We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Hotel Rosetta!”
Review of Hotel Rosetta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rosetta
Ranked #427 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Loved Hotel Rosetta!”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Hotel Rosetta was a great little hotel to stay at if you're ok with a simple, no frills place. We paid just 120 euros a night for a quadruple room. It's only a 5ish minute walk from the Colosseum and Forum. If you don't mind walking, it is possible to walk all over Rome from the hotel...to the Vatican, the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain, etc. If you'd rather take the metro, the hotel is right in between the Colosseo and Cavour stops, a 5 minute walk to either one. Francesca and her family were very helpful in answering our questions and giving us recommendations. She and her sister and brother all speak English. Her mother does not, but she's very nice as well and we were still able to chat even with my limited Italian! There is free wifi available in the lobby. The room that we stayed in wasn't very large but it was still comfortable and clean. The bathroom was a good size and we had a cute little balcony as well. The hot water did run out a couple times but we fixed that by just showering at different times. Looking at the hotel, to the left of it is a small food/sandwich/liquor shop which is a good place to pick up snacks and water (only 55 euro cents) for the day. And I do also offer a word of caution about the cafe across the street. I believe it was 17 euros for my parents to sit down and have a coffee, cannoli, and tiramisu there. However there is a pretty good restaurant across the street and tucked away a bit called Ristorante Cleto. If I return to Rome I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clm1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    90
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
47
91
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

With the excellent online reviews, our expectations were high for our 5 day stay in Rome, but they were exceeded. The room was in the new section, all was ready for us, clean and tidy, even though we checked in early.
The location is just so wonderful. If you walk up or down Cavour street, you can see the Colesseum. 5 minutes to the forum. We enjoyed the restaurant "Wanted" a few steps down one street, the two Chinese restaurants nearby, and the Kebab place just beyond "Wanted." The bakery/deli next door had a wide choice and the grocery across from the Cavour train station was convenient. Yes, this was our 6th week in Italy and we had consumed too much pasta.
But I'd really like to talk about how wonderful and helpful Fransceca and her family were. Our flights back to the US got royally screwed up by the travel agency, and though it wasn't her problem, Fransceca took her time on two days to be sure that we could fly out on time and without hassles.
I can't imagine any mega-hotel being so helpful, and frankly, I would be surprised if most B&B's or pensions would help so much. This was on top of providing a well-priced, well-located room.
That's why I will never go elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poocherTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Follette, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

The price was great and the room was extremely clean. It's just a basic, simple room. You won't find anything fancy here. If that's not an issue for you, this is the place to stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. BEWARE of the cafe across the road. They charged us an ungodly amount for gelato and coffee!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmsbw70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulles, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Francesca was a wonderful host with helpful suggestions and maps. The restaurant she recommended was excellent. The room was very comfortable with great beds and a nice bathroom. The location was great and close to all the major ancient sites. I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler57686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

My husband and I traveled Italy last summer for a month and Hotel Rosetta was our favorite hotel. The family-owned hotel provides kind and giving service! The son and daughter were extremely helpful - they helped us with making reservations at museums and directions. The hotel's location is just down the street from the Colosseum! It's really in center of it all! You do have to make sure to keep your eye out for the address though. It's a large door just off the street, but when u walk in, it's so cute with a little outdoor patio. Stay here! I would go back again! Rome is the most romantic city I've ever been to!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 60763Love2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macae, RJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We have stayed for 4 nights (from October 28th to Noember 1st) in a superior room in this hotel. Service was very good and people were really fine.
Our room was very clean with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was new and big, but there was a little bad smelling probably coming from the plumbing. Not a problem at all.
Location was good, very near the Colosseum and Fori Imperiali.
The price was very good: 105 euros per night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lacerdas_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

This is a small family run business. The rooms are very well appointed, spotlessly clean with individual heat and air conditioning controls. The family try excel in looking after their guests. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the Coliseum.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mannwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#214 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Monti
Hotel Paba
Hotel Paba
#312 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#87 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Labelle
Hotel Labelle
#525 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#173 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rosetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rosetta

Property: Hotel Rosetta
Address: Via Cavour, 295 scala B/1, Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#149 Family Hotel in Rome
#254 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Rosetta 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
hotel rosetta the Colosseum and Roman forum are right around the corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rosetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosetta Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing