We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baldassini Travestere”
Review of Baldassini B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baldassini B&B
Ranked #1,677 of 3,711 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed in the other Baldassini in Travestere with my daughter. I had asked for a quiet room and got exactly that - spacious, beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! Francesco and his lovely family were completely helpful and available at all times. The area is lovely - not very touristy but very Roman and close to absolutely everywhere. I wanted to give my daughter an authentic Italian experience and deliberately avoided the anonymity of a hotel. This was a perfect way to get as close to Rome as possible. I will not bother looking for anywhere else to stay when I return. Only problem was the water pipes could be a bit noisy at night - but suck it up! You're in Rome, it's old!!!

Room Tip: Ask Francesco what room he would recommend based on your requirements. I e-mailed him before bookin...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AoifeRosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Baldassini B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 203 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2011

Location, location, location. This B&B was 2 minutes from the Pantheon and the Piazza Navona. We walked to ALL of the sites we wanted to see including the vatican city, coliseum, spanish steps, tastevere etc. The "yellow room" that we stayed in was clean and comfortable and had all the amenities we needed, including AC, an intimate table for breakfast, bright large windows and a large private bathroom. Breakfast was plentiful and served promptly by Ruby, who was a treat to wake up to each day. She made us great cappacinos and provided help with directions. We had enough food at beakfast to pack a light lunch of salami and chese and bread every day. Access to the internet and tourist guides/books was freely available. Francesco was a most pleasant host and freely shared all of his tips regarding roman cuisine, restauants and sights to see. We would not hesitate to recommend this as an outstanding place to stay in Rome. it was a home away from home.
George and Linda, Ottawa, Canada.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westborotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay ay Baldassini in Ancient Rome. We spent two weeks in Europe, starting and ending our trip in Rome. This was our first hotel, and we stayed 3 nights.

The best thing about this hotel is location! It can't be beat. We walked to everything. (Wear comfortable shoes!). Our longest walk was probably to the Vatican. It was under 30 minutes, but you are meandering through these charming streets, so it doesn't feel far at all. Baldassini is right around the corner from the Pantheon and the Piazza Navona. Though you'll do a ton of sightseeing, one of our favorite things was to sit around in these squares, eat gelato, and just soak up the experience.

Francesco was very friendly, and Ruby was great. She made us eggs and bacon every morning. Francesco recommended all the things we "must see" while there.

If you are coming from the airport, ask Francesco to recommend transportation. It is worth it after an all night flight. Even if you don't take private transportation, I'd take a taxi. (Though the company Francesco recommended was less exp than a taxi.) It was so much more convenient than the train (and you'd still have to get a taxi once in the city) and almost the same price.

The room is very simple. I found the bed comfortable, but my husband did not. You can hear through the walls pretty easily. We couldn't hear street noise, but we could gear others in the building. Fortunately, it isn't an active building, and you do so much during the day you have a tendency to sleep heavily.

For being a simple room, it wasn't inexpensive, but it was worth it for the great location and friendly people.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Rome was our first stop for three days before departing on our Holy Land cruise with the Pacific Princess.
Arriving at the Airport we were greeted by a limousine which Francesco had organised for us.
Taking us to Trastevere B&B where we were welcomed by Isabella .Our room was awesome with a balcony over looking the streets full of busy restaurants ,motor scooters, smart cars loved there parking !
We met Francesco later that day he gave us all the numbers of buses to use to get around the city , which was so helpful.

The next day we used the double Decker green bus so we could get on & off at the sites & learn about it as we drove around , we found this to be much easier .As we were close to the Tiber River we always knew our way back to our B & B so never got lost. This was a fabulous location with all the best eateries you could imagine, a good find was the restaurant I Migici Anni 60 ( 30a Via dei Fienaroli Trastevere )

Our breakfast in the mornings before we set out for the day , were amazing from fresh fruit to bacon & eggs & cooked as we wished. The cappuccinos were perfect .:)
We were well looked after by this lovely friendly couple & will return some day
Grazie
Merlyn & Roger ( NZ )

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My wife and I were looking forward to a week in Rome traveling down from Venice & Cinqueterre when my wife was rushed to a hospital after a from Riomaggiore. We knew Rome would have to be canceled so I called Francesco at Baldassini to let him know of the situation. While he had every right to keep our money for the entire week (+$900 Euros), he offered to see if he could rent the room. Francesco was able to rent all but one day, which he did not charge us.

I gave Baldassini 5 stars for this act of kindness. But when you treat your customers with nothing to gain, as in our case. I have to believe the care he gives to those who stay with him must exceed 5 stars.

Judy & Mel

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Hotel managers Francesco and Isabella welcomed us as if we were guests staying at their home, rather than mere strangers passing through Rome.

They could not have been more hospitable, offering suggestions and directions at every opportunity including the local transport system. Daily breakfast was also very nice and plentiful.

As for the location, Trastevere is far away from the throngs of tourists in central Rome and is loaded with cafes and restaurants at reasonable prices. It can be easily reached by frequent rail service from Fiumicino Airport - nearby transport to the main sites is via Bus 3 (Coliseum) or Tram 8 (Pantheon/Piazza Navona).

We will most certainly plan on staying with them again for our next visit to Rome, and this is reflected in our ratings.

Room Tip: Book early !
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

When we arrived early Francesco was so lovely, racing up as quick as he could to let us into our room. He gave us a quick run down of the doors and locks then proceeded to give us directions to restaurants and gelato places in the direct area. Ruby prepared us a lovely breaky each morning and it was so nice to come back to a room that smelt like cleaning products after Ruby cleaned.
Two minutes to Piazza Navona and the Pantheon meant you were never to far from anything and if you needed to catch a taxi those two well known places meant you didnt have to worry about remembering directions or street names for the driver.
Free internet was also a lovely added extra.
We had a lovely stay. Thankyou very much.

Matt and Beckk
Australia

Room Tip: The red room is large, has a lovely view out to the street and a table to eat you breakkfast at. The...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckFSiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Luxury Navona
Luxury Navona
#1,360 of 3,711 in Rome
26 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Affreschi su Roma Luxury B&B
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Dulcis in Pantheon
Dulcis in Pantheon
#218 of 3,711 in Rome
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#51 of 3,711 in Rome
174 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Juno Pantheon B&B
Juno Pantheon B&B
#869 of 3,711 in Rome
58 reviews
Colonna
City's House B&B
City's House B&B
#978 of 3,711 in Rome
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baldassini B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldassini B&B

Address: via delle Coppelle 37, #2, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,677 of 3,711 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $126 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Baldassini B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baldassini B&B is set in a exclusive historic and artistic frame: the Pantheon and Navona Square, the Trevi???s Fountain, the Spanish Steps, Saint Angel Castle, the Vatican, Campo de??? Fiori, Trastevere, the Roman Forum and the Colosseum. That is the ideal location to seeing Rome on foot. Our rooms are provided of all facilities to make you feel like at home: ensuite bathroom, air conditioning, internet access, tv, mini bar, microwave, kettle, toaster, newspapers. Continental breakfast is served in your room (coffee or cappuccino or tea or hot chocolate, orange juice, croissant, biscuits, toast or bread, jam, butter, yoghurt, muesli, milk, fresh fruits). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baldassini B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baldassini Bed And Breakfast
Baldassini Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing