We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel but get to know transport system or you'll be stranded!”
Review of Hotel Capannelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Capannelle
Ranked #636 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights and thought the cost reasonable at 66 Euros per night for a twin bedded room for two in high season for a four star hotel. (Booked via a discount hotel site).

My daughter and I went to tour Rome following completion of her exams and found it quiet, orderly and pleasant.

Pluses - good buffet breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon, frankfurters, roasted potatoe chunks, ham, cheese, salami, chicken, rolls, fruit, yoghourts, cakes, pastries, hot and cold drinks. We ate a very good breakfast early each morning and got on the hotel courtesy bus at 07.20 to get to the subway early so that we could beat the crowds. Courtesy bus links to a couple of local subway stations and the airport. The room was pleasant and cleaned well each day and provided us with usual facilities. The safe was free, easy to use and set your mind at rest if you wanted to leave valuables. The pool was small but pleasant with sun beds provided and rarely over crowded since most people were here for the sights of downtown Rome, like us. But it was a good treat if we got back early enough to have a drip and lie in the sun before dinner. TIP: take a towel since they charge 2 euros per person to hire one from the lifeguard and this can add up quickly.

Minuses - the staff were efficient but lacked warmth. The odd smile would have gone a long way to endear us to them and they were always seeming to want to deal with you quickly and expediently, never offering advice or local information which again would have endeared us to them. We could understand this attitude if they were knee deep in customers trying to book in, but generally they were pretty free and frankly quite averse to engaging with the public. There were issues over transport - we found that once we got to know the public system, it was actually very easy to work out - the local 664 bus from Arco will get you to and from Capannelle (the local area) so you don't have to rely on the strange timings of the courtesy bus. The courtesy bus seems to run regularly early morning and then there's a big gap until the evening so if you miss the last one back around lunch time, you have to wait until early evening to get back. Once we had worked out the buses and tubes (which is easy-peasy) we no longer had to rely on the hotel bus - but don't count on hotel staff advising you. We asked them about getting a bus to the airport. They told us there wasn't one but they could book us a car for 35 euros. We found there was several - admittedly from Termini station so not as straight forward as it might have been - but much, much cheaper and you could streamline time waiting around at the airport since the courtesy bus didn't link with our flight time by hours.

The hotel is about 10 miles or so outside the centre of Rome which makes it a nice, quiet retreat. If you are reasonably confident to work out the transport (and frankly it's not that hard) and like to have a pool at hand, then this is a lovely place to stay. If you are a little less confident and would rather be on top of the all the historic sites, then you need to be nearer to the city centre.

We found the local supermaket (from the front door of the hotel, turn left and stroll a few yards to the end of the lane and you'll find it on the RHS corner) very cheap, with helfpful and friendly staff and has everything you need for a lovely picnic. Also the local pizza shop (from the front door of the hotel turn left and left again - walking alongside the hotel with the pool on your left and turn right at the end of the lane - pizza place a few hundred yards along on your left) was excellent. You choose your pizza choices (pointing is fine if you don't speak any Italian, like us!) and he weighs them before charging. We had several yummy selections, beer and soft drink for around 8.5 euros - exellent value and we couldn't finish! They also serve freshly prepared lasagne and other yummy things. You can sit outside and he'll put everything into a box for you to take back to the hotel in the evening. Again, friendly and helpful. We found some Italians that know how to smile!

Overall, the hotel was modern, clean, efficient but lacked soul and character. Our stay would have been improved dramatically if the staff had been friendlier and more helpful.

Rome itself was astoundingly beautiful. We walked and travelled constantly for five days and still found we had lots left to see - we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imelda_Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,785)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Capannelle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

We are from Beijing, and we stay in this hotel for 4 weeks for business in Rome. the hotel is clean and room is large. the breakfast is good and the staff is nice. the location is in a suburb of middle -high class. We love this hotel.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
Thank teplc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I regret to say the service in this hotel is terrible. The staff are not friendly and do not go out of their way to assist you. I regret booking a hotel room for 9 days in this place. The hotel is, in theory, a 4 star hotel but they do not leave up to the four stars standard. Avoid staying in this hotel if you can.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcia0482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

This Hotel is supreme, it's a really nice modern hotel with all the facilities included. Location: This its the best hotel you can find if you arrive at Ciampino Airport because you have a free shuttle from the hotel to this airport round trip with a program schedule that you need to ask when you have your reservation. The hotel also have a free shuttles to the nearest metro station every 40 minutes,if you are able to follow the free shuttle schedule its going to be a perfect experience in Rome. I'm very happy to choose this hotel, that one was one of the best choice I had ever did. The hotel is outstanding and the room is supreme,with a bed even more bigger than our typical king size. The bathroom is amazing and the location of this hotel its very quite. You will find a nice restaurants and stores near this Hotel,you have actually a cuban restaurants just a few steps away from the lobby hotel and food its great and quality price equation are the best. Even if you get to Fuimicino this hotel remains at top of the best options available even if you have to pay a taxi to get here. Lets talk about breakfast, we dont have no words to describe the breakfast, the best breakfast I have ever had in my life,out of this world, and believe me when i say Italian coffee is the best coffee in the world.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elmisilbofill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed here just one night en route for a cruise from the port at Civitivechia.
Very nice modern hotel, pleasant view from the well equipped room overlooking quiet gardens with some traffic noise but bearable.
The hotel was spotlessly clean and had a bar where you could buy meals as well as a restaurant. The shuttle bus collects from the airport or takes you to the station (we didn't use it preferring a local taxi) but saw many people travelling that method.
There was a pool but it was closed though no signs to say that, we saw one couple being told to get out which didn't thril them..
I'm not sure why but the security guard was pacing back and forth staring at people, at one point my husband picked up a leaflet and perched on the arm of the very substantial leather settee to show me it, within 5 seconds the guard was there and in an unfriendly manner told him to get off the arm at once and sit properly! We were so shocked neither of us said a thing, but really, it was no way to treat customers...
Both of us have stayed in many hotels but never experienced being made to feel about 10 years of age and in trouble!
So my main review is pleasant hotel, well situated if you don't want the noise and heat of central Rome, handy for the airport and faultless except for the overbearing manner of some staff.. (I managed to sneak a photo of the chap in question, hopefully it will be with this review)

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room.
Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank Henryhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Hotel Capanelle is a first class hotel with excellent service. Situated outside Rome in a quiet suburb but with the shuttle service that the hotel provide free of charge this is not a problem. The shuttle takes you to a possibility of two metro stations and we were in historical Rome within 12 mins The shuttles will also take you to the airport as well what more could you need. Comfortable spacious and extremely clean room. Plenty of TV channels. A Wonderful breakfast!! We would definately reccommed this hotel and stay again ourselves as we love Rome and know that we will return

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hobunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Quiet, residential location. Large, clean hotel. On the whole we found the staff to be friendly and helpful particularly the housekeeping and bar staff. Reception could be a little unhelpful as though they had better things to do with their time..
This is essentially a business hotel, there is little information available to the foreign tourist as to how to get about etc.
The rooms are lovely and clean, we found the mattresss to be extremely hard. The bathrooms were lovely, nice deep baths, good shower! There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. You cannot open the windows and housekeeping have to come and open them for you as well as come back to lock them which is a bit of a pain. Breakfast was good, there was a good selection of foods.
There was free, secure parking at the hotel which is why we chose this hotel. It is perfectly located for the motorway to explore Tuscany - we drove to Firenze and the journey was very straight forward.
It was not too far away from the centre of Rome - you couldnt pop back during the day but it wasnt so far as to be worth spending alot more money to stay in the centre. We enjoyed the opportunity to escape the madness of central Rome back to the quiet serenity of this hotel. The pool area is also lovely and a great place to relax.

Room Tip: This is a very quiet hotel all rooms are good!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chessiered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel La Genziana
#445 of 1,267 in Rome
134 reviews
Flaminio
Best Western Hotel Astrid
Best Western Hotel Astrid
#199 of 1,267 in Rome
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#224 of 1,267 in Rome
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capannelle

Address: Via Siderno 37, 00178 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#296 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $61 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capannelle 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
250 guest rooms. Located just 9 km from downtown, 30 km from FIUMICINO airport and 4 km from CIAMPINO Airport, Shuttle bus service available. Complimentary off site car and pullman parking, on site parking for 280 cars available with a fee, 9 conference rooms with 2000 sqm of total meeting space, outdoor swimming pool and 500 sqm roof with a breathtaking city and Castelli Romani’s view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Capannelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domina Roma Capannelle Rome
Domina Roma Capannelle Hotel Conference

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing