We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roman Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Buonanotte Garibaldi B&B
Ranked #339 of 3,751 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London / Paris
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Roman Perfection”
Reviewed June 6, 2009

If you are looking for somewhere absolutely fabulous to stay then Buonanotte Garibaldi is it.
Set in Trastervere, an old neighbourhood with a cool vibe close enough to walk to the likes of Piazza Navona and the sites of Rome but enough out of the way to actually feel a little more real, this place is serene and tranquil whilst never being far from the buzz of the restaurants of the neighbourhood.
The rooms are really comfortable, the courtyard very soothing and the breakfast as good as you could want with fresh fruit, bread (the best home made marmalade), italian meats and cheeses.
The service is perfect, just vigilant enough to keep you satisfied whilst never encroaching on your space, in fact you feel like it's your house.
I was there for 2 days with a colleague where we simply sat and worked in the salon whilst listening to wonderful classical music and then 4 days with my partner who was brought up in Roma and she loved it.
It's not suited for kids as there isn't much to do in the house, and please don't take them as it will ruin it for the other guest - all 4 of them!
The house also has a very lovely friendly dog who thankfully seems to have hypoallergenic hair so even though I'm allergic to dogs i never really suffered.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agoldthorpe1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    13
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
60
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

A perfect oasis. You enter through a green gated door to be greeted by a beautiful courtyard. The B&B has three rooms. The "blue room" on the top floor has its own terrace and is wonderful. It really feels like you are staying in someone's house. I was there with two other girlfriends and it was just perfect to have our own little house and getaway. The breakfast is very good. Very elegantly served for a B&B - in fact the Buonanotte Garibaldi is more than a B&B. Luisa, the owner and artist, is exceptionally gracious. The common room is spacious with interesting reading materials.

This is not a place to stay if you require a high level of service, such as concierge services, recommendations etc. After the morning breakfast and room clean, it is rare to see anyone in the house. Trastevere is very charming and the B&B is superbly placed for access to the major interesting sites.

  • Liked — Escaping into your quiet and pretty home after a tiring but wonderful day in Rome
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

This is without any doubt the best kept secret in Rome, so please don't tell anyone.

To start with the location is great, after a day visiting the historical center or the Vatican ... Trastevere is the perfect place to retire, go for a quiet diner, enjoy some wine in a village like area, far from the pollution and the center of Rome. The B&B is 2 minutes from restaurants and bars, live music, just great.

The villa is beautiful esp. the patio with trees and flowers.
There's a large living room with loads of painting books, classical music and complimentary tea.

We stayed in the "green room", not that green actually, it's a very subtle green. Huge bed, nice bathroom, tv (personally I'd have preferred a cd player instead :).

Thebreakkfast was very good and healthy with fruits, fruit salad ...

Honestly I/we can strongly recommend. I arrived there with a friend and left with a girlfriend ... but hey ... "Tell no one" !!

Thanks Luisa and Amie, this was a great week-end,

W&X

  • Liked — Coziness, friendliness, shelter from the center, artistic atmosphere
  • Disliked — Not much ...
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UK_Xavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2007

Suberb, Louisa the artist and owner has made an oasis in a busy city. The B&B is well located in Trastevere just across the Ponte Sisto and is in a smart road leading up to the Juniculum Hill. The rooms over look a courtyard with beautiful citrus and magnolis trees and well guarded by Tinto, Louisa's lovable terrier. The rooms are adorned with Louisa's art and are well equipped. We had our own private terrace which overlooked the courtyard. Our bed was vast and comfortable and the bathroom, although small was well stocked with Etro goodies, a power shower and a welcome bidet to soak our feet!!! Amy provided us with fresh juice and cake on arrival and prepared great eggs for breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel as something different, unusual and off the beaten track.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank sophiejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2007

We called this B&B directly from the Internet, two months before our arrival, and spoke with Luisa, the owner, and her assistant, Francesca, who both were polite, accommodating, and helpful. Booked a room, gave credit card number, and were told verbally by both that they had the reservation, it was "in their book", etc. We asked for written confirmation of the reservation by email, fax, or mail. They both agreed to do this several times, Nothing came. We called several more times, many busy signals, spoke with Luisa again, she promised confirmation in writing again. It never came. Now the phone number is constantly busy or is "incorrect". We have no contact with them now, and are out of a hotel. This is so unprofessional, and disappointing. We don't want to arrive in Rome and find we have no place to stay because it was only confirmed verbally. We are being foced to book elsewhere, because non response and loss of contact.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
8 Thank Demitasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Trastevere
Tree Charme
Tree Charme
#564 of 3,751 in Rome
69 reviews
Trastevere
Palazzo Velli Suites
Palazzo Velli Suites
#134 of 1,087 in Rome
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Casa Mia in Trastevere
Casa Mia in Trastevere
#285 of 3,751 in Rome
89 reviews
Trastevere
B&B Ventisei Scalini a Trastevere
Trastevere
BDB Luxury Rooms Trastevere Torre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buonanotte Garibaldi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buonanotte Garibaldi B&B

Property: Buonanotte Garibaldi B&B
Address: Via Garibaldi 83, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 3,751 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B in an artist's Atelier created by the owner Luisa Longo, an artist who finds her perfect form of expression through colour. Preciously hand painted fabrics for sale decorate the entire guest house. A very special place in the heart of Trastevere. A charming guest house conceived as an atelier where art, design and fiber art blend together. The three Windows of the guest rooms, with all comforts, all look onto a beautiful patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Buonanotte Garibaldi B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buonanotte Garibaldi Hotel Rome
Buonanotte Garibaldi Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing