We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of Rome hotels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buonanotte Garibaldi B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Buonanotte Garibaldi B&B
Ranked #407 of 3,735 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best of Rome hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

Four friends and I just spent four nights at Buonanotte Garibaldi. In a word, our experience was perfect. From the lovely garden and terraces, to the well placed art, the delicious and plentiful breakfast served in a lovely dining room, the comfortable beds, and small but beautiful rooms, we could not have enjoyed our stay more. It is an oasis in Rome. Trastevere is a vibrant neighborhood with wonderful restaurants, shops and historical sites.
Thanks Luisa, David and Irma, for providing us with a wonderful stay in Rome. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLRNewYork_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    13
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
59
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

I stayed here in July with my husband and my sister-in-law. We had two of the three rooms and felt like the inn was our house. Luisa, the owner, could not have been more gracious. The rooms are lovely, the patio feels like it is your own. Everything was perfect from the lavender shortbread cookies left in your room to the wonderful breakfasts. We mentioned that we loved the amaretto cookie and chocolate stuffed baked peaches that we had for breakfast and they made more for us. . . fresh baked bread, eggs however you like them, and other freshly baked treats like lemon cake.
Luisa, the owner, is an artist and the inn is filled with artwork, painted textiles, hand painted headboards, and much more. Her studio is just off the patio.
The location is within walking distance of most sites or a short taxi ride back if you walked too much. Trastevere is a good location for drinks and restaurants and very lively at night. But our B&B was a few streets away from the main action and perfectly quiet.
The staff was so friendly and accommodating (when I was making reservations via email I actually got a response from a staff member in the hospital!)...just lovely people. And Luisa, the owner, made us feel so welcome, like friends. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else. Because BG has so few reviews it ranks lower in popularity than it deserves. We miss it so much!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London / Paris
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2009

If you are looking for somewhere absolutely fabulous to stay then Buonanotte Garibaldi is it.
Set in Trastervere, an old neighbourhood with a cool vibe close enough to walk to the likes of Piazza Navona and the sites of Rome but enough out of the way to actually feel a little more real, this place is serene and tranquil whilst never being far from the buzz of the restaurants of the neighbourhood.
The rooms are really comfortable, the courtyard very soothing and the breakfast as good as you could want with fresh fruit, bread (the best home made marmalade), italian meats and cheeses.
The service is perfect, just vigilant enough to keep you satisfied whilst never encroaching on your space, in fact you feel like it's your house.
I was there for 2 days with a colleague where we simply sat and worked in the salon whilst listening to wonderful classical music and then 4 days with my partner who was brought up in Roma and she loved it.
It's not suited for kids as there isn't much to do in the house, and please don't take them as it will ruin it for the other guest - all 4 of them!
The house also has a very lovely friendly dog who thankfully seems to have hypoallergenic hair so even though I'm allergic to dogs i never really suffered.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agoldthorpe1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

A perfect oasis. You enter through a green gated door to be greeted by a beautiful courtyard. The B&B has three rooms. The "blue room" on the top floor has its own terrace and is wonderful. It really feels like you are staying in someone's house. I was there with two other girlfriends and it was just perfect to have our own little house and getaway. The breakfast is very good. Very elegantly served for a B&B - in fact the Buonanotte Garibaldi is more than a B&B. Luisa, the owner and artist, is exceptionally gracious. The common room is spacious with interesting reading materials.

This is not a place to stay if you require a high level of service, such as concierge services, recommendations etc. After the morning breakfast and room clean, it is rare to see anyone in the house. Trastevere is very charming and the B&B is superbly placed for access to the major interesting sites.

  • Liked — Escaping into your quiet and pretty home after a tiring but wonderful day in Rome
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2008

This is without any doubt the best kept secret in Rome, so please don't tell anyone.

To start with the location is great, after a day visiting the historical center or the Vatican ... Trastevere is the perfect place to retire, go for a quiet diner, enjoy some wine in a village like area, far from the pollution and the center of Rome. The B&B is 2 minutes from restaurants and bars, live music, just great.

The villa is beautiful esp. the patio with trees and flowers.
There's a large living room with loads of painting books, classical music and complimentary tea.

We stayed in the "green room", not that green actually, it's a very subtle green. Huge bed, nice bathroom, tv (personally I'd have preferred a cd player instead :).

Thebreakkfast was very good and healthy with fruits, fruit salad ...

Honestly I/we can strongly recommend. I arrived there with a friend and left with a girlfriend ... but hey ... "Tell no one" !!

Thanks Luisa and Amie, this was a great week-end,

W&X

  • Liked — Coziness, friendliness, shelter from the center, artistic atmosphere
  • Disliked — Not much ...
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UK_Xavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2007

Suberb, Louisa the artist and owner has made an oasis in a busy city. The B&B is well located in Trastevere just across the Ponte Sisto and is in a smart road leading up to the Juniculum Hill. The rooms over look a courtyard with beautiful citrus and magnolis trees and well guarded by Tinto, Louisa's lovable terrier. The rooms are adorned with Louisa's art and are well equipped. We had our own private terrace which overlooked the courtyard. Our bed was vast and comfortable and the bathroom, although small was well stocked with Etro goodies, a power shower and a welcome bidet to soak our feet!!! Amy provided us with fresh juice and cake on arrival and prepared great eggs for breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel as something different, unusual and off the beaten track.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank sophiejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2007

We called this B&B directly from the Internet, two months before our arrival, and spoke with Luisa, the owner, and her assistant, Francesca, who both were polite, accommodating, and helpful. Booked a room, gave credit card number, and were told verbally by both that they had the reservation, it was "in their book", etc. We asked for written confirmation of the reservation by email, fax, or mail. They both agreed to do this several times, Nothing came. We called several more times, many busy signals, spoke with Luisa again, she promised confirmation in writing again. It never came. Now the phone number is constantly busy or is "incorrect". We have no contact with them now, and are out of a hotel. This is so unprofessional, and disappointing. We don't want to arrive in Rome and find we have no place to stay because it was only confirmed verbally. We are being foced to book elsewhere, because non response and loss of contact.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
8 Thank Demitasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Tree Charme
Tree Charme
#598 of 3,735 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Trastevere
Palazzo Velli Suites
Palazzo Velli Suites
#134 of 1,067 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Trastevere
Trastevere Luxury Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Domus Corsini
Domus Corsini
#875 of 3,735 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Trastevere
Casa Mia in Trastevere
Casa Mia in Trastevere
#253 of 3,735 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Trastevere
B&B Ventisei Scalini a Trastevere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buonanotte Garibaldi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buonanotte Garibaldi B&B

Property: Buonanotte Garibaldi B&B
Address: Via Garibaldi 83, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #407 of 3,735 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B in an artist's Atelier created by the owner Luisa Longo, an artist who finds her perfect form of expression through colour. Preciously hand painted fabrics for sale decorate the entire guest house. A very special place in the heart of Trastevere. A charming guest house conceived as an atelier where art, design and fiber art blend together. The three Windows of the guest rooms, with all comforts, all look onto a beautiful patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Buonanotte Garibaldi B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buonanotte Garibaldi Hotel Rome
Buonanotte Garibaldi Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing