We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location/value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rosetta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rosetta
Ranked #393 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location/value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is certainly a "budget" stay but overall just what we needed. We had small, basic room/bathroom but it was clean and had air condition. Great location, so close to the colloseum. Friendly staff, one member spoke little English. Would recommend and would return here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JANCY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    85
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
44
88
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We shared a room with another couple and it was great. This Hotel is located very close to the Coliseum, Form, Pantheon, restaurants, bus and train lines. Price very reasonably for Rome. Clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Rosetta from Aug 12 to the 16 and quiet enjoyed the ability to just stroll on down to the Colosseum and take pictures. half a block away front the Forum ruins and two blocks to the Colosseum and Metro stop. Very clean rooms and bathrooms with lots of room for bags. We were in the second building along Cavour but were on the side on the alley. Nice and quiet. As we had pre-booked most things we did not have to ask the staff for help other than dining suggestions. There is a great little square if you behind the building and walk the "alley" which is parallel to Cavour. Great place to eat and hang out. Tip for getting there is get off on the colosso stop and as you are about to leave the station go left and up an escalator and you are at the top of the alley that will take you down to Cavour street. Lots of great restaurants around but if you want to keep breakfast cheaper eat at the bar and it it will be 1/2 the price. Also if you are in Rome for at least three days buy a Roma card and miss the lines, great for the Colosseum and Forum.

Room Tip: Rooms on the hotel side of courtyard are very quiet with some noise of water flushing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScentOfFlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights with 3-4 in the room and were appropriately charged each night. We stayed in the 2nd building. The hotel felt more like apartment rentals, with friendly and helpful landlords. Beverages were available at grocery prices. They helped with airline check-in and making tourist plans. The bathroom was the most immaculate I've ever seen. The beds were comfortable. The free wifi was sporadic, but better in the hall. The Forum ruins are at the end of the block and the Coloseum two blocks away. The metro and bus lines were near-by, but most sites were walkable. We found a new reasonable panini restaurant with a large selection of ingredients that were made fresh done the street. Many of the staff were Romanian and this was our staple food. My only complaint is that a fax of our credit card was required for the reservation and I was hung up by several times by the non-English speaking mother, so my phone bill was over $15 by the time I succeeded. I had previously stayed near the Vatican, but I would definitely recommend Hotel Rosetta to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The location was great: close to the Colosseum, not too far to walk from the train station, helpful and flexible staff. We had three people for the first two nights and four for the second two nights and they charged us accordingly. Even with four of us in the room, there was enough space to walk around the beds, store our clothes in the closet, and have some room to spread out. Our room faced Via Cavour which could be loud at times especially since the bathroom window didn't close all the way, but with the a/c on and earplugs I was fine. The kids were so tired from walking all day that they could've slept through anything. Wifi was inconsistent in the room, but decent in the hallway outside our room. Fortunately there was a desk in the hall and a nice place to sit when we wanted to hook up to the internet. Overall, it was on par with other rooms we paid similar prices for in other parts of Rome and Florence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sues87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a terrific place to stay with a great location. It is very close to the Coliseum and Forum and also very close to a metro stop which is very convenient. The price is extremely reasonable for its excellent location. The reception is open 24 hours so it is very convenient to come and go. The staff is also very knowledgeable about getting around Rome which was a nice resource. The rooms were very clean and everything was freshened everyday. They also had the best shower in terms of temperature and water pressure we found on our entire European stay! This was a wonderful bonus after touring all day. We could not have been more pleased with the Hotel Rosetta!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachlover69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The first thing you will notice about this hotel is the location. The Coliseum was just a short 5 min walk away! The restaurants nearby all have some of the best Italian food I've ever had. The hotel itself was very unique the minute you set foot in. It gives you a feeling as if you are actually living in Rome. Staff was very friendly, helpful, and treated you like part of the family. Our room was the superior double, and it was better than more than half of the hotels with more stars I've stayed at throughout Europe. Huge bathroom, great tv channels, curtains that block light completely, air conditioning, great windows that block noise, and an amazing bed. If your looking for a very impressive hotel for the price and location, this is the one for you!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 89bobbyz89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#84 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Monti
Hotel Labelle
Hotel Labelle
#547 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#177 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Paba
Hotel Paba
#273 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Borromeo Hotel
Borromeo Hotel
#215 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosetta

Property: Hotel Rosetta
Address: Via Cavour, 295 scala B/1, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#150 Family Hotel in Rome
#255 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel rosetta the Colosseum and Roman forum are right around the corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rosetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosetta Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing