We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Hotel Rosetta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rosetta
Ranked #406 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Great budget B & B located one block from the forum, Piazza Venezia and the Colosseum. Clean rooms, friendal and helpful staff. Nothing snazzy, but great for anyone looking for a decent, clean place to sleep that is centrally oloacted for Ancient Rome. Would recommend it for sure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C0nstant_vacati0ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    91
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
48
92
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I booked this on tripadvisor recommendations and cannot rate it highly enough. I stayed with a friend and my 7 year old daughter. The hotel is through a courtyard off a main road so in the centre of old Rome, but quiet. It is spotless; cleaned daily, and fresh towels daily. it is 5 minutes walk from the Cavour metro (1 stop down from Termini) and 5 minutes to the colisseum. Food recommendations from the reception staff were spot on! Breakfast at the patisserie just up from the hotel was delicious; and lunch at another place about 3 shops up was fabulous! We all thought the hotel was perfect- not expensive for our short break- and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaniaExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My daughter stayed here twice while travelling in and out of Rome for University this past summer. The room was nice, well located and extremely clean. I had met the owners on a previous visit and they were very friendly and more then willing to accommodate your requests and needs. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deb2522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My son (17yrs) and I stayed here for 7 days while we were in Rome. The hotel was centrally located near everything we wanted to see. Very safe neighborhood and we could walk almost everywhere. The metro station is just a few blacks away so if we were tired at the end of the day we could take that back to the hotel and then plan for the next day. While breakfast was not included there were plenty of places to get a quick bite or pastry. There is a grocery store just up the street so we were able to get our travel snacks for the day and off we went. Francesca and family were very accomidating and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riki71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed here for 7 days in mid June. i'll write first the good points and second the points that for some travelers might be cons. For me, they weren't deal breakers.
Good points:
Location - Perfect location to walk to some places. Colosseum is just about 2 blocks going one way and to the other side about a few blocks Vittorio Emanuelle monument. The metro is close either the colosseum or Cavour which is about a 5 min walk. There are also a few eating places.
ROOM - Our room was big as well as the bathroom. Room was clean every day and we got new towels without asking. We also had a nice balcony view. Reception is 24 hours and they have beverages for sale (water, juices, soda etc) and cheap. Bottle of water only .50 euro. This was great coming back late at night or heading out in the hot weather in the morning.
PRICE - For the location, I found the price to be reasonable.
Now here are the points that might be cons for other travelers:
Breakfast- There is no breakfast
Reception: They don't speak much english, so depends who's in the desk. But I did get answers to my questions.
Noise - Some of the days, the maid started cleaning rooms very early, so we heard the vaccuum before 9am. Not sure why they would start cleaning that early. Also, a couple of days we heard the Bells ringing from a church which rang 6 or 7 am. So if you like to have a great sleep, the bells might wake you up or the maid. But maybe if you as the reception not to turn the vacuum that early they might accomodate your request.
Overall, it was a great stay and I wouldn't mind staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jchernan562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

If you are looking for a great base to explore the Eternal City and all its beauty, this is the place for you. Less than 5 minute, slow walk to the Colosseum, Forum, Victorio Emmanuel Momumnet. If you need to catch a Metro, it is located about two blocks away.

The room and the pension were very clean, bright and practical. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. I found the rooms to be above average in size compared to other European hotels/pensions. The inner courtyard and the pension staff, which is family owned, makes you feel as if you are staying with Italian friends. The inner courtyard, away from the bustle of the city, provided a serene refuge from the noise and enabled us to rest peacefully. There is no breakfast provided, but the continental breakfast provided at other hotels is poor, in my opinion.

We had to extend our stay for a day, but Francesca with her always bright smile was able to change a few things and accommodate us for that extra night. We did have to change rooms for two out of the five nights to make this accommodation, but they moved us while we were sightseeing so as to not incovenience us. Typically, you would have to move yourself at any other hotel or pension.

Francesca, her brother and mother were very helpful with suggestions and directions. This is truly a gem in the most beautiful city in the world.

Highly recommended this place as someone who has traveled extensively for both business and travel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K-Davis2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We chose Rome as the final stop of our three week Italian holiday. Here we will spend three days and nights soaking up the last bits of Italy that our souls can hold. Our choice was to stay near Ancient Rome at Hotel Rosetta. This was a good move on our part! This safe, clean, and secure hotel is located a short 20 minute walk from the Colosseum and Forum area. The Rome Termini station is a 30 minute walk. Here you board the bus for Galleria Borghese. Rick Steves' "Night Walk Across Rome" originates at Campo de' Fiori, another reasonable walk to that spot. We entered the hotel property from the busy street, walked through an enclosed courtyard and up a few steps to the lobby of the hotel. Francesca warmly welcomed us and quickly checked us in. She also reminded us of our appointment to visit the Galleria Borghese the next day. You must have a reservation for this site and Francesca took care of the arrangements in advance. The room itself was simple and clean. The bathroom was also perfectly clean. This hotel is more than adequate and met our needs. The main attraction to this hotel is the location. At this point in our trip, we were happy to not have to use much public transportation to get around. Here you are able to get to most of the important sites by walking. Francesca and her brother are very good hosts. They are helpful and they smile and laugh with you as they show you the Rome map hoping that you don't get too lost. We enjoyed our three days in Rome very much. Francesca at Hotel Rosetta went out of her way to make our stay even more enjoyable. Tim and Susan - Arizona

Room Tip: We think the rooms are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimBob74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Paba
Hotel Paba
#335 of 1,259 in Rome
412 reviews
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#231 of 1,259 in Rome
213 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#98 of 1,259 in Rome
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Labelle
Hotel Labelle
#532 of 1,259 in Rome
150 reviews
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#174 of 1,259 in Rome
563 reviews
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#671 of 1,259 in Rome
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosetta

Property: Hotel Rosetta
Address: Via Cavour, 295 scala B/1, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#149 Family Hotel in Rome
#254 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rosetta 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel rosetta the Colosseum and Roman forum are right around the corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rosetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosetta Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing