We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Domus Betti

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domus Betti
Ranked #3,160 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The rooms has nothing to do with pictures. The owner is unfriendly, rude and unclear. It is in the first floor but the owner doesn't allow costumers to take the elevator, not even when you are carrying suitcases. In middle of winter he apologized (once we where there) because the heater didn't work, he said he was waiting to let it be repaired, we just realized that the heater was simply switched off. Not cleat at all, I found hairs in the bed clothing, eeew! Breakfast cosisted in wraped bread, powdered coffee ans cheap juice. The so-called WIFI connection is a public connection situated somewhere in the street via Germanico, so it doesn't work properly inside, when you walk outside you are connected though! when we asked the owner about WIFI he just said he is not an IT.

Room Tip: Find another accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MRS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    7
    4
    16
See reviews for
11
22
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here for 6 days. Convenient location near Metro and Vatican. My son and I enjoyed Armando, the innkeeper. He had a friendly, welcoming manner. We had paid in full on line before arrival, with a credit card. We accepted the no refund policy due to the excellent rate, but it was a relief to find a clean comfortable room. The cappuchino in the morning was delicious. There are 3 locks, one at street level, one at the entrance to B and B, and one to the room door, so we felt safe leaving some of our valuables in the room. We also felt safe on this street at night.
We had absolutely no problem with insects, even though nobody in Rome seems to have screens.
Also, it is hot in the summer, so don't book here if you need air conditioning. Be sure to ask Armando about Romes best gelato....it was a great tip!

Room Tip: If you are going in hot weather, negotiate fan for your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

it fits the backpackers, not for young kid, owner is very helpfull and gracious; only downside is front door of aparment and room windows are facing the street trash bins... so be carefull with your rubbish, cover them yo avoid inviting flies/mosquitos.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olegna81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Reservation made before hand expecting to pay 300 euros on arrival. Prior to arriving our credit card was charged 234 Euros. When I questioned (via email), they replied it was a discounted rate, and a bottle of wine would be waiting for us upon arrival. So expecting that since it was initiated by them I did not have 300 euros upon arrival. The proprietor Armando refused to let us in the room and demanded 300 euros. We told him we had paid $333. Cdn dollars to Domus Betti on our credit card but he did not believe us. This necessitated a long distance call(not from his phne though) to our credit card company (Master Card who were excellent), who provided transit numbers and transaction numbers. We provided them to Armando, who checked with his bank twice, as he said this was not how he did business. He eventually gave us the key to the room then demanded the remaining 66 euros. At this point after being up more than 24 hours we gave him the remainder. Aside from the silver fish in the bathroom the accomodation was adequate. Breakfast consisted of 2 cello wrapped pastries, juice and coffee. He also provided a fruit bowl, and before we left, a bottle of wine. Anyone can make mistakes but it was his intransigence, insisting we had not paid that put us off. He is either very confused, or a scoundrel. If you give your credit card number to him beware! Also the rooms are not ground floor and the photos on the web site are carefully staged.If you have lots of luggage or have trouble with stairslook elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cocoa10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Bacolod, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We only stayeed three nights, but were very satisfied. Location is perfect just 2 blocks from Vatican City. Rooms are more than adequate if you don't spend much time there - clean, comfortable, secure. Breakfast is light and just what one needs before starting the day. We arranged a van to/from the airport - a bit pricy but a really good option, expecially if you are concerned about finding the hotel for the first time. We couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigWalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2010

We stayed at Domus Betti during Sep-10 and we had an absolutely great time. The B&B is situated just a couple of blocks away from the Vatican and the nearest Metro station and it offers great value for money. The host was very friendly and helpful and although it was a little noisy in the street at times, it certainly didn’t take much away from the comfort of our stay. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean and the owner makes a great cappuccino! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PvanNiekerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

This place is totally fine. We didn't spend much time in our room, of course, because we were busy with sightseeing, but it's a perfectly fine hotel. Our room had a very odd, but functional air conditioner, a separate bathroom (which is more than I can say for the hostel I stayed in in Florence), and a reasonably comfortable bed. We weren't required to pay cash, and the little old man who runs the place (who's adorable, by the way) was very sweet and helpful. The only thing I really disliked in the room was the light--horrible fluorescent, and it was the only choice. This is a bare-bones discount room, naturally, but it's nice enough.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ediblesprysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#378 of 1,259 in Rome
415 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,153 of 3,669 in Rome
90 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,259 in Rome
6,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#94 of 1,259 in Rome
1,191 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#460 of 1,259 in Rome
290 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Betti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Betti

Property: Domus Betti
Address: Via Germanico 85, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,160 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Domus Betti 2*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing