We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat, Clean and Nice”
Review of Baldassini B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baldassini B&B
Ranked #1,132 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Neat, Clean and Nice”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed in Baldassini B&B for 3 nights in September 2013. On arrival from a long flight we were greeted by the assistant Ruby who was our only contact for the stay. We never met the owner. Ruby was friendly, helpful and cheery.

We stayed in the Yellow Room. the room is very very small. The bathroom is outside the room but private only for you. I knew the room is going to be small so not complaining there. The location is fantastic, right between Piazza Navona and Pantheon both of them less than 5 mins walk. In fact we walked everywhere. Right from Colloseum to Spanish Steps.

The room was clean and bed was made up everyday. Break fast was simple, cereals, bread, cheese and milk. We are vegetarians. For the day we were leaving, since we were leaving early, Ruby left some food for us on the table and in the fridge.

Wifi didnt work...as in it worked in the corridor but not in the room...

For the money you pay, you expect slightly better ...but this is Rome....no complaints...good enough place for somebody who comes to experience the city ..not in the room.

Room Tip: Maybe the other 2 rooms are slightly bigger...so check the budget and the availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neerav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    38
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
125
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our room had basic furnishings but the room was very clean and our host a delight and very helpful. Great in-room breakfast and right on schedule!
Location is fantastic, best way to get around is by bus or walking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsonjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This place is perfect because it is super close to everything, the vatican really being the only exception at under 30 min walk from. Taxis are cheap, 9€ to vatican.

I expected it to be louder at night, it was a nice surprise that it was not as noisy and chaotic as i expected for central Rome! I am a light sleeper. I slept with earplugs and was ok. Only heard 3-4 trucks in the AM (8am) go by. Did not hear people on the street at all.

There is a restraunt just steps outside the door and under BB which serves wine by the bottle, drink then pay for what you drink! Genius! 2,50€ for a glass, 5€ half bottle, 9€ whole bottle.

The service is great! Our maid Ruby is a sweetheart. Francesco the owner ensures you have everything you need and that you are happy. When we mentioned the shower drain was blocked (hair) it was fixed within the hour, too bad no one mentioned it to him before, he did not know.

The AC works, and quickly. Within 5 min of entering our room it was cool. It was so silent i didn't know it was on! There is a remote so can adjust temp when you sleep from bed.

I stayed with my sis and a gf for 8 nights. The room wasLARGE by roman standards as it used to be an apartment that is renovated into a hotel. It is NOT a B&B in the way that we use the word if you are from USA or Canada. You are not IN someones house, we LIKED this aspect very much.
Owners sister lives across the hall in an apartment. There are 3 rooms, we where in largest, Red room, faced street. There is great photos on his website of rooms. Also a blue and yellow room.
It is called B&B because you ARE given breakfast, bacon, eggs, OJ, bread, cornflakes, yogurt, fruit, ask for what you want and he gets it. cappuccino is very good! He got me a juice i requested.

Very accommodating. You will be HAPPY here because he ENSURES it is so.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rehbergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

June 21 & 22, 2013 - Not only was this a superb location (very easy walk to Piazza Navonna and Pantheon neighborhood) the gracious hospitality will keep us coming back. There was a little confusion upon arrival as our host had to be called away, but after contacting him via the kind pizzeria managers cell phone next door, all was well. Wonderful breakfast brought directly to your room.. Clean and very comfy!! Ask for the bigger room if you need more space and will be staying longer than a few nights...I would recommend this hotel to anyone!! Francesco also recommended several excellent restaurants nearby that were really good! Al fresco dining in any direction of this wonderful B&B! Thank you for a wonderful stay!!!

Room Tip: When searching for a B&B or excursion in the US or abroad, always check reviewers of your fellow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italybound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here for three nights, and the location was just dynamite, really the best place I have ever stayed at in Rome. Room is expensive for how big it is, but it is Rome and you are in the center of the action, ten minutes walk to the Vatican, around the corner from Piazza Navona, the Pantheon, and the Trevi Fountain. Ruby the woman who took care of us was just fantastic, breakfast was delicious and big, so that was nice to get you started roaming around Rome. All of the recommendations for food were spot on, we hit almost all of them and they were all within walking distance. Best gelato in Rome is within walking distance also, which really is the most important thing.

***Note if you are coming here, pay the money for the Roma Pass, look it up. First two museums/attractions you get to hop the line- so do this for the Colosseum for sure it is worth the money, and then all your public transportation is included. You can buy these almost anywhere you see the sign, like a street paper vendor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I (30 yo couple) spent four nights in the "Blue Room" at the Baldassini B&B last week. We could not have been happier with our choice.

The location of the B&B is absolutely amazing. SO CENTRAL. We could literally walk EVERYWHERE in Rome. It was so nice to be able to see so many sites without having to use the metro, take a taxi, etc.

We had backpacks (not suitcases), and arrived in Rome via Roma Termini Train Station. We walked from the train station to the B&B, which was not a problem for us at all (although I would NOT wanted to make the hike with a suitcase or if I wasn't in good health). I also wouldn't have walked to walk from the train station if it was HOT. We were fortunate to have cool temperatures. The hosts at the B&B seemed surprised we had walked vs. using transportation, but we didn't think it was too bad of a stroll!

During our stay we literally walked EVERYWHERE. I had never been to Rome before, so I wasn't sure how "walkable" the city would be, but this location makes anything possible. We walked to the Vatican, Trevi, Spanish Steps, Colosseum, Train Station, the Pantheon is literally around the corner. The Piazza Navona was around the corner. The best part of staying so centrally in a "touristy" area was that we were able to visit all the "tourist sites" during the very early morning (walking) and in the evening (walking) once all the day trippers were gone. The Trevi was madness during the day, but at night it was fantastic - a short little stroll down the street.

Our room was small, but very clean and comfortable. It did NOT have a view, but we were well aware of this ahead of time. We didn't plan on spending much time looking out the window of a hotel room when there are so many other sites to see in Rome. Noise from the street was not a problem at all. The B&B is actually on a very quiet stretch of road. There were some crazy birds outside, but that was about the only noise we heard.

Breakfast was served every morning at the time of our choice between 8am and 10am by a woman named Ruby. She was one of the sweetest people we met on our entire trip. Breakfast was fairly large: toast, jam, eggs, bacon, salami, cheese, yogurt, cereal, OJ, coffee... it was always a great way to start our morning (Hi Ruby!!!!).

Franceso sent my husband and I an email with a list of suggested restaurants in the area as well as places for gelati & coffee. We had done a little research re: food before our trip, but we were thankful for all the wonderful recommendations.

We had a bit of trouble with payment at the end of our trip because the online payment system for the B&Bs website was down. Francesco was very, very patient with my husband and I. He sent us a paypal link so that we could pay while the website was down, but we were having difficulty getting the transaction to complete (we think this was probably because we were using iPods & iPads instead of a computer, but who knows). In any case, we actually ended up waiting until we got home to make our payment. As I said above, Francesco was VERY patient, and for that we were thankful!

Overall, we were VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY happy with our stay. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Could not be more pleased with our stay.

Thank you to Angela, Francesco, and Ruby.

Room Tip: The blue room does not have a view & it is very small; however, it is very clean & very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTA208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent two nights in Rome staying in Baldassini B&B via delle Coppelle to celebrate our 1st Wedding Anniversary.

The location is amazing...Piazza Navona and Pantheon (3 minute stroll or 1 minute walk), Trevi fountain (5 minute stroll or 3 minute walk), Colleseum and Vatican (25 minute stroll or 15 minute walk). There are many very nice Tratorrias, Gelaterias and Restaurants located nearby including a couple right outside the doorstep.

The accommodation itself is basic but clean and has everything thing you'd want and expect from a B&B. Breakfast was lovely and was served at the time of your choosing every morning to the room.

Angela was a fantastic host and very helpful. She was happy to take the time to recommend and locate places to visit and nice places to eat at. This B&B is excellent value for money especially considering the location.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Save yourself some money and stay here instead of the hotels in the area. You'll be so busy looking at the sights of Rome and eating in the fantastic eateries that there's no point paying for hotel facilities you're not going to use!

Highly recommended!!!

NOTE : if you're planning on visiting the Vatican and the Colleseum, I recommend booking in advance online if only for the feeling of satisfaction you get walking straight past the huge queues to the front! Also, Trattoria Pino alle Coppelle just down the street from the B&B is lovely!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#275 of 1,256 in Rome
197 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Juno Pantheon B&B
Juno Pantheon B&B
#962 of 3,643 in Rome
57 reviews
Colonna
Pantheon Holiday
Pantheon Holiday
#718 of 3,643 in Rome
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#51 of 3,643 in Rome
166 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Best Suites Pantheon
Best Suites Pantheon
#1,155 of 3,643 in Rome
118 reviews
Colonna
City's House B&B
City's House B&B
#943 of 3,643 in Rome
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baldassini B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldassini B&B

Property: Baldassini B&B
Address: via delle Coppelle 37, #2, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,132 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Baldassini B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baldassini B&B is set in a exclusive historic and artistic frame: the Pantheon and Navona Square, the Trevi???s Fountain, the Spanish Steps, Saint Angel Castle, the Vatican, Campo de??? Fiori, Trastevere, the Roman Forum and the Colosseum. That is the ideal location to seeing Rome on foot. Our rooms are provided of all facilities to make you feel like at home: ensuite bathroom, air conditioning, internet access, tv, mini bar, microwave, kettle, toaster, newspapers. Continental breakfast is served in your room (coffee or cappuccino or tea or hot chocolate, orange juice, croissant, biscuits, toast or bread, jam, butter, yoghurt, muesli, milk, fresh fruits). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Baldassini B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baldassini Bed And Breakfast
Baldassini Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing