We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for a quiet night!”
Review of Domus Betti

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domus Betti
Ranked #3,163 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Shropshire
1 review
“Not for a quiet night!”
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Very convenient for Vatican. Several restaurants within easy walking distance.
On late arrival the room we had booked was not available so we were put in a very small twin room [bathroom facilities down the corridor through the kitchen] overlooking the central courtyard from small window with a promise that we would be moved in the morning- we were so tired we accepted it. True to his word we were moved the following morning to a comfortable, larger double room with simple hanging facilities and a TV that only seemed to receive one station that was watchable and views over the recycling bins [attached] that were emptied every night around 2am. That and the fact that the trams at the end of the road started around 6am made for disturbed nights. The shower, in a room constructed within the bedroom, was the smallest I have ever seen with a request to 'keep the water off the floor' that was almost impossible to comply with.
The manager would not accept card payment for the stay so cash had to be obtained - seems a little strange that one!
Rome itself was excellent but I would spend a little more on somewhere with air conditioning next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahjohnson2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    7
    4
    16
See reviews for
11
22
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2009

You are better off slleping in the street then staying in this place. We were not given the rooms promised, the place was filthy and I was ripped off for a night that I did not stay there.

Believe me you are better off sleeping in the street

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimboitaliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2009

Walking distance to the vatican. Easily accessible by metro. Very small B & B (I think there were only 4 rooms). Beds aren't very comfortalbe as i think they're covered with plastic! Made a lots of noise when you moved around. The rooms weren't cleaned very thoroughly each day either.

Runned by a slightly eccentric owner, but he's more then happy to help whenever needed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Specopspaintball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston,on.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

My daughters & I had a wonderful trip to Rome. After reading the reviews from your web-site, decided to book this B&B. The location is just fantastic. Only a couple of blocks to the Vatican city. And literally steps to excellent restaurants, cafes, shopping & transit. Do check out Old Bridge near the Vatican for the best gelato in Rome! Our room was simple, comfortable & our host Armando was very charming & helpful. Going above & beyond helping us with a very early wake-up & arranged taxis to the airport on our last day. Thank-you Armando. You made our trip very memorable indeed. We will be pleased to recommend your lovely place to fellow travellers. From the girls from Canada.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kingstongirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Amazing location. 5-star rating for cleanliness and hospitality.
My friend and I were treated as princesses and we simply fell in love with the rooms which were spotless, cosy and perfect for a holiday get-away in Rome. The innkeeper was a friendly and helpful man who made our stay even more welcoming than it already was. The price we paid was worth it.

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank helenagoesplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

Perfectly placed just outside the tourist traps of the old town this delightful B&B was the ideal spot for a couple looking to relax in Rome. Transport links were excellent with a Metro stop a stones throw away and a wealth of buses leaving from the squares outside the close-by Vatican.

The good gentleman who owns this establishment was always on hand to help with travel advice and ideas for where to dine.

We would wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone looking for a clean, spacious, relaxed place to stay - exactly as it says on the site.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiiiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2008

I booked Domus Betti on-line directly on their website on Oct 9, 2007. I received back a reply confirmation. On Oct 10, I received an email from Armando Betti that he was sorry he had no booking available for the dates I wanted. I considered this a cancellation of my reservation and sought accommodation elsewhere.

Now 8 months later, at 4:00 am in the morning, I received a telephone call from Mr. Betti regarding my reservation. I was surprised as I thought this was cancelled long ago. He stated the cost was not going to be 85 EUR, but now was 130 EUR, did I still want the room. I told him NO, when I received his email stating he did not have availability the dates I needed I had sought accommodation elsewhere. He was surprised that I no longer wanted the room, but told me to cancel the reservation. I again told him I considered that he had cancelled my reservation when he said he had no availability.

With these mistakes and changes, I certainly wouldn't take a chance now of travelling all that distance, arriving in Rome not knowing if I had a room reservation or not. I feel this is a very poor way to run a business.

  • Liked — N/A
  • Disliked — Business Practices
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank agabbymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#371 of 1,259 in Rome
415 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,151 of 3,669 in Rome
90 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,259 in Rome
6,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#94 of 1,259 in Rome
1,191 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#461 of 1,259 in Rome
290 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Betti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Betti

Property: Domus Betti
Address: Via Germanico 85, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,163 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Domus Betti 2*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing