We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Rosetta is a Great Option!”
Review of Hotel Rosetta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rosetta
Ranked #414 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2008

Hotel Rosetta is located very close to the Coliseum and other major sights in the middle of Rome all within walking distance and this was why we wanted to stay here. The rooms are very clean, if not small, but really we were more interested in an affordable option that would allow us to have a good night's sleep at a reasonable price. Following a budget was important and Hotel Rosetta came through. All staff were super friendly and very helpful. Our Room was off of an alleyway and near the busy Via Cavour but really, just close the window and turn on the AC and you can't hear anything. For those looking for a great neighbourhood with plenty of restaurant options, a 5 minute walk to the Forum, Coliseum, and other attractions, this place is excellent and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rosetta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 211 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2008

Stayed here with my partner during our time in Rome, an excellent family run place. Very clean and tidy, and the location can't be beat firstly because of it's close proximity to the Ancient Rome tour attractions but we also found the area itself to be safe and the people there pleasant. It can get a little noisy at the Pensione, if a loud Italian is checking it late at night hehe, but this is nothing earplugs cannot take care of. Also Mama doesn't speak a lot of English so if you are coming from an English speaking country, or any country for that matter, an learning the Italian pleasantries doesn't go amiss. :) But a brilliant budget choice, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank weezer-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Rosetta for 5 nights in May.
It was our first stay, but not the last! The room was basic, but
nice and spacious - except for the bathroom, but we soon got used to the toilet/shower combination. Before we went, we were afraid the street noise of Via Cavour would keep us awake
all night, but from our inside room we could'nt hear it.
The staff was very friendly, the room clean and safe.
The location is convenient, with several good (and economic)
restaurants nearby. We would recommend Hotel Rosetta to those who want a central place to stay without having to pay a fortune. Great value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italy-loverNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

This was our 2nd trip to Rome, and I chose Hotel Rosetta after seeing all of the great reviews online. The hotel is basic... and if you're used to traveling through Europe, it's a typical 2 star hotel. (Interesting shower/toilet combo, no decorations, etc.). However, we travel on a budget, and love these cheap finds with a good location. Here are a few thoughts on our stay (April 2008):

1.) The location is terrific. Just a 3-4 minute walk to the Colleseum, Palantine Hill, etc. Two metro options are within a 5 minute walk (Colleseum and Cavour) and both of these options have a quick metro connection to Rome Termini station (1 Euro)

2.) My main issue with the hotel was the awful noise level from Cavour Road. We stayed in the quadruple room, which overlooked Cavour, which was FILLED with traffic - even at 4AM. Cars honking.... ambulances at all hours, and the scooters speeding by were surprisingly noisy. Most of us were still awake at 4AM, wishing we had ear plugs to drown out the noise. If the window was open, you could hardly hear another person talk across the room. It was awful. My husband is sleeps like a hibernating animal... and it even woke him up!

However, all of the other rooms appeared to be either in the courtyard, or on the other side of our noisy room. So, if you are booking the quadruple room (#21), do not stay here. If you are booking any other room, I bet you won't have any of the noise problems. We were just unlucky with the room location & Carvour. (Or ask upon reserving the room to make sure you don't get room 21 - or a room overlooking Cavour.)

3.) The staff was willing to hold our luggage, which was a bonus. They also had a hairdryer available on request.

4.) Pay in cash... we asked before submitting payment on check-out, and they dropped the price by approx. 5%.

5.) There are a few good restaurants and a fantastic Gelato shop in the area (around the back corner). Do not go to the Cafe/Pizza/Gelato shop across from the hotel. VERY unfriendly and very pricey. Walk a minute or two behind the hotel, and you'll find a few great places.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank AmericanExpatsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2007

I love this hotel!

First of all, it is clean and well-kept -- a welcome relief given some of the other places I've stayed! Secondly, moreover, the hotel enjoys a prime location. Not only does it sit within about a five-minutes' walk of the Colosseum, but it also happens to be on a busy street, so I felt comfortable walking home alone in the dark.

I was sorry to leave the Hotel Rosetta and would definitely return if I were to visit Rome again!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank europatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

My family (husband and two teenage sons) first stayed at the Rosetta in August 2003 - it was recommended by a friend in Australia and loved the location.

In February 2006 we came to Italy to live for 12 months and stayed again at the Rosetta for 4 days in February, 4 days during Christmas and prior to our return to Australia in February 2007 for 3 days.

I made only one mistake - trying out another place in Rome for 2 days which was a nightmare!

Our hosts were wonderful - on arriving at 6.30am Christmas eve, we asked if we could leave our luggage at reception until check in time. The owner was wonderful and as the room was ready she allowed us to go to it immediately to rest after our journey. The owners also allowed our luggage to be left there for more than half a day prior to our departure.

The location is central to everything, safe and only a short walk/bus ride from the train station.

I cant recommend the hotel highly enough - yes it is basic- but spotless and value for money - who cares about "included breakfast" when the cafe a few doors up on the left as you exit is excellent and cheap..

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank luluPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

My husband and I found this hotel online and read the reviews on trip adviser carefully. We loved this little gem, hidden away in a very convenient part of town. We were so close to the subway and walking distance to most everywhere. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was quiet, clean, friendly and very inexpensive. We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for no frills but an enjoyable place to rest their head.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank MikeDana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#103 of 1,267 in Rome
286 reviews
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#260 of 1,267 in Rome
215 reviews
Monti
Hotel Paba
Hotel Paba
#324 of 1,267 in Rome
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Labelle
Hotel Labelle
#513 of 1,267 in Rome
156 reviews
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#617 of 1,267 in Rome
62 reviews
Monti
Hotel Artorius
Hotel Artorius
#319 of 1,267 in Rome
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosetta

Address: Via Cavour, 295 scala B/1, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#149 Family Hotel in Rome
#254 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $76 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rosetta 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel rosetta the Colosseum and Roman forum are right around the corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rosetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosetta Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing