We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean, safe, comfortable”
Review of Domus Betti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domus Betti
Ranked #3,244 of 3,782 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here for 6 days. Convenient location near Metro and Vatican. My son and I enjoyed Armando, the innkeeper. He had a friendly, welcoming manner. We had paid in full on line before arrival, with a credit card. We accepted the no refund policy due to the excellent rate, but it was a relief to find a clean comfortable room. The cappuchino in the morning was delicious. There are 3 locks, one at street level, one at the entrance to B and B, and one to the room door, so we felt safe leaving some of our valuables in the room. We also felt safe on this street at night.
We had absolutely no problem with insects, even though nobody in Rome seems to have screens.
Also, it is hot in the summer, so don't book here if you need air conditioning. Be sure to ask Armando about Romes best gelato....it was a great tip!

Room Tip: If you are going in hot weather, negotiate fan for your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

it fits the backpackers, not for young kid, owner is very helpfull and gracious; only downside is front door of aparment and room windows are facing the street trash bins... so be carefull with your rubbish, cover them yo avoid inviting flies/mosquitos.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olegna81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Reservation made before hand expecting to pay 300 euros on arrival. Prior to arriving our credit card was charged 234 Euros. When I questioned (via email), they replied it was a discounted rate, and a bottle of wine would be waiting for us upon arrival. So expecting that since it was initiated by them I did not have 300 euros upon arrival. The proprietor Armando refused to let us in the room and demanded 300 euros. We told him we had paid $333. Cdn dollars to Domus Betti on our credit card but he did not believe us. This necessitated a long distance call(not from his phne though) to our credit card company (Master Card who were excellent), who provided transit numbers and transaction numbers. We provided them to Armando, who checked with his bank twice, as he said this was not how he did business. He eventually gave us the key to the room then demanded the remaining 66 euros. At this point after being up more than 24 hours we gave him the remainder. Aside from the silver fish in the bathroom the accomodation was adequate. Breakfast consisted of 2 cello wrapped pastries, juice and coffee. He also provided a fruit bowl, and before we left, a bottle of wine. Anyone can make mistakes but it was his intransigence, insisting we had not paid that put us off. He is either very confused, or a scoundrel. If you give your credit card number to him beware! Also the rooms are not ground floor and the photos on the web site are carefully staged.If you have lots of luggage or have trouble with stairslook elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cocoa10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We only stayeed three nights, but were very satisfied. Location is perfect just 2 blocks from Vatican City. Rooms are more than adequate if you don't spend much time there - clean, comfortable, secure. Breakfast is light and just what one needs before starting the day. We arranged a van to/from the airport - a bit pricy but a really good option, expecially if you are concerned about finding the hotel for the first time. We couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigWalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

We stayed at Domus Betti during Sep-10 and we had an absolutely great time. The B&B is situated just a couple of blocks away from the Vatican and the nearest Metro station and it offers great value for money. The host was very friendly and helpful and although it was a little noisy in the street at times, it certainly didn’t take much away from the comfort of our stay. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean and the owner makes a great cappuccino! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PvanNiekerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

This place is totally fine. We didn't spend much time in our room, of course, because we were busy with sightseeing, but it's a perfectly fine hotel. Our room had a very odd, but functional air conditioner, a separate bathroom (which is more than I can say for the hostel I stayed in in Florence), and a reasonably comfortable bed. We weren't required to pay cash, and the little old man who runs the place (who's adorable, by the way) was very sweet and helpful. The only thing I really disliked in the room was the light--horrible fluorescent, and it was the only choice. This is a bare-bones discount room, naturally, but it's nice enough.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ediblesprysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

The service was great Armando Betti was most helpful in everything. It was like haveing a friend or family member in a foriegn country. This was my first ever trip out of the US so I had no clue about anything. He went out of his way to be helpful. The rooms were very clean and he brought breakfast to us every morning. Bring ear plugs, because of the tempature it was to warm to close the windows, and the street noise made it a little difficult for sleeping. The location was wonderful, just a few blocks from the Vatican and a few blocks from many wonderful places to eat and shop. the best gellatio ever was within walking distance. Not only was Armando very helpful, but he also has a great sense of humor, that made you feel very comfortable and at home. The rate for our stay was very reasonable, When I return to Rome I will stay at the Domus Betti....Thanks Armando!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvtotravelworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
7,115 reviews
Abemus in San Pietro
#1,539 of 3,782 in Rome
16 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#223 of 1,271 in Rome
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#67 of 1,271 in Rome
1,484 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#455 of 1,271 in Rome
303 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#100 of 1,271 in Rome
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Betti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Betti

Address: Via Germanico 85, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,244 of 3,782 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $49 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Domus Betti 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Domus Betti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing