We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found a home in Rome”
Review of Villa Laetitia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Laetitia
Ranked #461 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Paros, Greece
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We found a home in Rome”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Fabulous. Didn't much look forward to crowded Rome in July, but Villa Laetitia made it a wonderful, laid back experience. The location, away from the maddening crowds, was perfect, and the staff in the hotel .... each and every one a pleasure to get to know. Breakfast was delicious, our Garden Room was perfect and our private terrace overlooking the gardens allowed us to relax outside, listening to birdsong rather than traffic. A word of warning, though: - if you are still craving traditional luxury Villa Laetitia may not be for you. However, if you have replaced your need for luxury with a deep appreciation of exclusivity ............ then this is your future address in Rome.

Room Tip: Just make sure you get a room with a private terrace, then the rest will take care of itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik-xVx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    40
    9
    10
    1
See reviews for
17
80
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel is beautiful, very quiet as is set behind the main building. The room we had was great with a small kitchen with tea and coffee provided. All staff were wonderful, including the breakfast waiter who assisted in serving an unforgetable breakfast each morning. Best hotel I've stayed at.
There is even a computer area for printing etc as well as free wifi in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damien R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I travel quiet a bit & can definitely say this is the nicest place I've ever stayed. The hotel itself is an old Roman building with the domed ceiling. The staff are the friendliest & most helpful people. We got caught in the rain one day & the cleaning lady insisted on washing & drying & ironing our clothes for us. She also gave us tea while we waiting in our fresh robes. You really cant put a price on service like that.
The hotel is 3 street from the Metro stop which you can walk in 10 minutes. The room themselves a fully equipt with a kitchette & terraced area. I really cant think of anyway of improving our stay

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trish1CorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I booked through Expedia and left the same review on their site. I loved the experience so much, I wanted to make sure those searching Trip Advisor also saw it! We stayed four days in April 2012 and hated to leave.

The only thing more inviting than the lovingly and beautifully designed hotel was the superb staff; Quick with a smile, a dinner reccomendation/reservation, or offer of a hotel umbrella when it rained. This hotel is all about the details - the room feels like you are staying not at Anna Fendi's hotel, but as a guest in her own home. The room was gorgeous - full of amenities and personal touches (great for couples!). It's surrounded by a lush, tucked away garden that feels far from the hustle of Rome while still being right in the thick of it (One Metro stop from the Vatican). The area is more upscale, safe and quiet with a great neighborhood feel; you're just steps away from some great reastaurants and shopping that feel more local than overcrowded with tourists. Breakfast in the main Villa every morning was delicious. The beds were the only comfortable ones we had our entire trip throughout Italy. This was by far the best hotel experience on our trip (of ANY trip) - we will not think of staying anywhere else in Rome and will sing the VIlla's praises to anyone who will listen.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

This hotel is stylish and is placed away from the street. The walls are not the thickets and the rooms are not the largest. However this is an experience in terms of style. In fron there is a mansion which is under refurbishment - but no nosie or dust from the work. This will become restaurant and spa in a new part of the hotel. According to the reception the hotel is owned by Fendi and there is indeed quite a number of Fendi things around. We stayed a family in 2 rooms and if you like something else than the normal business hotel this is perfect. Stay away from the breakfast and take the 2 minutes to the carrefour for breakfast shopping.

And be prepared for some walking to the Metro. Bring an addres for the hotel if you plan to us taxies.

And enjoy.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms above ground floor. One has a small terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Svegaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I stayed at, in fact am writing from, Villa Laetitia and have to say we are extremely disappointed. The only person on staff we've met is Miguel, who is very very nice and helpful, but it's as if whoever owns this place woken up one day and said, "I think i'll run a hotel today."

The property is under construction, which we were told in an email upon booking, but it said it "might" affect the "entrance" but would not affect our rooms. Well, the entrance is indeed trashed, but the grounds are also affected (the garden is not set up and chairs are stacked in corners). The room is big enough for us (we were told we HAD to book the suite for 3), but the floor is covered in construction dust. My feet are black if I walk barefoot. Not affected? I also can smell the dust and we can feel it when we breath in. IT's everywhere, not just contained to the entrance, which is 30 meters away. I said something to Miguel, again he is so nice, but he became defensive and said, "We told you there was construction." Well, that's true so I guess we are wrong to complain.

The shower, as someone indicated below, is ridiculous. So small you can't bend over, or escape the water to shampoo your hair. No shelf in the sower means you have to step out to get shampoo and soap, and when you do, the water gets everywhere because the shower is literally, no exaggeration, 2 x 2 feet.

We were shown the breakfast room when we arrived and assuming we could go there in the morning (breakfast time), we showed up at 9 to a darkened room, only to be told we had to let them know we wanted breakfast. Would have been nice to know that upon arrival.

Internet service is slow slow slow. Took me 5 minutes to open this page. My husband can't even log onto the network and had to go ask if he would use their hard wire to download a contract he needs to sign. We are three people in our room, but only received 2 towels. All and all, it's not a place to enjoy a relaxing holiday. For the prince (290 euros a night) we could have found a place closer to the center, with staff who have run a hotel before.

The location is quiet and pretty, but not anywhere you can grab a taxi or metro

There are also no other guests in the hotel. I guess they were smarter than us upon booking. Lesson learned.

Pluses: bed is comfy. air conditioning works well. miguel tries super hard but has limited tools at his disposal.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank klova2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

We stayed in a "Senior Suite" - "Atelier Room" - which would be better in nice weather than in the winter. The room, with small kitchenette, was too small and had no comfortable seating. If you stay in this room during warm weather, you have a lovely private, outside terrace which is larger than the room. The kitchenette was well supplied and a definite plus for the room. The metal spiral stairs leading from the sleeping area to the outside terrace are just about 12" from the foot of the bed, causing many leg bruises. The towels and toiletries that were provided were nice, but the bathroom was barely big enough to turn around in. One of the desk clerks was quite helpful, but otherwise the service from front desk staff was spotty - gave incorrect directions to something which was just was just two blocks away, had no change to provide to guests for use in their coin operated coffee machine, etc. The housekeeping staff were outstanding - efficient, pleasant and consistent.
In general the location is great - mostly a residential fairly quiet residential area. One of the eleven nights while we were staying there they had a large party in the patio area and, as usual, the staff left at ll:00pm with no one at the front desk or anywhere else in the hotel to supervise the party which went on until 1:00am. From 11:00pm until 1:00pm the music was sooooo loud that it sounded as if it were being played at full volume in our "sleeping" room. When I complained to the desk clerk the following morning he acted offended, but no offer of any discount, complimentary breakfast or even an apology.
The wireless internet system worked sometimes and for short periods.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nydy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Residence Prati
#586 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Donna Laura Palace Hotel
#261 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#23 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Celio Hotel
Celio Hotel
#554 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Villa Letizia
#823 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Laetitia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Laetitia

Property: Villa Laetitia
Address: Lungotevere delle Armi 22/23, 00195 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Laetitia 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Laetitia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Laetitia Hotel Rome
Laetitia Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing