no solution because of the noise from the main street. And then...in the mornng there was no hot water to shower! We spoke to the helpful front desk clerk who explained that there was a hot water problem that was being fixed and that indeed the compressor does go off (saving money? neighbor complaints about noise? Not clear). In any event they arranged for us to get a fan and the hot water did get fixed so our 2 and 3rd night was much better,

Room Tip: Ask about airconditioning - apparently not all rooms have and some compressors stay on all night?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DannyE44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    15
    6
    3
See reviews for
15
33
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The location is superb - 10 minutes from Piazza Navona, 15 minutes from the Pantheon, 20 minutes from Fori Imperiali and about 30 minutes from the Colosseum on foot. And from Saint Peter's Square about 20/25 minutes on foot.
We bought a open bus pass for the weekend but realised we could have easily done the tour of Rome on foot thanks to the location of the B&B.
The room was lovely, spotless and with air con. The bathroom was new and spotless. I was impressed with the standard of cleaning.
I found it great value considering the location.
In my opinion the only negative was the breakfast which I found of poor quality and with no gluten free option - Having said that, there is a lovely bar nearby (Gerry's bar) where they offer lovely cappuccinos and great pastrys.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room facing the back - the rooms facing the main street Corso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibipatata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Be'er Sheva, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights. You can hear a pin drop in the next room... we had a problem with the hot water ( and got a discount)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nhoigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haifa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The pick up taxi was two hours late and cost more than the official rate. There was no T.V, no phone , no mini fridge.Breakfast was adequate, but rarely were there enough rolls and vegetables for all the guests, who had to ask for them to be topped up.The worst part was that through our entire stay there (7 nights) was no hot water in the bathroom. The location was wonderful and it was clean. although listed as kosher, there are no mezuzot.

Tova T. Israel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gertahaifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel has huge price for rooms compared to services offered even though location is great and staff really kind and helpful.
Breakfast - low quality, rooms with thin walls (one could hear every wisper in the next room, you would get up in the morning whenever the staff started setting the breakfast room), TV set occasionally not functional (some cable problems I presumed), and the worse was that there was no hot water for three days out of five; with the canicular weather in Rome and our daily schedule (walks through the city all day long) you can imagine the confort when coming back to our room in the evening. One can accept these problems may arise anywhere the issue was that no action was taken for days in a row, which is unacceptable. Our vacation was ruined. Would never recommend this hotel nor will I trust booking.com

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 49alina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This is a small hotel. it has no lobby to rest, but locates in a perfect location in Roma.
the rooms are good with WC and shower included, airconditioned (but the A/C in our room didn't work well).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We booked a 4 night stay, but left after one night !
After recently traveling in the USA and all across Europe, we visited many hotels, but Migdal "Palace" was absolutely the worst one ever.

As my wife is pregnant, I pre-arranged for the hotel transportation taxi to pick us up from the airport, but the driver didn't show up (this made us waste approx. 3 hours while waiting in vain).
After taking the train and a taxi, we reached Migdal Palace, but didn't really get any apology for the incident. The man at the desk simply didn't care.

Unfurtunately, this was only the preview of our stay... We found out that the hotel actually looks more like a hospital or a monastery. It's not about "basic" (we like basic) - it's about "depressing"... Our room had NO telephone, no safe, no pictures on the wall, no shampoo, no air-condition remote control, no fridge or mini-bar... All it did have was an old bed, and a TV set. Simply a joke. Some of the light-bulbs in the room were burned out, it was really bad.

The room we got was right next to the front desk (one meter away), and facing the busy street... We didn't sleep at all during the night, as the traffic noise was very strong.

The people at the desk gave us a set of 4 keys (!), all of which are a must - there is the room key, there is the hotel floor key, and there are 2 keys for the front doors of the building. Come on... Very uncomfortable to say the least. One night was enough for us to decide we can't stay any longer.
Breakfast was dull, and during the morning hours, drilling noises started from an upper floor (as the hotel is located inside an apartment building).

We had no trouble finding a different two-star hotel, within five walking minutes away, in a price that was 25% less expensive. And guess what? Our new room had a phone, a safe, shampoo, etc. etc.

Bottom line - I wouldn't recomment this hotel at all. Shame on them.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gideon2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#613 of 1,259 in Rome
480 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#432 of 1,259 in Rome
244 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa de'Fiori
Casa de'Fiori
#565 of 1,259 in Rome
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Rome Accommodation Governo Vecchio
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Exe Hotel Della Torre Argentina
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro Pace
Hotel Teatro Pace
#226 of 1,259 in Rome
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Migdal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Migdal Palace

Property: Migdal Palace
Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele II n. 173, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #748 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Migdal Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Migdal Palace: a comfortable and modern accommodation in a vintage building in the hart of Rome's historic centre, a stone's throw from the most important tourist and shopping sites in the city. All rooms are air-conditioned, all with private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Migdal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Migdal Palace Rome
Migdal Palace Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing