We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Palazzo Taverna
Ranked #439 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is ok if you are looking for a clean average room. The building of the hotel is very old and I think it was never renovated outside. inside it is kept in a good condition. They have requested full pmt in advance because there is no 24hr reception but i asked to see the room before proceeding. The receptionist was polite and agreed. The room was ok/good so we decided to stay. We stayed at room 202 which was quite big for a family of 2 adults and a child. There was parquet flooring (new) and clean. The furniture was modern and ok. The bathroom small, clean, partially renovated. The room was not bad but it was not as expected. There was a small wall in the room which needed painting (it was dirty) and although the room was ok it gave you that ? feeling. The ceiling was made of wooden bars painted white (like farm house). For a 3 star it was Ok but not as other hotels we usually stay. We paid approx. euro170/night which I found expensive for this type of accommodation. It would not be a bad budget choice if the price was the right one, ...but unfortunately not. The kettle was clean and coffee was replenished every other day. The sheets were only changed once during a4night stay but the room was cleaned very good. The fact that the sheets were not changed everyday was the reason for the average cleanliness rating. The towels were changed every day. Fridge was new. LCD tv was small but good. AC worked perfectly fine. Breakfast was NOT good at all. You had to complete the form with whatever quantity you like of boiled eggs, coffee, butter, jam,honey, croissant, one kind of cereal and juice. Juice and coffee were good. It would be ok if the bread was ok but the bread was very hard and not good at all. It Was not fresh. The croissants were either from previous day or not good quality. My son and husband had only cereal every day and I had just coffee and juice. There was no place to sit and have breakfast. The eggs not fresh. Everyday there was noise from the kitchen around 8 and you could not sleep a bit more. The hotel was at a very convenient location within walking distance of all sights: 15mins from Vatican, 5 minutes from pantheo and piazza navona, 15 minutes from Fontana Di Trevi, 20 minutes from Spanish steps and maybe 30-40 to Colosseo. The hotel is situated on a small alley on via Coronari (nothing else is there). Via coronari is a narrow street with antique stores in the hard of the historic center. Not the best area but very close to nicer streets. There was one reception staff who was nice and helpfull, made reservations for taxi and restaurants and gave directions.
I have tried to give a detailed representative picture because the hotel can be found good for some people but not enough for others. I would not stay again although it was ok.

Room Tip: The triple/superior room was Big. Small bathroom. Negative: close to kitchen, noisy in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LidaLemesos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    103
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
32
154
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were searching for something centrally located at a decent price and this hotel delivered. We were close enough to several sights to walk and the hotel neighborhood is charming. We found plenty to amuse ourselves just in the streets surrounding the hotel. Excellent aperitivo and snacks at a bar around the corner and great sandwiches for lunch around another corner.

This hotel provided an excellent base for our 2 days in Rome and the front desk was happy to hold our luggage early in the morning on our arrival until the room was ready and also on the day we checked out until our train later in the evening.

The breakfast in the room at our own selected time was nice—though I wish we had more space in the room to enjoy it—we had just the desk they set the tray on.

The bathroom was small, but clean. The room was clean and roomy with a safe. We had a little balcony that looked out on nothing in particular, but it was nice to get a bit of fresh air in the morning. The bed was typically Italian (uncomfortable). I don’t even know why I mention it because in the several times I have traveled across Italy, I have found the mattresses to be uniformly uncomfortable. There should be a specific word to describe this phenomenon.

Despite being walking distance to so many sights, at night our room was quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alyosha666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay here just a few weeks ago. As others have pointed out, the location is a huge plus, within easy walking distance of Piazza Navona, the Pantheon, Campo di Fiori and the Tiber. In fact, if you like to walk as we do, you can walk to all the major historical sites. Because we were three adults, we were placed in the "family suite" which has a separate entrance, and while it hasn't been renovated as the other rooms have, it was pleasant and quiet with a private courtyard where we enjoyed our breakfast. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The price is extremely reasonable for the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aigle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Friendly hotel in the Centro Storico area of Rome. An easy walk (apart from the Rome traffic) to most of the main sites. The hotel has no communal areas, hence breakfast is served in your room. The bedrooms are quirky, but comfortable. There are many restaurants in the little streets close to the hotel and, if you avoid the obvious "tourist-traps", there are plenty of good choices. We liked the area to the west of Piazza Navonna. The hotel is off a small side-street, which makes it peaceful although difficult to find. Taking a taxi from the railway station we showed the driver a map with the hotel marked on it and had no problems. However, we met another guest whose taxi driver couldn't find the hotel and dropped them at Piazza Navona which isn't very convenient, especially when you first arrive and don't know your way through the alleyways.

No major issues with the hotel; one morning the water pressure for the shower was very low, but otherwise a satisfactory stay. The stairs are steep and (as far as I know) there is no lift.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomerPerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have just returned from a great 4 night stay at Relais Palazzo Taverna.

Our room was lovely. Our room was on the ground floor, tucked away with it's only little courtyard. This was lovely - we had our breakfast served here each morning. As there is no restaurant, you pick what you'd like for breakfast and what time you'd like it served the night before - this is then brought out promptly at your chosen time. We just tended to have fresh coffee and juice, and some lovely pastries. The choice was good and the food and coffee was great quality, with the pastries fresh from the bakery.

The room itself was spacious and clean and had everything you needed.

Whilst the hotel was lovely (as were the staff), the real highlight was the location. This hotel is ideally situated, just a short walk from all the main attractions (Vatican, Colosseum etc) yet is tucked away down a quiet street, away from the main crowded touristy areas. This made it seem a quiet little oasis in the middle of a big busy city - whilst we loved seeing all the tourist attractions, it was nice to escape to a bit of peace and quiet at the end of a busy day! There was also a great selection of restaurants nearby - these also tended to be much better value than those nearer the tourist traps.

Would definitely recommend a stay here and will definitely be returning if we come back to Rome in the future.

Room Tip: We had the room on the ground floor - we didn't see the other rooms but ours had the benefit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDLO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Visited Rome for 5 days and stayed at this hotel, every thing was perfect, the reception of the staff, the rooms were spacious and included on suite, flat screen tv, breakfast was delivered to your room at your specific arranged time, room cleaned every day by very friendly staff, all in all I would recommend this hotel to any one, not the cheapest but certainly super value for money, also in the perfect position for visiting the Vatican and many other places of interest

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tc_m83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALISBURY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Pros: Excellent location, 15-20 minute walk away from the Vatican as well as the Colosseum. Matteo and Daniel were very helpful.
Cons : There is no breakfast area and breakfast is served in your room. I am unable to deselect the options but there is no restaurant or fitness center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#600 of 1,256 in Rome
478 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#425 of 1,256 in Rome
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora delle Cinque Lune
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro Pace
Hotel Teatro Pace
#246 of 1,256 in Rome
442 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Zanardelli
Residenza Zanardelli
#386 of 1,256 in Rome
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Palazzo Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Palazzo Taverna

Property: Relais Palazzo Taverna
Address: Via Dei Gabrielli 92, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#307 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Palazzo Taverna 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Relais Palazzo Taverna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Palazzo Taverna Rome
Relais Palazzo Taverna Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing