We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't look any further, book this hotel!”
Review of Hotel Capannelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Capannelle
Ranked #750 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We are so happy we booked this hotel. After a long journey from Venice to Florence and then to Rome it was nice to end our trip in a hotel like this. The hotel is about 15mins from Rome city centre and in a quiet safe residential area. The hotel provides a free shuttle service into Rome city centre which is very convenient. The shuttle takes you straight to the metro which is easy to navigate and necessary to get around Rome efficiently, it's a big place! The hotel staff are very helpful as expected. The room is spacious, air conditioned, clean and well furnished. There is free wifi in the hotel but the signal is temprementle in the room, you'll have to go downstairs for a decent signal. They have a lovely pool which is open most of the day, and they serve food and drinks at the hotel. There are cleaning and ironing services if you wish. The breakfast option is your typical buffet style basics, coffee, cheese, eggs bacon, etc. Honestly, I could not fault this hotel in any way. I loved my stay at this hotel and if I ever come back to Rome I will definitely stay here again. For this price it's well worth it! Book it now before it's booked full, you won't be disappointed. Promise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rumplestilskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Capannelle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel is located on a very beautiful part of Rome, low noise, seems very secure and its very pretty.
Our thoughts about the hotel itself:
The positive:
The room was great, very clean, the towels were changed every day, the bed was big and very comfortable (we asked for a big bed on our reservation) the bathroom was great, big and clean. It as free Wi-Fi, and the connection speed was very fast, and also they have a great breakfast (the croissants are yummy!!).
the staff is friendly and helpfull and if you ask they can call you a cab to the airport in our case the FCO airport with a flat rate, we really recommend that because the trip from the hotel to the FCO airport you can pay from 50 to 100€ depends on the taxi driver....

The negative:
The bathtub shower water pression was very low and the minibar didn’t work, although the prices on the drinks were very accessible.
the location part is the big downside because the hotel runs a shuttle service to the metro stations near the hotel, but its a small bus and sometimes it can get full and then you only have 2 choices or you wait a lot of time for the next one, or take the city bus to the nearest metro station (I will talk about the Rome bus service in just a sec)
However if you have a Rome pass (you can buy it near termini station and at some monuments) you have all the transports for free so you can use the public transportation with no problems.

Bottom line you need to spend more or less 45 minutes from the hotel to Rome city center.

overall we really liked the hotel, great value for the money, we don’t think its a 4 star hotel maybe a good 3 star but considering the price we paid for the night we definitely recommend it, if you rent a car then it’s a very good place to consider, if not you have to consider losing that hour every day to get to Rome.


About the bus service
it is at the very least a bit chaotic, the bus drivers were very friendly, but they do almost anything while driving, speaking on the phone (roman style, loud!), eating a sandwich while driving.. The driving is always aggressive almost like bullying the other cars lol and the bus itself looked like it was about to fall apart!.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrettyKiwaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Two couples - we booked this hotel because it was close to the airport and we had an early start in the morning. First mistake. We were lucky we only stayed one night. The rating for this hotel (4 stars) makes a joke of hotel ratings in Italy.
2nd mistake - eating in the hotel for dinner.
Extremely limited menu, began with chipped wine glasses,chipped side plates, stale bread basket, Extremely slow and inefficient table service. Food finally arrived and is promptly sent back as it is only lukewarm. Offered alternative which was little better. Staff then surly and resentful. Large loud tv set showing soccer match in dining room !
Breakfast no better. Breakfast room carpet filthy beyond belief. Assortment of fruits in juice/syrup, tinned,not freshly prepared. fruit juice canned not fresh.
Staff at reception at checkout incredibly rude.
This was the last stopping place for us in Italy after a week of splendid and friendly 3 star hotels with excellent food. What a let down.! Be warned - 2 Stars would be extremely generous for this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelbaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My son and I chose the hotel because it has a swimming pool but the hotel is very large and very busy in August and the pool size is way too small for the number of guests, however, it was still quite nice to be able to cool off with a swim after a long hot day in Rome. We found the hotel clean, the rooms were comfortable, air conditioning excellent, and the staff were helpful. The buffet breakfast was varied and plentiful, if quite busy and the restaurant serves decent food at prices not too expensive. It is quite a way out of town but there is a free shuttle to the metro and also a regular bus that runs along the Via Appia Nuova, a short walk from the hotel. A place worth a visit is the Villa dei Quintili which is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel this is a small museum and extensive ruins of a Roman villa, leading on the other side to the via Appia Antica where you can find interesting and not so busy places of interest. If you have a car, there is Lake Albano only 25 minutes drive away that is lovely for a swim if you have time for a day of relaxation!
Oh, the hotel drinks prices are what one would expect, however, please note there is 'happy hour' - well 2 happy hours actually, between 5pm and 7pm, when drinks are half price. We would stay here again when next in Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fid234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The beds are hard! Extremely hard!
Dont't book unless you are used to sleeping on a wooden board. I did read in some reviews about the beds, wished i had listened...
The hotel is very far from central rome, but public transportation will get you into town.
The hotel offers a shuttlebus to a metrostation, where we spent a lot of time waiting for the return shuttle to take us back to the hotel.
Forget the airportshuttle unless the times exactly match. They dont wait for you.
From the airport to the hotel is a 13€ ride with the taximeter on. Dont get ripped of, heard this a lot from other tourists. Just dont ask for a nice price.. And dont listen to the taxidriver when he sais its per person! Ofcourse its not!
There is a very nice restaurant just a block away wich serves very nice italian food. Just go left outside the hotel, first right and left at a small park. Just 100 meters and youre there! Cant remember the name of the place.. Something with soleil..
We higly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

If booking via Internet you can get great deal. Stayed in an executive room for a third of the listed rate.

The rooms have been recently renovated and include air conditioning, nice on suite bathroom, lined curtains to keep the sun out and the usual multimedia suite (pay for movie, free internet, cable tv).

Nestled within a residential area just off the busy Appia Road it's 15 minutes away from Ciampino airport, near the Appia way and other archeological sites within the regional park. Free shuttle service is provided from hotel to nearest Metro stop - take care to check the departure times - takes about 40 minutes to get to town.The reception desk staff are competent and efficient.

The hotel provides a fair breakfast of average quality products. The restaurant offers good food and wine. If your a fan of elaborate cocktails, order at your own risk - it's the first time I was ever served a smoothie-style Bloody Mary.

The pool area is small as is the pool; you can't swim in it. Good place to sun bathe though but limited space available.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xbow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel is far from central rome and their shuttle is limited runs from 7 am to about 10 then not again to 3 to 6:45. Hotel from the international airport and visa versa its about 70 euros for two ppl. We had to constantly cab it back to the hotel from the metro bc we wanted to stay in rome later than 6pm so that cost us 20 euros each cab ride. The food is the hotel was bad. they could have done better consideriing we are in italy.The hotel was the worst food i had in italy. the drinks werent cold when we ordered beer there . the pool closes at 7pm, so by the time we got back some days at 6:45 we couldnt even relax and swim in the pool. Our room was nice/clean except they put two double beds together to form a kings size bed. You tell me how my experience in this hotel was......

Room Tip: Rooms are clean but the beds are uncomfrtable
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffanymisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel La Genziana
#446 of 1,267 in Rome
134 reviews
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#207 of 1,267 in Rome
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#232 of 1,267 in Rome
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capannelle

Address: Via Siderno 37, 00178 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#322 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $62 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capannelle 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
250 guest rooms. Located just 9 km from downtown, 30 km from FIUMICINO airport and 4 km from CIAMPINO Airport, Shuttle bus service available. Complimentary off site car and pullman parking, on site parking for 280 cars available with a fee, 9 conference rooms with 2000 sqm of total meeting space, outdoor swimming pool and 500 sqm roof with a breathtaking city and Castelli Romani’s view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Capannelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Roma Capannelle Rome
Domina Roma Capannelle Hotel Conference

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing